School of Social Welfare Faculty

    Briar-Lawson, Katharine H.

    Professor
    Dean Emeritus
    Phone: 518-442-5324
    Email: kbriarlawson@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Child and family welfare, poverty and unemployment, community collaboration and service integration

    Chan, Keith T.

    Assistant Professor
    Campus Address: Richardson 277
    Phone: 518-442-2589
    Email: kchan3@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Acculturation, Immigrant Health, Asian Elderly, Racism, Food Insecurity, Community Organizing

    Claiborne, Nancy

    Professor
    Director, Doctoral Program
    Campus Address: Richardson 220
    Phone: 518-442-5349
    Email: nclaiborne@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Human service organizational functioning and change, as well as team building, collaboration and program evaluation.

    Ferretti, Lisa A.

    Research Assistant Professor
    Social Welfare
    Co-Director Center for Excellence in Aging & Community Wellness
    Executive Director of the Quality and Technical Assistance Center of NY
    Campus Address: Richardson 382
    Phone: 518-442-5832
    Email: lferretti@albany.edu

    Fortune, Anne E. "Ricky"

    Associate Dean & Professor
    Phone: 518-442-5322
    Email: rfortune@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Short-term Treatment and Social Work Education

    Hardiman, Eric R.

    Chair and Associate Professor
    Phone: 518-442-5705
    Email: hardiman@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Mental Health

    Hastings, Julia F.

    Assistant Professor
    Co-Director of the Research Training Core
    Center for the Elimination of Minority Health Disparities
    Campus Address: Richardson Hall
    Phone: 518-591-8751
    Email: jhastings2@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Health and mental health disparities among ethnic minority populations, African American mental health, welfare participation dynamics, and ethnic minority women’s health issues.

    Horton, Heather K.

    Associate Professor
    Phone: 518-442-5331
    Email: hhorton@uamail.albany.edu

    Research Interests: Mental health, schizophrenia, deafness

    Jones, Lani V.

    Associate Professor
    Principal Investigator
    Campus Address: Richardson 211
    Phone: 518-442-5167
    Email: ljones@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Mental Health Practice Black Feminisms and Healing Evidence Based Practice Group Work

    Kazi, Mansoor

    Assistant Professor
    Phone: 518-442-5303
    Email: mkazi@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Evaluation of human services in USA, United Kingdom and Finland

    Larkin, Heather

    Associate Professor
    Co-Director
    National Center for Excellence in Homeless Services
    Campus Address: Richardson 209
    Phone: 518-591-8779
    Email: hlarkin@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Homelessness, adverse childhood experiences (ACE), Restorative Integral Support (RIS), mind/body/spirit interventions

    Lawrence, Catherine K.

    Assistant Professor
    Deputy Director
    Social Work Education Consortium
    Campus Address: Richardson 202
    Phone: 518-437-3692
    Email: CLawrence@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Public human services and the implementation of social welfare policies and programs.

    Lawson, Hal A.

    Professor
    Campus Address: Richardson 212
    Phone: 518-442-5355
    Email: hlawson@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Vulnerable children and families served by resource-strapped organizations such as schools and community agencies, located in challenging places—local, regional, national and international

    Lee, Eunju

    Assistant Professor
    Campus Address: Richardson 207
    Phone: 518-442-5773
    Email: elee@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Improving Child Welfare Programs and Polices through Rigorous Research Design and Evaluation

    Lee, Wonhyung

    Assistant Professor
    Campus Address: Richardson 205
    Phone: 518-591-8788
    Email: whlee@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Community development; business district revitalization; ethnic enclaves; multicultural community organizing; spatial analysis and geographical information systems (GIS); social entrepreneurship.

    Loneck, Barry Martin

    Associate Professor
    Campus Address: Richardson 222
    Phone: 518-442-5340
    Email: bloneck@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Development of statistical methods for analysis of psychotherapeutic process data. Treatment and prevention of substance use disorders.

    Lotmore, Alyssa

    Assistant to the Dean for Alumni Outreach and Engagement
    Campus Address: Richardson 112
    Phone: 518-442-5361
    Email: alotmore@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Use of Media in the Social Work profession, School Social Work

    McCallion, Philip

    Distinguished Professor
    Co-director
    Center for Excellence in Aging & Community Wellness
    Campus Address: RI 383
    Phone: 518-442-5347
    Email: pmccallion@albany.edu

    McCarthy, Mary L.

    Instructor
    Director and Co-Principal Investigator
    Social Work Education Consortium & National Child Welfare Workforce Institute
    Campus Address: 301 Richardson Hall
    Phone: 518-442-5338
    Email: mmccarthy@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Disparities in access to and utilization of mental health and substance abuse services; racial-ethnic differences in behavioral health risk and protective factors

    Mertz, Linda K.P.

    Project Coordinator
    Internships in Aging Project
    Phone: 518-442-5327
    Email: lmertz@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Geriatrics, Mental Health, Field Education

    Miller, Robert L.

    Associate Professor
    Director
    US-Africa Partnerships to Build Stronger Communities
    Campus Address: Richardson 214
    Phone: 518-442-5374
    Email: rmiller@albany.edu

    Research Interests: The intersection of social work, spirituality and HIV disease. The interrogation of health disparities in sexual minorities who are people of color. Factors that undergird the provision of HIV-related social work services in sub-Saharan Africa.

    Pyles, Loretta

    Associate Professor
    Phone: 518-442-5152
    Email: lpyles@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Community organizing, holistic pedagogy and practice, global justice, disasters, gender-based violence

    Ramos, Blanca

    Associate Professor
    Phone: 518-442-5365
    Email: bramos@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Behavioral health, intimate partner violence, and caregiver stress with a focus on Latinas; immigrants and refugees; multiculturalism; psychometrics; international community-based participatory research.

    Rogers-Freidenberg, Crystal

    Assistant Dean
    Campus Address: Richardson Hall Room 118
    Phone: 518-442-5320
    Email: carogers@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Social Work Education, Student Satisfaction

    Toseland, Ronald William

    Distinguished Professor
    Campus Address: RI217
    Phone: 518-442-5353
    Email: toseland@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Intervention Research, Randomized Field Trials, Gerontology, Group Work

    Urbaeva, Jildyz

    Assistant Professor
    Campus Address: Richardson 280
    Phone: 518-591-8795
    Email: zurbaeva@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Health and Social Disparities in transitional economies focused on Central Asian countries. Social services for women and minority populations.

    Warner, Lynn

    Interim Dean, School of Social Welfare
    Associate Dean of Research and Professor
    Campus Address: Richardson Hall
    Phone: 518-442-5324
    Email: lwarner@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Disparities in access to and utilization of mental health and substance abuse services; racial-ethnic differences in behavioral health risk and protective factors