Environmental Chemistry Faculty

The following is the full list of our Environmental Chemistry faculty.

Track Coordinator:


Xianliang Zhou, PhD, Dalhousie University (1988)
xianliang.zhou@health.ny.gov
Deployment and development of techniques for the measurement of organic and inorganic atmospheric trace species. 
More Information

Faculty:


Katherine T. Alben, PhD, Yale University (1976)
katherine.alben@health.ny.gov
Chemistry of drinking water; natural and anthropogenic organic compounds in aquatic organisms, rivers, lakes and wetlands.
More Information

Kenneth M. Aldous, PhD, Imperial College, University of London (1970)
kenneth.aldous@health.ny.gov
Instrumental methods of analysis of environmental pollutants.
More Information

Ilham AlMahamid, PhD, Paris-Sud University (1990)
ilham.almahamid@health.ny.gov
Assessment of human exposure to radioactive isotopes.
More Information

Liang T. Chu, PhD, Princeton University 
lchu@albany.edu
Atmospheric chemistry; kinetics and mechanisms of atmospheric reactions; reactions on ice and salt surfaces.
More Information

Kurunthachalam Kannan, Ph.D., Ehime University, Japan (1994)                                                                                                                                                kurunthachalam.kannan@health.ny.gov
Understanding global distribution, fate, and effects of organic pollutants in the environment and biomonitoring of human exposures. 
More Information

Haider A. Khwaja, PhD, University of New Brunswick, Canada (l982)
haider.khwaja@health.ny.gov
Environmental Pollutants and Human Health.
More Information

Michael Kitto, PhD, University of Maryland (1987)
michael.kitto@health.ny.gov
Radon in water and air; atmospheric gas and particle pollutants radioactivity.
More Information

Patrick J. Parsons, PhD, University of London (1983)
patrick.parsons@health.ny.gov
Trace-element analysis of biological tissues and fluids; analytical atomic spectrometry.
More Information

Thomas Semkow, PhD, University of Washington (St. Louis) (1983)
thomas.semkow@health.ny.gov
Environmental radioactivity; ionizing radiation measurement, mathematical modeling.
More Information

David Spink, PhD, University of Maryland (1983)
david.spink@health.ny.gov
Effects of xenobiotics on the metabolism of drugs and steroid hormones.
More Information

Buu Tran, PhD, Claude Bernard University (1993)
buu.tran@health.ny.gov                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Analytical chemistry of environmental pollutants, food toxins and drugs.

Lei Zhu, PhD, Columbia University (1991)
lei.zhu@health.ny.gov
Kinetics and photochemistry of homogeneous and heterogeneous atmospheric reactions, new technique development, atmospheric application of cavity ring-down spectroscopy and its novel variant, and atmospheric application of time-resolved step-scan FT-IR.
More Information

 

Adjunct Faculty:


John G. Arnason, PhD, Stanford University (1995)
john.arnason@health.ny.gov
Trace element and isotopic analysis of biological and environmental samples.

Robert Jansing, PhD, University of Houston (1975)
rjansing@albany.edu
Identification of biomarkers of human exposure to environmental chemicals.                                      More Information

Liaquat Husain, PhD, University of Arkansas (1968)
lxh05@notes.health.state.ny.us 
Atmospheric transport of trace chemicals; acid rain.
More Information

Mirza M. Hussain PhD, University at Albany, State University of New York (1996)   mirza.hussain@health.ny.gov
Environmental pollutants and Health effects.

Christopher Palmer, PhD, University of Massachusetts (2001)
christopher.palmer@health.ny.gov
Determination of trace elements in blood and biological fluids; blood mercury speciation.

Susan Shaw, DrPH, Columbia University (1999)
sshaw@meriresearch.org 
Understanding the global distribution, effects and trends of persistent organic pollutants in marine wildlife and people.
More Information 

Kamal Swami, PhD, University at Albany, State University of New York (1984)
kamal.swami@health.ny.gov
Method development and trace metals analysis of environmental samples.

Karl Yang, PhD, University of Connecticut (1998)
karl.yang@health.ny.gov 
Use of novel analytical atomic spectrometric instruments and methodology in accurate determination of trace metals in complex environmental matrice.