Sociology Department - Faculty Directory

All contact information is listed below. If you click the faculty member's last name you will be directed to a page containing more information about that individual and her/his vita. All members are listed alphabetically, with affiliates and emeritus below.

Department Office: socio@albany.edu


 

Faculty Member

Phone, Office &
Office Hours

faculty picture
Berman, Elizabeth Popp, Ph.D.
Associate Professor- Graduate Studies Chair - Organizations
epberman@albany.edu
(518) 442-4675
Arts & Sciences 346
M/W 2:45 - 4:15
faculty picture
Bose, Christine, Ph.D.
Professor
Stratification and Gender Studies
cbose@albany.edu
please contact by email
Arts & Sciences 330

Avail by appt.
10/6-10/17 MWF 12-3
T TH 10:30-1:30

faculty picture
Brandon, Peter, Ph.D.
Professor
Welfare Policy, Social Demography
pbrandon@albany.edu
please contact by email
Arts & Sciences 326

M/W 11:30 – 1:00
Or by Appt.

faculty picture
Chung, Angie, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Urban Sociology
aychung@albany.edu

please contact by email
Arts & Sciences 304
T 2:45 - 3:45, TH 9:30 - 11:30
BY APPT. ONLY

faculty picture
Deane, Glenn, Ph.D.
Professor
Demography
gdeane@albany.edu
please contact by email
Arts & Sciences 339
M/W 3:00 - 4:00
F 12:00 – 1:00


faculty picture
Denton, Nancy, Ph.D.
Professor, Department Chair
Demography
ndenton@albany.edu
please contact by email
Arts & Sciences 337

M 2:00 – 4:00, T 3:00 – 4:30
W 1:30 – 3:00 or by Appt.

 
faculty picture
Dreby, Joanna, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Internship Director
Immigration, Families, Children
jdreby@albany.edu
please contact by email
Arts & Sciences 342

M/W 11:30 - 1:30
And by appt.

faculty picture
Friedman, Samantha, Ph.D.
Associate Professor,Urban Sociology
Samfriedman@albany.edu
(518) 442-5458
Arts & Sciences 348
Year Sabbatical

faculty picture
Gubernskaya, Zoya, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Social Demography
zgubernskaya@albany.edu
(518) 442-4671
Arts & Sciences 344
T 10:00 – 12:00
TH 3:00 – 5:00
faculty picture
Horton, Hayward Derrick, Ph.D.
Professor
Demography, Race and Ethnicity
hdhorton@albany.edu
(518) 442-4907
Arts & Sciences 320
 
M/T 4:00 – 5:30

faculty picture
Jacobs, Ronald, Ph.D.
Professor
Theory, Culture and Mass Media
rjacobs@albany.edu
please contact by email
Arts & Sciences 334
M 1:30 - 2:30
W 11:00 - 12:00, 1:30 - 2:30
faculty picture
Kaufman, Joanne, Ph.D.
Associate Professor,
Crime and Deviance
jkaufman@albany.edu
(518) 442-5963
Arts & Sciences 343
T 3:00 – 4:30, TH 3:30 – 5:0
And by appt.
faculty picture
Lachmann, Richard, Ph.D.
Professor, Comparative/Historical Sociology and
Political Sociology rlachmann@albany.edu
please contact by email
Arts & Sciences 360
T/TH 2:30 - 4:00
And by appt.

faculty picture
Liang, Zai, Ph.D.
Professor,
Migration/Immigration, Demography, China
zliang@albany.edu
(518) 442-4676
Arts & Sciences 303
Year Sabbatical

 
faculty picture
Loscocco, Karyn, Ph.D.
Professor
Gender, Race, Inequality
kloscocco@albany.edu
please contact by email
Arts & Sciences 321
T 9:00 - 10:00
W 11:00 - 12:30

 
faculty picture
Major, Aaron, Ph.D.
Associate Professor - Economic, Political & Miltary Sociology, Globilization
amajor@albany.edu
please contact by email
Arts & Sciences 301

T/TH 1:00 – 2:30
And by appt

faculty picture
Messner, Steven, Ph.D.
Distinguished Teaching Professor
Crime and Deviance
smessner@albany.edu
(518) 442-4674
Arts & Sciences 302
M/W 2:00 - 3:30
faculty picture
Seidman, Steven, Ph.D.
Professor
Social Theory
sjs3490@gmail.com
please contact by email
Arts & Sciences 318

M 12:00 - 2:30
And by appt

faculty picture
South, Scott, Ph.D.
Professor
Demography, Urban, Family
ssouth@albany.edu
(518) 442-4691
Arts & Sciences 307
M/W 10:30 - 12:00
faculty picture
Spitze, Glenna, Ph.D.
Distinguished Service Professor
Families, Gender, Aging
gspitze@albany.edu
(518) 442-4667
Arts & Sciences 329
BY APPT. ONLY
faculty picture
Strully, Kate, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Medical Sociology
kstrully@albany.edu
please contact by email
Arts & Sciences 308

T 4:35 – 5:35
W 11:00 – 12:00, 1:30 - 2:00
And by appt

 
faculty picture
Trent, Katherine, Ph.D.
Professor
Social Demography, Sociology of Families
ktrent@albany.edu
(518) 442-4681
Arts & Sciences 311
Fall Sabbatical
 
faculty picture
Wagner, David, Ph.D.
Professor, Honors Program Director
Social Psychology
dwagner@albany.edu
(518) 442-4689
Arts & Sciences 310
M/W/F 11:30 - 12:30

 
faculty picture
Ward, Russell, Ph.D.
Professor,
Aging
rward@albany.edu
(518) 442-4665
Arts & Sciences 328
T/W 10:00 - 11:00
faculty picture
Yang, Tse-Chuan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Demography
tyang3@albany.edu
(518) 442-4647
Arts & Sciences 315
T/TH 1:30 - 3:00
And by appt.

faculty picture
Zetka, James, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Undergraduate Studies Director Occupational Sociology
jzetka@albany.edu
please contact by email
Arts & Sciences 341

T/TH 1:30 - 3:00
And by sign-up sheet Appt.

 
 

 

Affiliates and Emeritus

 
 
Alba, Richard, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor (Emeritus)
Race and Ethnicity

ralba@albany.edu
 
Benavot, Aaron, Ph.D.
Professor (Affiliate)
Educational Administration & Policy

abenavot@uamail.albany.edu
 
Fader, Jamie, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor (Affiliate)
Criminal Justice

jfader@albany.edu
 
Fazekas, Erzsebet, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor (Affiliate)
Public Administration and Policy

efazekas@uamail.albany.edu
 
Hall, Richard, Ph.D.
Distinguished Service Professor (Emeritus)
Organization


 
Hernandez, Donald, Ph.D.
Professor (Emeritus)
Children, Youth, and Public Policy
CV: Curriculum Vitae
(518) 442-4668
dhernandez@albany.edu
 
Higgins, A. C. , Ph.D.
Associate Professor (Emeritus)
Sociology of Science

ach13@albany.edu
 
Krohn, Marvin, Ph.D.
Professor (Emeritus)


 
Logan, John, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor (Emeritus)


 
Moore, Gwen, Ph.D.
Professor (Emeritus)
Political Sociology, Gender, Social Networks
gmoore@albany.edu
 
Raffalovich, Lawrence, Ph.D.
Associate Professor (Emeritus)
Stratification, Statistics
lraffalovich@albany.edu
(518) 442-4456
Arts & Sciences 336
 
Richardson, Arthur, Ph.D.
Associate Professor (Emeritus)

 
Richter, Maurice, Ph.D.
Associate Professor (Emeritus)
Science, Stratification

mrichter@albany.edu
 
Schiller, Kathryn, Ph.D.
Associate Professor (Affiliate)
Sociology of Education
(518) 442-3528
schiller@albany.edu
 
Sutton, Barbara, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor (Affiliate)
Women's Studies
(518) 442-4319
bsutton@albany.edu