The College Honors Faculty Researchers at Reception

(More photos below)

On March 12, 2013, the College of Arts and Sciences held its 5th Biennial Celebrating Research Reception in the Standish Room. Over 50 attendees joined Dean Wulfert in honoring the members of the College faculty who had been awarded external funding for their research over the last two years.

For 2010/11 and 2011/12, the faculty members in the College were awarded an approximate total of $33.8 million to fund their research. In her remarks, Dean Wulfert thanked the faculty or their efforts in helping the College expand its funding portfolio, an especially significant accomplishment given the economic challenges of recent years.

In addition to the Dean and her staff, Provost Sue Phillips stopped in to chat with faculty members about their projects and recognize them for their efforts. Also in attendance were staff members from the Office for Sponsored Programs and the Office of the Vice President for Research. These offices provide critical support to faculty researchers across the University. The OVPR also publicizes opportunities for faculty members seeking funding for their projects.

Celebrating Research is held every other year, alternating with the College’s Authors and Artists Reception. The next Authors and Artists Reception is tentatively scheduled for March 2014 and the 6th Biennial Celebrating Research Reception will be held in March 2015.

Click here for a PDF of the reception program.

John Molinari, Research Professor, with Lance Bosart,
Distinguished Professor, Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences.

J. Leslie Smith, Research Administrator, Office of Sponsored Programs,
with Thecla Phillip, Senior Associate for Finance and Administration,
Office of the Vice President for Research.

Steven Messner, Distinguished Teaching Professor, Sociology
with Kehe Zhu, Professor and Chair, Mathematics & Statistics.

Kathy Gersowitz, Assistant Dean for Academic Programs,
with Nancy Denton, Professor and Chair, Sociology

Marie Rabideau, Assistant Dean for Planning, Tenure and Promotion,
with Robert Rosenswig, Associate Professor, Anthropology

Jesse Ernst, Associate Professor, Physics,
with Thomas Bass, Professor, English.