Local Awards

The Bernard Vonnegut Teaching Award

In recognition of an extraordinary dedication to teaching by an atmospheric science graduate student, consistent with the gentle but probing instructional legacy of Distinguished Professor Bernard Vonnegut.

2018-Josh Alland
2017-Kevin Biernat
2016-Philippe Papin & Hannah Attard
2015-Nicholas Schiraldi
2014-Hannah Attard
2013-Jaymes Kenyon
2012-Kyle MacRitchie & Daniel Thompson
2011-Jason Cordeira
2010-Jonas Asuma, Nicholas Metz
2009-Patrick H. Wilson
2008-Thomas Galarneau
2006-Keith Wagner
2005-Alan Srock
2004-Alicia C. Wasula
2003-Matthew J. Novak and David R. Thomas
2001-Joshua K. Darr
2000-Eyad H. Attalah
1999-Teresa M. Bals-Elsholz and Olga Hogrefe (Sharoichenko)

The Winthrop D. Means Award for Excellence

In recognition of consistently demonstrating effectiveness and dedication in teaching, and in promoting the essential qualities of critical thinking among students representative of the distinguished academic career of Professor Winthrop D. Means

2012-Kyle Iterly
2009-Jennifer M. Gillen
2006-Samantha Langton
2005-Matthew Montario
2004-Lucas J. Benedict
2003-Adam Schoonmaker
2002-James MacDonald
2001-Barbara A. Fletcher
2000-Heather A. Short

The Narayan R. Gokhale Distinguished Research Scholarship Award

Established in 1980 by the family of Narayan R. Gokhale to recognize and to reward promising students pursuing a graduate education in Atmospheric Science. Students who receive this Award have been recommended by a faculty committee in the department for their demonstrated excellence, achievement, and originality in research.

2018-Michael Fischer
2017-Rosimar Rios-Berrios
2016-Brian Butterworth
2015-Naoko Sakaeda
2013-Matthew Janiga
2012-Heather Archambault
2011-Tom Galarneau
2009-Gareth Berry
2005-Kristen Corbosiero
2004-Anantha Aiyyer
2003-Rolf Staebler
2002-Gary Wojcik
2001-Christian Hofgrefe
2000-Jeffrey M. Freedman
1999-Philip Cunningham
1998-Matthew E. Pyle
1997-Stephen J. Cox and Richard K. Sakai
1983-Richard Perez and Stephen Colucci
1981-Jerre Wilson

The DAES Distinguished Service Award

In recognition of a graduate student’s unselfish service to the department and community by leading and engaging in activities that provide positive contributions to department life, inclusion, diversity, and the education of students and the public .

2018-Matthew Vaughan

The Arthur Loesch Scholarship Award

In support of an undergraduate student that is of junior or senior status, who is in good academic standing, and who intends to pursue a career in the Atmospheric Sciences and/or related field.

2018-Jacob Shultis
2017-Jessica Blair
2016-Marqi Rocque
2015-Rachel O’Donnell
2014-Kurt Hansen
2013-Ernesto Findlay

The Bosart Family Scholarship Award

The purpose of The Bosart Family Scholarship is to provide scholarship support to an Atmospheric Science undergraduate student, who is in good academic standing and who intends to pursue a career in atmospheric science.

2018-Luke Lebel
2017-Cameron Paquette
2016-Mike Main
2015-Christopher Cardinale
2014-Tomer Burg

The Vincent ’77 and Carol Idone ’78 Endowed Scholarship

Scholarship support to an undergraduate student pursuing a degree in Environmental Science. Recipient must demonstrate academic excellence.

2018-Terence "Terry" Allard
2017-Alexander Siemenn
2016-Mallory Gannon
2015-Renee Martin

The George Tai-Jen Chen Ph.D. ’71 Scholarship

To provide scholarship support to an Atmospheric Science undergraduate student, who is in good academic standing and who intends to pursue a career in atmospheric science.

2018-Chelsea Snide
2017-Matthew Brewer
2016-Briah Davis
2015-Rachael Coons