Who We Are

The Program in Writing and Critical Inquiry Faculty and Staff

All Writing and Critical Inquiry classes are taught by experienced professionals who have advanced training in a wide range of academic fields, including rhetoric and composition, literary theory, philosophy, and creative writing. Our faculty form a distinctive community of teacher-scholars dedicated to helping UAlbany students succeed as writers and thinkers across the undergraduate curriculum.

Our faculty

Robert P. Yagelski is Director of the Program in Writing and Critical Inquiry. He is also associate professor of English Education in the Department of Educational Theory and Practice and an affiliated faculty member of the Department of English. He directs the Capital District Writing Project, which is a site of the National Writing Project. A former high school English teacher and freelance writer, he earned his Ph.D. in rhetoric and composition from the Ohio State University and has taught writing at four universities as well as in a prison college-equivalency program. He is the author of two books of writing and literacy theory (Literacy Matters: Writing and Reading the Social Self, 2000; Writing as a Way of Being: Writing Instruction, Nonduality, and the Crisis of Sustainability, 2010), four writing textbooks, a children’s book, and numerous articles about writing and writing instruction. Click here for his full bio.

Dr. Allison Craig, Ph.D., University at Albany.
BA 315A
acraig@albany.edu
Full Bio

Dr. Susan Cumings, Ph.D., Emory University
BA 318
scumings@albany.edu
Full Bio

Ms. Amanda Giracca, MFA, University of Pittsburgh
BA 336
agiracca@albany.edu
Full Bio

Mr. Jeffrey Janssens, MFA, University of Pittsburgh
BA 333
jjanssens@albany.edu
Full Bio

Ms. Jaclyn Amoroso, MA, The College of Saint Rose
BA 325
jamoroso@albany.edu
Full Bio

Dr. Shawn Jasinski, Ph.D., Binghamton University
BA 317A
sjasinski@albany.edu
Full Bio

Dr. Juliette Gutmann, Ph.D., University at Albany
BA 326
jgutmann@albany.edu
Full Bio

Dr. Bethany Aery Clerico, Ph.D., University at Albany
BA 324
baeryclerico@albany.edu  

Dr. Puja Sahney, Ph.D., Indiana University at Bloomington
BA 332
psahney@albany.edu
Full Bio

Dr. Moriah Hampton, Ph.D., SUNY Buffalo
BA 318 A
mnhampton@albany.edu
Full Bio

Dr. Evelyn Baldwin, Ph.D., University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
BA 327
ebaldwin2@albany.edu
Full Bio

Ms. Lisa Arrastía, Ph.D., University of Minnesota
BA 316
larrastia@albany.edu
Full Bio

Dr. Llana Carroll, Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh
BA 317
lcarroll3@albany.edu
Full Bio

Dr. Joeseph Creamer, Ph.D., University Of Washington
BA 335
jcreamer@albany.edu
Full Bio