University at Albany, State University of New York
Contact UAlbany Directories Calendars & Schedules Visitors Site Index Search
Admissions Academics Research IT Services Libraries Athletics
Excellence Awards by Year
Support Services
Professional Service
Academic Service
Teaching by Teaching Assistants and Part-Time and Non-Tenure Track Faculty



Excellence Awards

Each year, the University at Albany honors special members of its community with Excellence Awards denoting exceptional contributions to the life of the campus. Twenty-three faculty and staff members received this tribute in 2005.

Excellence in Research – 2005>>

Gordon G. Gallup Max Lifchitz Steven Messner Bonnie Steinbock

The Award for Excellence in Research recognizes outstanding research and scholarship by members of the faculty over a sustained number of years.

Excellence in Teaching – 2005>>

Lee Franklin David McDowall Rabi Musah Christopher J. Smith

The Award for Excellence in Teaching recognizes faculty members for their skill, innovation, and dedication to teaching and academic advising.

Excellence in Support Services – 2005>>

Aran Mull Kathleen Rose Karen Silinksky Jayne Silver

The excellence in Support Services Award recognizes staff members’ extraordinary achievements and contributions in support of the University’s academic and research aims, and its overall sense of community.

Excellence in Librarianship – 2005>>

Mary Y. Osielski M. Suzanne Turner

The Award for Excellence in Librarianship recognizes extraordinary achievement and dedication in library science.

Excellence in Professional Service – 2005>>

Vincent T. Franconere Catherine Murray Mary L. Schimley

The excellence in Professional Service Award recognizes individuals who have repeatedly sought improvement of themselves and their campus, and have transcended the normal definition of excellence.

Excellence in Academic Service – 2005>>

David Duffee Andi Lyons Marjorie Pryse

The University Award for Excellence in Academic Service is presented to members of the teaching faculty who have demonstrated leadership and service to the University over a sustained period.

Excellence in Teaching by Teaching Assistants and Part-Time and Non-Tenure Track Faculty – 2005>>

Christine E. Jumpeter Paul V. Morgan, Jr. Mary Arensberg Valentis

These awards are given in recognition of outstanding contributions to undergraduate education.