Complete Academic Calendar

Narrow By

Undergraduate Calendar Classes Suspended Advance Registration
Graduate Calendar Commencement/Graduation Related Dates Late Registration
Semester Courses UUP Information Drop/Add Dates
8week1 Courses Financial Liability Dates for Dropping Courses Withdrawal Dates
8week2 Courses Grading    

Spring 2017 Academic Calendar

The Academic Calendar is subject to change at any time by official action of the University at Albany.

Published on 6/1/2017

Mon, January 2

Spring 2017 Degree Application Submission Available for UNDERGRADUATE & GRADUATE students. Those students who expect to complete their degree requirements by the official degree conferral date (5/21/2017) must apply via MyUAlbany.

Sun, January 22

Last day to drop/withdraw from Spring 2017 courses with no tuition or fee liability (view liability schedule)

Mon, January 23

Classes begin at 8:00 am 

Mon, January 23

First day for non-UAlbany students to cross-register for UAlbany courses 

Tue, January 24

Late registration begins. Late registration fee charged.

Wed, January 25 - Thu, January 26

UUP eligible students using the ECRP waiver may register for/add 8 Week 1 course

Thu, January 26

Last day to add 8 Week 1 course without permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (no permission number required) 

Fri, January 27 - Mon, January 30

UUP eligible students using the ECRP waiver may register for/add semester length course

Sun, January 29

Last day to drop semester length and 8 Week 1 courses with 0% financial liability (view liability schedule)

Mon, January 30

Last day to drop 8 Week 1 course without receiving a "W"

Mon, January 30

Last day to add semester length course without permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (no permission number required)

Mon, January 30

Last day to add 8 Week 1 course with permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (permission number required). Adding courses after this date will require a letter from the course instructor.

Fri, February 3

Last day of late registration for the semester

Fri, February 3

Last day to add semester length course with permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (permission number required). Adding courses after this date will require a letter from the course instructor.

Fri, February 3

Last day to formally audit semester length course

Fri, February 3

Last day to drop semester length course without receiving a "W"

Sun, February 5

Last day to drop semester length courses with 30% financial liability (view liability schedule)

Sun, February 5

Last day to drop 8 Week 1 courses with 60% financial liability (view liability schedule)

Sun, February 12

Last day to drop semester length courses with 50% financial liability (view liability schedule)

Sun, February 12

Last day to drop 8 Week 1 courses with 80% financial liability (view liability schedule)

Mon, February 13

100% financial liability for dropped 8 Week 1 courses (view liability schedule)

Fri, February 17

Spring 2017 UNDERGRADUATE degree applications due - submit via MyUAlbany

Fri, February 17

Last day for GRADUATE students to drop 8 Week 1 course ("W" assigned)

Sun, February 19

Last day to drop semester length courses with 70% financial liability (view liability schedule)

Mon, February 20

100% financial liability for dropped semester length courses (view liability schedule)

Wed, February 22

Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to file S/U option or return to A-E grading for 8 Week 1 course

Wed, February 22

Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to drop 8 Week 1 course ("W" assigned)

Wed, March 8

8 Week 1 Final examination period begins

Wed, March 8

Midterm Point

Thu, March 9

Last day of 8 Week 1 classes

Thu, March 9

8 Week 1 Final examination period ends

Fri, March 10

8 Week 2 classes begin at 8:00 am 

Sat, March 11 - Sun, March 19

Classes Suspended
Spring Break

Tue, March 14

Expected date that final grades for 8 Week 1 classes will be posted and available to students on MyUAlbany (by 12:00 pm). Subject to change at any time. Please check Semester Deadline Announcements under the Academics tab in MyUAlbany for additional information. Students who are missing grades after this date should contact their instructors directly.  

Thu, March 16

Last day to drop 8 Week 2 courses with 0% financial liability (view liability schedule)

Fri, March 17

Spring 2017 GRADUATE degree applications due - submit via MyUAlbany

Mon, March 20

Classes Resume at 8:00 am 

Mon, March 20

First day for Albany Law School students to cross-register for Fall 2017 UAlbany courses 

Mon, March 20 - Thu, April 20

Advance Registration for Summer 2017 and Fall 2017 begins 

Tue, March 21 - Wed, March 22

UUP eligible students using the ECRP waiver may register for/add 8 Week 2 course

Wed, March 22

Last day to add 8 Week 2 course without permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (no permission number required) 

Wed, March 22

Last day for GRADUATE students to drop semester length course ("W" assigned)

Thu, March 23

Last day to drop 8 Week 2 courses with 60% financial liability (view liability schedule)

Fri, March 24

Last day to drop 8 Week 2 course without receiving a "W"

Fri, March 24

Last day to add 8 Week 2 course with permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (permission number required). Adding courses after this date will require a letter from the course instructor.

Thu, March 30

Last day to drop 8 Week 2 courses with 80% financial liability (view liability schedule)

Fri, March 31

100% financial liability for dropped 8 Week 2 courses (view liability schedule)

Wed, April 5

Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to drop semester length course ("W" assigned)

Wed, April 5

Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to file S/U option or return to A-E grading for semester length course

Fri, April 7

Last day for students to make up incomplete grades from Fall 2016 or Winter 2017

Mon, April 10

Classes Suspended at 2:35 pm
Passover

Tue, April 11

Classes Suspended
Passover 

Wed, April 12

Classes Resume at 12:35 pm 

Fri, April 14

Last day for GRADUATE students to drop 8 Week 2 course ("W" assigned)

Sun, April 16

Classes Suspended
Easter 

Mon, April 17

Classes Resume at 12:35 pm 

Wed, April 19

Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to drop 8 Week 2 course ("W" assigned)

Wed, April 19

Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to file S/U option or return to A-E grading for 8 Week 2 course

Mon, May 1

Last day for dissertation and thesis submission for Spring 2017 graduation

Wed, May 10

Last day of classes 

Wed, May 10

Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to withdraw voluntarily from the University and receive "W" grades

Thu, May 11

Reading Day

Fri, May 12

Final examinations begin

Fri, May 19 - Sun, May 21

Spring 2017 Commencement Weekend

Fri, May 19

Final examinations end

Please see information about degree conferrals and grading (below).

Sun, May 21

Official degree conferral date Spring 2017

 

While degree clearance begins after the conclusion of final grading, it may take up to one month to complete the posting of all degrees. This timeline should be considered when ordering transcripts and submitting degree verifications. Please check your unofficial transcript to see when your degree has been awarded. Students with degree deficiencies will be contacted via their UAlbany email addresses. For additional information, please check Semester Deadline Announcements under the Academics tab in MyUAlbany for additional information.

Wed, May 24

Expected date that final grades for 8 Week 2 classes and semester length classes will be posted and available to students on MyUAlbany (by 12:00 pm). Subject to change at any time. Please check Semester Deadline Announcements under the Academics tab in MyUAlbany for additional information. Students who are missing grades after this date should contact their instructors directly.