rock_images/random_pagetops/hd_1.jpg; rock_images/random_pagetops/hd_2.jpg; rock_images/random_pagetops/hd_3.jpg; rock_images/random_pagetops/hd_4.jpg; rock_images/random_pagetops/hd_5.jpg; rock_images/random_pagetops/hd_6.jpg; rock_images/random_pagetops/hd_7.jpg; rock_images/random_pagetops/hd_8.jpg;
 

About Us

The Program on Local and Intergovernmental Studies (POLIS) seeks to advance productive intergovernmental systems, connect intergovernmental professionals, and serve as an information resource for governments and their partners. POLIS engages in objective inquiry into intergovernmental systems and effective practices. With particular emphasis on state-local and intermunicipal collaboration, we highlight the interdependent nature of government, stressing the ways that programs and information are coordinated, and cooperation achieved

Sydney Cresswell Sydney Cresswell
Director
scresswell@albany.edu
Michael Hattery

Michael R. Hattery
Associate Director
mhattery@albany.edu

 

Michael Landon
Research Associate
ml262285@albany.edu

 

Joseph Martin
Graduate Research Assistant
jhmartin@albany.edu

  Matthew W. O'Neil
Research Assistant
moneil@albany.edu

Program on Local and Intergovernmental Studies
Affiliated Scholars

 

David Andersen - Distinguished Service Professor
System Dynamics and Public Policy
(518) 442-5280 | david.andersen@albany.edu

 

James W. Fossett - Associate Professor, RIG
fossettj@albany.edu | 518-443-5846

 

Yvonne D. Harrison - Assistant Professor, Milne 111
yharrison@uamail.albany.edu | 518-442-4001

 

Terry Maxwell - Associate Professor and Chair, Information Studies
Information Policy and Management, Intergovernmental Studies
(518) 442-5126 | tamaxwell@hvc.rr.com

 

Robert Purtell - Assistant Professor
Public Finance and Fiscal Policy
(518) 442-5276 | rpurtell@albany.edu

 

Todd Swanstrom - E. Desmond Lee Professor of Community Collaboration and Public Policy, University of Missouri, St. Louis (Urban Policy)
(314) 516-5259 | swanstromt@umsl.edu

 

Jordan Wishy - PhD, POLIS Fellow
Public Law and Politics, Intergovernmental Studies
(518) 772-3778 | jordansw@albany.edu