Hugh R. Pomeroy Award

Patricia Salkin, B.A. í85, has received the Hugh R. Pomeroy Award for achievement in planning and zoning from the New York State Planning Federation.

Salkin is director of the Government Law Center, which is the research and conference component of Albany Law School. She is also a reporter for the American Planning Associationís Land Use Law and Zoning Digest, and has had a number of articles and papers published in statewide and national treatises.

The Pomeroy Award is presented each year for notable achievement by an individual or municipality in the development of a zoning ordinance, outstanding zoning administration, or exceptional promotion of education for good zoning practices.

In addition to her work as writer and Law Center director, Salkin teaches a course in planning law at the University and at Albany Law School.

West Central Florida Alumni Chapter Convention

More than 100 alumni joined President Hitchcock and Margaret Aldrich, assistant vice president for University Advancement and executive director of Alumni Affairs, at the 16th annual convention of the Universityís West Central Florida Alumni Chapter at the Fairways of Forest Lake Country Club in Sarasota, Fla., on Jan. 31.

The turnout represented more than 10 percent of Albany alumni population of that region, with some association members traveling several hours to attend, from as far away as Orlando.

Alumni Association Athletic Championship Award

On Jan. 29 at the Big Purple Growl in the Recreational and Convocation Center, Alumni Affairs Executive Director Margaret Aldrich joined Alumni Association Vice President Mike Corso and alumni board member Susan Shipherd in presenting Athletic Director Milton Richards with the University at Albany Alumni Association Athletic Championship Award, to be given each semester to the Universityís championship teams from the prior semester.

The first awards went to the Universityís four championship teams from last fall: ECAC and EFC conference champion football, ECAC Div. II champion field hockey, and New England Collegiate Conference winners womenís tennis and menís cross country.