National Academy of Public Administration Elects UAlbany's Sharon Dawes

Contact: Heidi Weber (518) 437-4993

(November 21, 2002) - Sharon Dawes, University at Albany associate professor of public administration and policy and director of the Center for Technology in Government (CTG), has been elected to the National Academy of Public Administration. Dawes will be inducted into the Academy on Nov. 22 at a ceremony in Washington, D.C.

The Academy, an independent, non-profit organization chartered by Congress, is dedicated to improving the performance of governance systems -- the network of public institutions, non-profit organizations and private companies that share in the implementation of public policy. The organization responds to specific requests from public agencies and non-government organizations. The Academy also promotes discourse on emerging trends in governance through its Standing Panels and with external funding.

The selection process for the Academy is extremely competitive and membership is limited to 400 Fellows.

Dawes, a UAlbany alumna, is an expert in government information strategy and management. She joined the University's Center for Technology in Government, an applied research center devoted to improving government through policy, management and technology innovation, in 1993. CTG works in partnership with state and federal agencies, local governments, academic organizations and private corporations.

In 1995, Dawes led CTG to earn an "Innovations in American Government Award," one of the nation's most prestigious public service prizes, from the Ford Foundation and the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University. She was honored by Governing Magazine, a publication for state and local governments, as a "Public Official of the Year" in 1997. Under her leadership, CTG has worked with scores of public agencies and has been awarded major federal research grants totaling more than $4 million.

For more information about the National Academy of Public Administration, call Mark LaVigne at (518) 442-4598 or visit

Established in 1844 and designated a center of the State University of New York in 1962, the University at Albany's broad mission of excellence in undergraduate and graduate education, research and public service engages 17,000 diverse students in eight degree-granting schools and colleges.

For more information about this nationally ranked University, visit

Back to News Releases page | University at Albany Home Page