Faculty

    Ackerman, Gary

    Associate Professor
    Campus Address: Draper Hall 302
    Phone: 518-442-5251
    Email: gackerman@albany.edu

    Behlendorf, Brandon

    Assistant Professor
    Campus Address: Richardson Hall 287
    Phone: 518-442-5782
    Email: bbehlendorf@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Illicit Trafficking Networks; Violent Victimization across the Life Course; Geospatial Dynamics of Conflicts and their Effects on Individuals; International / Comparative Criminology; Quantitative and Mathematical Modeling of Violence; Policing

    Berg, George

    Associate Professor
    Computer Science
    Campus Address: BA 310
    Phone: 518-442-4267
    Email: gberg@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Machine learning, computational biology, natural language processing

    Eppard, Philip B.

    Professor
    Campus Address: DR 106
    Phone: 518-442-5119
    Email: peppard@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Archives, records administration, preservation management, electronic records, history of recorded information

    Gervais, Norman

    Evergreen Lecturer
    Campus Address: Draper Hall 141A
    Phone: 518-956-8246
    Email: ngervais@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Remote sensing, ecological modelling, GIS applications, vegetation phenology

    Greer, Alex

    Assistant Professor
    Campus Address: Draper 141C
    Phone: 518-949-4713
    Email: agreer@albany.edu

    Griffin, Robert P.

    Dean
    Campus Address: Draper Hall 301
    Phone: 518-442-5258
    Email: rpgriffin@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Emergency preparedness, homeland security, cyber security, internet of things/smart cities, sports violence and staidum security, american federalism/state and local governance

    Horowitz, Lenore Gervais

    Professor of Practice
    Online Teaching Consultant: Institute for Teaching, Learning and Academic Leadership (ITLAL)
    Campus Address: DR 141B
    Phone: 518-956-8245
    Email: lhorowitz@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Online pedagogy, the use of open content in education, online higher education curricula structure, mixed methods research approaches

    Iyer, Hemalata

    Associate Professor
    Campus Address: Draper Hall 145
    Phone: 518-442-5116
    Email: hiyer@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Knowledge organization and representation, metadata, human information behavior, health information needs and access, culture and representation of information, visual resources management

    Jackson, Samuel D.

    Assistant Professor
    Campus Address: Draper 304
    Phone: 518-949-3571
    Email: sdjackson@albany.edu

    Nussbaum, Brian

    Assistant Professor
    Campus Address: Richardson Hall 289
    Phone: 518-442-5781
    Email: bnussbaum@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Terrorism and Counterterrorism, Homeland Security, Cyber Threats, Infrastructure Protection, Intelligence Analysis and Risk Assessment, State and Local Homeland Security

    Penta, Samantha

    Assistant Professor
    Campus Address: Draper Hall 304B
    Phone: 518-442-5268
    Email: spenta@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Disasters and Crises, Crisis and Emergency Management, Humanitarian Relief, Humanitarian Logistics, Organizational Responses to Disasters

    Phillips, Samantha

    Director, National Center for Security and Preparedness
    Campus Address: 4 Tower Place, 6th Floor
    Phone: 518-956-8180
    Email: scphillips@albany.edu

    Rorissa, Abebe

    Associate Professor
    Campus Address: Draper Hall 140B
    Phone: 518-442-5123
    Email: arorissa@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Multimedia information organization and retrieval, measurement and scaling of users’ information need and their perceptions of multimedia information sources and services, use/acceptance/adoption/ impact of information communication technologies

    Rousseau, David L.

    Associate Professor
    Campus Address: Richardson Hall 283
    Phone: 518-860-5868
    Email: drousseau@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Military conflict, shared identity, political development, and foreign policy

    Silver, Amber

    Assistant Professor
    Campus Address: Draper Hall 304C
    Phone: 518-442-5786
    Email: asilver@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Risk communication; social media; public attention; decision-making; risk perception; severe and hazardous weather; sense of place

    Sinn, Donghee

    Associate Professor
    Campus Address: Draper Hall 102
    Phone: 518-442-5117
    Email: dsinn@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Archives, archival research and public memory, archival use/user studies, personal archiving in the web environment, archiving web contents, public memory, Asian cultures and heritages

    Stefl-Mabry, Joette

    Associate Professor
    Campus Address: Draper Hall 104
    Phone: 518-442-5120
    Email: jstefl-mabry@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Educational assessment and evaluation. Educating preservice and inservice educators in NYS and across the country. Program evaluation (K-12 through higher education) and working with educators throughout NYS on issues related to the effect of curriculum, assessment, evaluation and instruction on learning outcomes.

    Steiner, James E.

    Program Coordinator for Homeland Security, Cyber Security, and Emergency Management and Public Service Professor
    Public Administration and Policy
    Campus Address: Milne Hall 119A
    Phone: 518-442-5378
    Email: jsteiner@albany.edu

    Research Interests: National, state, local, and private sector intelligence, including intelligence analysis for homeland security and for national security policymaking. Professor Steiner is a retired senior CIA officer and the author of Homeland Security Intelligence (Sage/CQ Press)

    Stern, Eric

    Professor
    Campus Address: Draper Hall 345
    Phone: 518-442-5784
    Email: ekstern@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Crisis and emergency management, crisis communication, resilience, security studies, executive leadership, foreign policy analysis and political psychology

    Tatar, Unal

    Assistant Professor
    Campus Address: Draper 346
    Email: utatar@albany.edu

    Turetsky, David

    Campus Address: Draper Hall 304D
    Phone: 518-442-5289
    Email: dturetsky@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Cybersecurity: policy, regulation, public-private partnerships, information sharing, market incentives, international norms, national security, elections, privacy. Emergency communications: 9-1-1 system, wireless emergency alerts, network reliability and resilience, FirstNet, etc.

    Young, Michael

    Assistant Professor
    Campus Address: Draper Hall 342
    Phone: 518-442-5783
    Email: myoung4@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Policy Decision Making in Homeland Security and International Relations

    Yuan, Xiaojun (Jenny)

    Associate Professor
    Campus Address: DR 140D
    Phone: 518-591-8746
    Email: xyuan@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Information-seeking behavior, information retrieval, user interface design and evaluation, information visualization, usability testing, human-computer interaction, digital libraries