Who We Are

The Program in Writing and Critical Inquiry Faculty and Staff

All Writing and Critical Inquiry classes are taught by experienced professionals who have advanced training in a wide range of academic fields, including rhetoric and composition, literary theory, philosophy, and creative writing. Our faculty form a distinctive community of teacher-scholars dedicated to helping UAlbany students succeed as writers and thinkers across the undergraduate curriculum.

Our faculty

Robert P. Yagelski is Director of the Program in Writing and Critical Inquiry. He is also associate professor of English Education in the Department of Educational Theory and Practice and an affiliated faculty member of the Department of English. He directs the Capital District Writing Project, which is a site of the National Writing Project. A former high school English teacher and freelance writer, he earned his Ph.D. in rhetoric and composition from the Ohio State University and has taught writing at four universities as well as in a prison college-equivalency program. He is the author of two books of writing and literacy theory (Literacy Matters: Writing and Reading the Social Self, 2000; Writing as a Way of Being: Writing Instruction, Nonduality, and the Crisis of Sustainability, 2010), four writing textbooks, a children’s book, and numerous articles about writing and writing instruction.

Office: BA 323
ryagelski@albany.edu

Dr. Bethany Aery Clerico, Ph.D., University at Albany
Office: BA 324
baeryclerico@albany.

Ms. Jaclyn Amoroso, MA, The College of Saint Rose
Office: BA 325
jamoroso@albany.edu

Dr. Lisa Arrastía, Candidate for Ph.D., University of Minnesota
BA 316
larrastia@albany.edu

Dr. Evelyn Baldwin, Ph.D., University of Arkansas
Office: BA 327
ebaldwin2@albany.edu

Dr. Llana Carroll, Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh
BA 317
lcarroll3@albany.edu

Dr. Allison Craig, Ph.D., University at Albany.
Office: BA 315A
acraig@albany.edu      

Dr. Joseph Creamer, Ph.D., University Of Washington
Office: BA 335
jcreamer@albany.edu

Dr. Susan Cumings, Ph.D., Emory University
Office: BA 318
scumings@albany.edu      

Ms. Amanda Giracca, MFA, University of Pittsburgh
Office: BA 336
agiracca@albany.edu

Dr. Sarah Giragosian, Ph.D., SUNY Albany
Office: BA 343
sgiragosian@albany.edu

Dr. Juliette Gutmann, Ph.D., University at Albany
Office: BA 326
jgutmann@albany.edu

Dr. Moriah Hampton, Ph.D., SUNY Buffalo
Office: BA 318 A
mnhampton@albany.edu

Mr. Jeffrey Janssens, MFA, University of Pittsburgh
Office: BA 333
jjanssens@albany.edu

Dr. Shawn Jasinski, Ph.D., Binghamton University
Office: BA 317A
sjasinski@albany.edu

Dr. Joseph Meyer, Ph.D., University of Arkansas
Office: BA 345
jmmeyer@albany.edu

Dr. Rae Muhlstock, Ph.D., SUNY Buffalo
Office: BA 341
rmuhlstock@albany.edu

Dr. Puja Sahney,Ph.D., Indiana University at Bloomington
Office: BA 332
psahney@albany.edu