Contact: Brian DePasquale, Assistant Athletics Director for Media Relations (518) 442-3072 

ALBANY, N.Y. (May 8, 2002) -- University at Albany Director of Athletics and Recreation Lee McElroy announced today that Amy Di Micco and Eddie Scott have been chosen to receive Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Merit Medals. The awards are annually given to the schoolís top senior female and male student-athletes who have shown excellence in the classroom and as competitive athletes during the current academic year.

Di Micco, a captain on the womenís field hockey team, posted a 3.82 cumulative grade point average in communication with a minor in business administration. She was chosen to the National Field Hockey Coaches Association National Academic Team for the third straight year, and received the Merlin Hathaway Scholarship and Presidential Undergraduate Leadership Award. Di Micco served as president of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.

Di Micco was voted to the NFHCA All-Mideast Region second team, and the America East Conference second team. She played in the 2001 NFHCA Division I North-South Senior All-Star Game. Di Micco led the Great Danes in scoring with six goals and four assists, and finished her career tied for second on the schoolís all-time scoring list with 99 points (41 goals, 17 assists.)

A center fielder and captain on the baseball squad, Scott has a 3.65 GPA in psychology with a minor in sociology. A two-time Verizon District I All-Academic selection, Scott has received the Spellman Award for four years and earned the Top Honoree Award with the highest GPA for an African-American in his class. He is a member of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, and has worked with the Whitney Young Reading Program.

Scott is currently hitting .327 with 13 extra-base hits and 25 RBI. He is second on the team in runs (37) and stolen bases (14). Scott has appeared in 144 games for the Great Danes, and has a .325 career batting average. He ranks second on the schoolís all-time stolen base chart with 51, and is among UAlbanyís top 10 in runs (110), RBI (74) and doubles (23).

2000-01: J.T. Herfurth (Football), Mariah Martin (Field Hockey)
1999-00: Matthew Haggarty (Menís Basketball), Laura Walls (Womenís Lacrosse)
1998-99: Janna Johnson (Womenís Track), Kelly Paolino (Womenís Basketball), Ben Wright (Menís Track/Cross Country)
1997-98: Liz Peck (Field Hockey), Darrin Jahnel (Menís Basketball), Halim Wise (Menís Track)
1996-97: Tonya Dodge (Womenís Track/Cross Country), Jamie Lent (Baseball)
1995-96: Karen Gaudiello (Softball), Gigi Legendre (Volleyball), Rich Tallarico (Football)
1994-95: Andy Shein (Football), Kimberly Toone (Womenís Track)

Established in 1844 and designated a center of the State University of New York in 1962, the University at Albany's broad mission of excellence in undergraduate and graduate education, research and public service engages 17,000 diverse students in eight degree-granting schools and colleges. For more information about this nationally ranked University, visit


Return to University at Albany Home Page

Return to University News & Information Page