Office of the Chair of the Senate

The Office of the Chair of the Student Association Senate is the administrative arm of the
Senate. The mission of the Office of the Chair is to provide the necessary support to the Chair
of the Senate to enable him to fulfill his responsibilities to the Senate, both internally and
externally. It includes the Vice Chair of the Senate and the Secretary of the Senate.

The office is also responsible for facilitating communication and cooperation between the
Senators and their various constituencies, the University, and the other branches of the Student

Message from the Chair

Ryan Witte is the Chair of the Student Association Senate. He is a senior at the University at Albany with a major in Criminal Justice and a minor in Spanish. Ryan is originally from Long Island, where he attended Hicksville High School.

Ryan has been involved with various aspects of the UAlbany Community throughout the course of his academic career. During his junior year, he served as the Student Association Chief of Staff and as a sophomore he was elected to be an undergraduate senator representing Colonial Quad. Presently, Ryan is the Vice President of the Board of Directors for University Auxiliary Services Inc. Ryan also serves with the University Senate, the University Life Council, and the Dippikill Inc Board of Directors.

Ryan was elected Chair of the Senate based on his commitment to simplifying the Student Association Bylaws and increasing the impact of the Student Association Senate. He has stayed true to this commitment through the passage of his Student Group Policy Reform Act and by securing a donation on behalf of the Senate for $12,878 to the new football stadium. The donation was Ryan’s signature initiative and represented $1 from each undergraduate and honored the commitment of Coach Ford’s 43 years of service to the University.

Ryan is eager to field any questions or concerns. Stop by his office in Campus Center 116 or contact him directly to schedule a meeting.

Ryan Witte
Chairman of the Senate