University at Albany

Excellence Awards

Each year, the University at Albany honors special members of its community with Excellence Awards denoting exceptional contributions to the life of the campus. Fourteen faculty and staff members received this tribute in 2010.

Excellence in Teaching (Full Time)

George Berg Eloise Briere Cheryl Dozier
George Berg
Computer Science
Eloise Briere
Language, Literature and Cultures
Cheryl Dozier

Excellence in Teaching (Part Time)

Rocco Ferraro
Rocco Ferraro
Geography and Planning

Excellence in Teaching (Teaching Assistant)

Kelly Socia
Kelly Socia
Criminal Justice

Excellence in Research

Guthrie Birkhead Sanjay Goel R. Hamilton Lankford Scott Tenenbaum
Epidemiology and
Sanjay Goel
Information Technology Management
R. Hamilton Lankford
Educational Administration and Policy Studies
Scott Tenenbaum
Nanoscale Science and Engineering

Excellence in Academic Service

Gwen Moore George Richardson
Gwen Moore
Sociology and Women
George Richardson
Public Administration and Policy

Excellence in Librarianship

Mary Van Ullen
Mary Van Ullen
NYS Writers Institute

Excellence in Professional Service

    Mary McCarthy
Steve Galime
Arts and
Tom Kilcullen

Mary McCarthy
Social Welfare

Excellence in Support Service

Lisa Taylor
Lisa Taylor
Communications and Marketing


Students participate in more than 200 student clubs and honor societies, and enjoy a busy calendar of campus events.