Courtney D’Allaird and Kareema B. Pinckney

Courtney D’Allaird (left) and Kareema B. Pinckney (right) are two of the six students from CAS departments to have been recognized with a 2009 President's Award for Leadership, 2009.

Courtney D’Allaird is from Soctia, NY. As a Sociology major and an Education & Psychology minor, Courtney’s commitment to academics has earned him early admission to the University at Albany’s BA/MA program in Sociology. He is also a member of the Presidential Honor Society (PHS), The National Society of Collegiate Scholars (NSCS), Delta Kappa Pi and Tau Sigma (National Honor Society for Transfer Students).

As a member of Middle Earth Outreach, he is a nationally certified peer educator, and does more than 40 hours of programming on campus each semester. His extensive outreach efforts to educate students regarding issues related to alcohol, sexuality, and mental and physical health has taken him beyond the UAlbany campus and into the greater Albany community. Courtney has served as the Equity & Diversity Chair for the executive board of Middle Earth for the past two years, and this past academic year he has also served as the Gender & Sexuality Concerns Director for the University's Student Association. He has received the Presidential Leadership award for Middle Earth in 2008.

Kareema is a senior at the University studying English with a minor in Rhetoric and Communication, and a minor in Theatre. She has been active on campus and holds memberships in Chi Alpha Epsilon, Sigma Tau Delta, and Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society. She has served as a captain of AVP's step team and was a peer minister for Cornerstone Campus Ministry.

On campus Kareema has also participated in many successful events, including Voice Your Choice, To the Black Man, To the Black Woman, and Dance til Daylight. Additionally, she was an intern at the Albany Times Union. Her awards include the Dean’s List of Distinguished Students and Spellman Achievement Award for Academics and Community Service. She also received the Great Dane President's Leadership Award as a junior.

Other CAS students recipients of the 2009 President's Award for Leadership are Kevin Frison, Whitney Sperrazza and Nina Konar.