Toxicology Track Information

Programs in the toxicology concentration are designed to prepare students for technical, professional, and supervisory positions and careers in academic institutions, public agencies, and industry.  The curriculum emphasizes the application of multidisciplinary approaches to solve public health problems associated with toxic chemicals.  Research specializations are available in many areas, including adverse drug response, biomarkers, microbiology, neurotoxicology, molecular toxicology, chemical carcinogenesis, nanotoxicology, and immunotoxicology.  The program is flexible and will reflect the individual needs of the student.

Track Coordinator: 

David Spink, Ph.D., University of Maryland (1983)
david.spink@health.ny.gov
Effects of xenobiotics on the metabolism of drugs and steroid hormones.
More Information

Faculty:

Ellen Braun-Howland, Ph.D., Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (1982)
ellen.braun-howland@health.ny.gov
Occurrence and control of pathogens in the environment; molecular detection of environmentally significant organisms. 
More Information

David Carpenter, M.D., Harvard University (1964)
dcarpenter@albany.edu
Neurotoxicity of metals (Pb, Hg) and PCBs using electrophysiological and flow cytometric techniques.
More Information

Jun Gu, Ph.D., Shanghai Medical University (1993)
Jun.Gu@health.ny.gov
The mechanisms of environmental diseases and chemical toxicity.
More Information

Bruce J. Herron, Ph.D., University at Albany, State University of New York (1999)
bruce.herron@health.ny.gov
Functional analysis of the mouse genome: Investigation of defects in mammalian organogenesis.
More Information

David Lawrence, Ph.D., Boston College (1971)
david.lawrence@health.ny.gov 
Cellular, molecular, and biochemical investigation of the effects of environmental factors on the immune system; regulatory interactions between the nervous and immune systems.
More Information

Veronica Miller, Ph.D., University of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom (2007)
veronica.miller@health.ny.gov 
My research focuses into the role of environmental contaminants and immune responses in developmental and brain aging diseases with a focus on autism and dementia. 

Ramune Reliene, Ph.D., Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) Zurich (2001)
rreliene@albany.edu 
Gene, environment and nutrient interactions in the etiology and prevention of cancer.
More Information

Richard F. Seegal, Ph.D., University of Georgia (1972)
rfs19@notes.health.state.ny.us 
Developmental neurotoxicity of PCBs and heavy metals; neuroimmune interactions and Parkinson's disease.
More Information

JoEllen Welsh, Ph.D., Cornell University (1980)
jwelsh@albany.edu
Nutrition, nuclear receptors, genomics and cancer using cellular and whole animal approaches; the molecular mechanisms by which dietary-derived nuclear receptor ligands reduce the risk of breast cancer development.
More Information

Qing-Yu Zhang, Ph.D., University of Michigan (1989)
qing-yu.zhang@health.ny.gov 
Intestinal P450 enzymes in drug metabolism and chemical toxicity; regulation and biological functions of tissue-selective drug metabolism enzymes.
More Information

Adjunct Faculty:

Sara Brenner, M.D., University of Iowa (2006), M.P.H., University at Albany, State University of New York (2008)
sbrenner@albany.edu
Occupational and environmental health effects of exposure to engineered nanomaterials; Epidemiology and medical surveillance of the nanoelectronics workforce; Nanotoxicology; Ethical, legal, and societal implications of nanotechnology; Nanomedicine
More Information

Xinxin Ding, Ph.D., University of Michigan (1988)
xinxin.ding@health.ny.gov
Molecular toxicology; pharmacogenetics; gene regulation and biological function of cytochrome P-450 monooxygenases; transgenic/knockout mouse models of human disease.
More Information

Anwar Y. Dunbar, Ph.D., University of Michigan (2005)

Laurence S. Kaminsky, Ph.D., Cape Town University, South Africa (1966)

Brian Mayes, Ph.D., Albany Medical College (1979)

Brian Pentecost, Ph.D., University of London (1981)
pentecos@wadsworth.org
Control of steroid receptor expression including estrogen receptor and the PXR/RXR which regulates human Cytochrome P4503A4.
More Information

Robert A. Waniewski, Ph.D., George Washington University (1980)