Environmental Chemistry Faculty

The following is the full list of our Environmental Chemistry faculty.

Track Coordinator:

Xianliang Zhou, Ph.D., Dalhousie University (1988)
zhoux@wadsworth.org
Deployment and development of techniques for the measurement of organic and inorganic atmospheric trace species. 
More Information

Faculty:

Katherine T. Alben, Ph.D., Yale University (1976)
alben@wadsworth.org
Chemistry of drinking water; natural and anthropogenic organic compounds in aquatic organisms, rivers, lakes and wetlands.
More Information

Kenneth M. Aldous, Ph.D., Imperial College, University of London (1970)
aldous@wadsworth.org
Instrumental methods of analysis of environmental pollutants.
More Information

Ilham AlMahamid, Ph.D., Paris-Sud University (1990)
ialmahamid@albany.edu
Assessment of human exposure to radioactive isotopes.
More Information

Liang T. Chu, Ph.D., Princeton University 
lchu@wadsworth.org
Atmospheric chemistry; kinetics and mechanisms of atmospheric reactions; reactions on ice and salt surfaces.
More Information

Robert Jansing, Ph.D., University of Houston (1975)
jansing@wadsworth.org
Identification of biomarkers of human exposure to environmental chemicals.
More Information

Kurunthachalam Kannan, Ph.D., Ehime University, Japan (1994)
kkannan@wadsworth.org
Understanding global distribution, fate, and effects of organic pollutants in the environment and biomonitoring of human exposures.
More Information

Haider A. Khwaja, Ph.D., University of New Brunswick, Canada (l982)
khwaja@wadsworth.org
Environmental Pollutants and Human Health.
More Information

Michael Kitto, Ph.D., University of Maryland (1987)
kitto@wadsworth.org
Radon in water and air; atmospheric gas and particle pollutants radioactivity.
More Information

Patrick J. Parsons, Ph.D., University of London (1983)
pparsons@wadsworth.org
Trace-element analysis of biological tissues and fluids; analytical atomic spectrometry.
More Information

Thomas Semkow, Ph.D., University of Washington (St. Louis) (1983)
tms15@health.state.ny.us
Environmental radioactivity; ionizing radiation measurement, mathematical modeling.
More Information

David Spink, Ph.D., University of Maryland (1983)
spink@wadsworth.org
Effects of xenobiotics on the metabolism of drugs and steroid hormones.
More Information

Buu Tran, Ph.D., Claude Bernard University (1993)
bnt01@health.state.ny.us
Analytical chemistry of environmental pollutants, food toxins and drugs.

Robert Turesky, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1986)
rturesky@wadsworth.org
Environmental and molecular epidemiology; assessment of human exposure to toxicants; biochemical toxicology of carcinogenic heterocyclic aromatic amines.
More Information

James Webber, Ph.D., University at Albany, State University of New York (1999)
webber@wadsworth.org
Hazardous microparticles in the environment; analytical electron microscopy.
More Information

Lei Zhu, Ph.D., Columbia University (1991)
zhul@wadsworth.org
Kinetics and photochemistry of homogeneous and heterogeneous atmospheric reactions, new technique development, atmospheric application of cavity ring-down spectroscopy and its novel variant, and atmospheric application of time-resolved step-scan FT-IR.
More Information

Adjunct Faculty:

John G. Arnason, Ph.D., Stanford University (1995)
jga02@wadsworth.org  
Trace element and isotopic analysis of biological and environmental samples.

Liaquat Husain, Ph.D., University of Arkansas (1968)
husain@wadsworth.org
Atmospheric transport of trace chemicals; acid rain.
More Information

Mirza M. Hussain Ph.D., University at Albany, State University of New York (1996)
mmh07@health.state.ny.us
Environmental pollutants and Health effects.

Christopher Palmer, PhD., University of Massachusetts (2001)
palmer@wadsworth.org
Determination of trace elements in blood and biological fluids; blood mercury speciation.

Susan Shaw, Dr. P.H., Columbia University (1999)
ssshaw@meriresearch.org
Understanding the global distribution, effects and trends of persistent organic pollutants in marine wildlife and people.
More Information 

Kamal Swami, Ph.D., University at Albany, State University of New York (1984)
swami@wadsworth.org
Method development and trace metals analysis of environmental samples.

Karl Yang, Ph.D., University of Connecticut (1998)
yangk@wadsworth.org
Use of novel analytical atomic spectrometric instruments and methodology in accurate determination of trace metals in complex environmental matrice.