Lance Bosart named to highest rank by international science organization

Professor Lance Bosart

Professor Lance Bosart, Department of Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences, has been elected a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), a leading international organization whose mission is to “advance science, engineering, and innovation throughout the world for the benefit of all people.” Dr. Bosart is an accomplished researcher and one of the world’s leading experts in the field of synoptic/dynamic meteorology, the study of large-scale (1000+ kilometers) weather systems.

Dr. Bosart joined the University at Albany faculty in 1969 and has spent his career building an impressive research portfolio, traveling across all five continents investigating a diverse range of research problems. The empirical methods he uses and the discoveries he makes carry over into the classroom where he actively engages his students in discussions driven by research. His graduate students have gone on to prestigious postings in academic, scientific, and governmental organizations all over the world.

For his contributions to research, teaching, and service, Dr. Bosart has received numerous awards and commendations over the years. Recent honors include the National Weather Association’s Lifetime Achievement Award, the American Meteorological Society’s (AMS) Jule Charney Award, and the first AMS Teaching Excellence Award. In addition, the State University of New York Board of Trustees promoted Dr. Bosart to Distinguished Professor in 2004, the highest academic rank in the SUNY System.

Election as a fellow is significant achievement in the scientific community. Individuals are nominated and then elected by current AAAS fellows. In recognition of their accomplishments, this year’s class of fellows will each receive a blue and gold rosette along with a certificate. In addition, their names were printed in the November 29, 2013, edition of Science.

With the election of Dr. Bosart, the Faculty of the College of Arts and Sciences now includes four AAAS Fellows. Eric Block, Carla Rizzo Delray Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, was elected a fellow in 2012 and Lawrence Schell, Professor of Anthropology, and Marlene Belfort, Distinguished Professor of Biological Sciences, were elected in 2007.