UAlbany School of Social Welfare Faculty and Staff

    Briar-Lawson, Katharine H.

    Dean and Professor
    Phone: 518-442-5324
    Email: kbriarlawson@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Child and family welfare, poverty and unemployment, community collaboration and service integration

    Chan, Keith T.

    Assistant Professor
    Phone: 518-442-2589
    Email: kchan3@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Acculturation, Immigrant Health and Elderly Asian Americans

    Claiborne, Nancy

    Associate Professor
    Campus Address: Richardson 220
    Phone: 518-442-5349
    Email: nclaiborne@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Human service organizational functioning and change, as well as team building, collaboration and program evaluation.

    Fortune, Anne E. "Ricky"

    Associate Dean & Professor
    Phone: 518-442-5322
    Email: rfortune@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Short-term Treatment and Social Work Education

    Griffin-Jenkins, Candi M.

    Assistant Dean, Student Services and Graduate Admissions
    Campus Address: Richardson Hall, 117
    Phone: 518-442-3797
    Email: cgriffin-jenkins@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Youth development and leadership, program development, addictions counseling and trauma informed mental health care.

    Hardiman, Eric R.

    Associate Professor
    Phone: 518-442-5705
    Email: hardiman@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Mental Health

    Hastings, Julia F.

    Assistant Professor
    Campus Address: Richardson Hall
    Phone: 518-591-8751
    Email: jhastings2@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Health and mental health disparities among ethnic minority populations, African American mental health, welfare participation dynamics, and ethnic minority women’s health issues.

    Horton, Heather K.

    Associate Professor
    Phone: 518-442-5331
    Email: hhorton@uamail.albany.edu

    Research Interests: Mental health, schizophrenia, deafness

    Jones, Lani V.

    Associate Professor
    Campus Address: Richardson 211
    Phone: 518-442-5167
    Email: ljones@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Mental Health, Black Feminism and Therapy, Evidenced-Based Practice and Group Work

    Jones, Shirley J.

    Distinguished Professor
    Phone: 518-442-5330
    Email: sjones@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Planning, Policy, Group Work, and Community Organization and Development

    Kaye, Lara

    Researcher
    Campus Address: RI 291
    Phone: 518-591-8615
    Email: lkaye@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Mental Health, Child Welfare, SNAP, Nutrition and Wellness, Health Behaviors, Mind-Body Connection

    Kazi, Mansoor

    Assistant Professor
    Phone: 518-442-5303
    Email: mkazi@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Evaluation of human services in USA, United Kingdom and Finland

    Knight-Thomas, Dawn

    Assistant Dean for Student Academic Affairs
    Campus Address: Richardson 120
    Phone: 518-591-8769
    Email: dknight-thomas@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Student Services, Diversity and Inclusion

    Larkin, Heather

    Associate Professor
    Campus Address: Richardson 209
    Phone: 518-591-8779
    Email: hlarkin@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Homelessness, adverse childhood experiences (ACE), Restorative Integral Support (RIS), mind/body/spirit interventions

    Lawrence, Catherine K.

    Assistant Professor
    Campus Address: Richardson 202
    Phone: 518-437-3692
    Email: CLawrence@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Public human services and the implementation of social welfare policies and programs.

    Lawson, Hal A.

    Professor
    Campus Address: Richardson 212
    Phone: 518-442-5355
    Email: hlawson@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Vulnerable children and families served by resource-strapped organizations such as schools and community agencies, located in challenging places—local, regional, national and international

    Lee, Eunju

    Assistant Professor
    Phone: 518-442-5773
    Email: elee@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Child Welfare, Immigration, and Program Evaluation

    Lee, Wonhyung

    Assistant Professor
    Campus Address: Richardson 205
    Phone: 518-591-8788
    Email: whlee@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Community development; business district revitalization; ethnic enclaves; multicultural community organizing; spatial analysis and geographical information systems (GIS); social entrepreneurship.

    Loneck, Barry Martin

    Associate Professor
    Campus Address: Richardson 222
    Phone: 518-442-5340
    Email: bloneck@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Development of statistical methods for analysis of psychotherapeutic process data.  Treatment and prevention of substance use disorders.

    Lotmore, Alyssa

    Assistant Director and Coordinator of Baccalaureate Field Education
    Campus Address: Richardson 185
    Phone: 518-442-5361
    Email: alotmore@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Use of Media in the Social Work profession, School Social Work

    McCallion, Philip

    Professor
    Campus Address: RI 383
    Phone: 518-442-5347
    Email: pmccallion@albany.edu

    Research Interests: System design work on creating aging prepared communities; dvaluation of the implementation of non-pharmacological interventions; development of innovative demonstration projects designed to maintain aging persons with intellectual disabilities in the community; increasing the reach of palliative care programs

    McCarthy, Mary L.

    Instructor
    Campus Address: 301 Richardson Hall
    Phone: 518-442-5338
    Email: mmccarthy@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Child welfare, organizational culture and climate, implementation research, workforce focused practice and research

    Mertz, Linda K.P.

    Project Coordinator
    Phone: 518-442-5327
    Email: lmertz@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Geriatrics, Mental Health, Field Education

    Miller, Robert L.

    Associate Professor
    Campus Address: Richardson 214
    Phone: 518-442-5374
    Email: rmiller@albany.edu

    Research Interests: HIV disease in African American populations; spirituality and social work practice, policy and research, faith-based health promotion and disease prevention collaboration.

    O’Leary, Michael

    Adjunct Professor
    Phone: 518-339-2700
    Email: moleary@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Director of Community Services for Columbia County New York and SSW Adjunct Professor

    Pettie, David

    Assistant Coordinator of Field Education
    Phone: 518-437-3686
    Email: pettie@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Psychiatric rehabilitation and recovery, the impact of psychiatric disabilities on identity and roles, issues of aging and loss, clinical supervision, innovations in treatment and teaching methods

    Pyles, Loretta

    Associate Professor
    Phone: 518-442-5152
    Email: lpyles@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Community organizing, holistic pedagogy and practice, global justice, disasters, gender-based violence

    Ramos, Blanca

    Associate Professor
    Phone: 518-442-5365
    Email: ramos@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Social Work Practice, Mental Health, Cultural Diversity, Cross-Culture Social Work and Immigrants

    Rio-Glick, Barbara

    Assistant Director, Field Education
    Phone: 518-442-3488
    Email: rio@albany.edu

    Research Interests:  Domestic Violence

    Robin, Kenneth

    Phone: 518-591-8797
    Email: krobin@uamail.albany.edu

    Research Interests: Early childhood education, assessment, and program evaluation

    Rogers, Crystal

    Assistant Dean
    Campus Address: Richardson Hall Room 118
    Phone: 518-442-5320
    Email: carogers@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Social Work Education, Student Satisfaction

    Smith, Carolyn

    Professor
    Campus Address: Richardson 222
    Phone: 518-442-5341
    Email: csmith@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Delinquency and high risk youth; child maltreatment and family violence.

    Stevens, Sheri

    Campus Address: Social Sciences 112
    Phone: 518-442-5683
    Email: sstevens@albany.edu

    Research Interests: The CPSP builds the capacity of local organizations by provides the opportunity for undergraduates to serve their community as part of their academic program at the University of Albany. 

    Toseland, Ronald William

    Distinguished Professor
    Campus Address: RI217
    Phone: 518-442-5353
    Email: toseland@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Intervention Research, Randomized Field Trials, Gerontology, Group Work

    Warner, Lynn

    Associate Professor
    Campus Address: Richardson Hall
    Phone: 518-591-8734
    Email: lwarner@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Disparities in access to and utilization of mental health and substance abuse services; racial-ethnic differences in behavioral health risk and protective factors

    Williamson, Estella

    Assistant Dean
    Campus Address: Richardson Hall 115
    Phone: 518-442-5334
    Email: ewilliamson@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Field Education, Mental and Behavioral Health, HIV

    Wood, Starr A.

    Associate Professor
    Campus Address: Richardson 218
    Phone: 518-437-3680

    Research Interests: Mental Health with Traumatic Stress focus & Substance Abuse

    Yu, Jiang

    Visiting Associate Professor
    Campus Address: Richardson 281
    Phone: 518-442-5093
    Email: jyu7@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Alcohol and drug use disorder; substance abuse treatment service implementation and evaluation