OFFICE OF THE DEAN 

Jeanette Altarriba, Ph.D.
Interim Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences

J. Altarriba

Dr. Jeanette Altarriba is a Professor of Psychology and a University at Albany Collins Fellow. She received her bachelor's degree in Psychology from Florida International University (1986), her master's degree (1988), and her Ph.D. (1990) in Cognitive Psychology from Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee. Her postdoctoral research training under the tutelage of Dr. Keith Rayner was completed at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst (1990-1992).

Dr. Altarriba joined the University at Albany's Department of Psychology in 1992. Since then, she has held a number of key positions at  UAlbany including Chair of Communication, Chair of Psychology, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs in the College of Arts and Sciences, and most recently, Vice Provost and Dean for Undergraduate Education. In her latter role, she founded the University's Center for Undergraduate Research and Creative Engagement (CURCE) and led a leadership team overseeing many undergraduate programs focused on student success.

She is an internationally recognized scholar and an outstanding teacher and mentor. Her research has advanced the areas of bilingualism, memory, and emotion, and she has published more than 75 peer-reviewed articles in her field. Countless students have benefited from her guidance and support in the classroom, in the laboratory, on the job market, and beyond. As she recently remarked, "I can think of no more important, gratifying, or humbling experience than to see students grow, and learn, and develop a sense of self-confidence and achievement." Her impact is reflected in the many recognitions she has received from student groups and in receiving both campus excellence and SUNY Chancellor's awards for excellence in teaching and in faculty service.

 

Dr. Jeanette Altarriba CV

Organizational Chart

 

Cindy Endres
Secretary to the Dean
cendres@albany.edu

               Julia Singleton
Staff Associate / Assistant to the Dean
jsingleton@albany.edu

 


Associate and Assistant Deans

Susanna Fessler
Associate Dean
mailto:sfessler@albany.edu


Elizabeth J. Gaffney
Assistant Dean for Facilities Management
mailto:egaffney@albany.edu


Steven Galime
Associate Dean for Administration
mailto:sgalime@albany.edu


Kathleen H. Gersowitz
Assistant Dean for Academic Programs
kgersowitz@albany.edu


Debernee S. Privott, Ph.D.
Assistant Dean for Public Engagement and Director of the University in the High School Program
dprivott@albany.edu

Marie Rabideau
Assistant Dean for Planning and Tenure/Promotion
mailto:mrabideau@albany.edu



Professional Staff

Michael Boots
Development Officer
mailto:mboots@albany.edu518-225-1229

Michelle Mahon
Development Officer
mmahon@albany.edu 518-956-7953

TBD
Webmaster/Designer

Julia Singleton
Staff Associate / Assistant to the Dean
jsingleton@albany.edu


Richard Ruotolo
Staff Assistant
rruotolo@albany.edu


Ross Smith
Senior Staff Assistant
rsmith@albany.edu



Support Staff

Cindy Endres
Secretary II
cendres@albany.edu

 

 

View more CAS Events