Environmental and Occupational Health Faculty

The following is the full list of our Environmental and Occupation Health faculty.

Track Coordinator:

Edward Fitzgerald, Ph.D., Yale University (1982)
efitzgerald@albany.edu
PCBs, dioxins, and other persistent organic pollutants (POPs).
More Information

Faculty:

Erin M. Bell, Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (2000)
ebell@albany.edu
Epidemiology of environmental exposures, specifically pesticides, adverse birth outcomes, child development and cancer.
More Information

Michael Bloom, Ph.D.,University at Buffalo, State University of New York (2004)
mbloom@albany.edu
Effects of environmental exposures, specifically persistent organic pollutants and trace metals, and oxidative stress on human fecundity/fertility (including in vitro fertilization); effects of organic pollutants on human thyroid function; employment of biomarkers for epidemiologic studies.
More Information

David Carpenter, M.D., Harvard University (1964)
dcarpenter@albany.edu
Study of human disease as a result of environmental exposures, especially as a result of PCBs and chlorinated pesticides, and use of animal model systems to study mechanisms of toxicity.
More Information

Hyunok Choi, Ph.D., M.P.H., Columbia University (2006)
hchoi@albany.edu
Early-life (prenatal and early - postnatal) exposure of airborne endocrine disruptors; fetal adaptation to adverse intrauterine environment; hygiene hypothesis; adverse birth outcomes; asthma; obesity; maternal obesity; polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons; glycol ethers; Arsenic; longitudinal estimation of personal exposure.
More Information

John D. Paccione, Ph.D., P.E., Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (1993)
john.paccione@health.ny.gov
Use of titanium dioxide and multiphase-flow reactor designs to mineralize organic compounds in potable, recreational, and wastewater.
More Information

Roger Sokol, Ph.D., University at Albany, State University of New York (1990)
roger.sokol@health.ny.gov
Biodegradation of halogenated organic contaminants; control of disinfection byproduct formation in drinking water.

Ying Wang, Ph.D., University at Albany, State University of New York (1989)
ying.wang@health.ny.gov
Environmental public health tracking and surveillance with focus on surveillance and research on identifying environmental and genetic risk factors for major birth defects that affect about 3 in 100 babies and are a leading cause of infant mortality in the United States.
More Information

Lloyd Wilson, Ph.D., University at Albany, State University of New York (1995)
lloyd.wilson@health.ny.gov
Evaluation of the fate of environmental contaminants with a focus on understanding potential human exposures.

Adjunct Faculty:

Sara Brenner, M.D., University of Iowa (2006), M.P.H., University at Albany, State University of New York (2008)
sbrenner@albany.edu
Occupational and environmental health effects of exposure to engineered nanomaterials; Epidemiology and medical surveillance of the nanoelectronics workforce; Nanotoxicology; Ethical, legal, and societal implications of nanotechnology; Nanomedicine
More Information

Matthew T. Caddell, D.O., M.P.H., Columbia University (2002)
mcaddell@emblemhealth.com
Clinical occupational medicine, establishment adherence to the respiratory protection standard, and environmental health issues in urban settings.
More Information

Nancy K. Kim, Ph.D., Northwestern University (1969)
Nancy.Kim@health.ny.gov 
Exposure assessments and risk assesments for environmental contaminants.

Mary O'Reilly, Ph.D., The University of Michigan, Ann Arbor (1979)
moreilly@albany.edu 
Ergonomics and human factors in the workplace.
More Information

John VanRaalte, M.S., University of Cincinnati (1986)
jvanraalte@emblemhealth.com 
More Information