University at Albany Names Collins Fellows

Contact: Greta Petry (518) 437-4986

ALBANY, N.Y. (May 31, 2002) -- Martha Rozett, Peter Bloniarz and Lynn Videka-Sherman have been named Collins Fellows by the University at Albany for 2002. The annual award is given to faculty members who have shown extraordinary commitment to the University and its community over a sustained period.

Rozett has been a member of the UAlbany faculty since 1973. A well-known Shakespearean scholar, Rozett has taught 27 different undergraduate and graduate courses. Outside the University, she serves as a consultant on teaching Shakespeare for a number of arts-in-education programs in New York City. Rozett has published three books and 49 articles, reviews, scholarly papers and presentations. However, she is best known and admired at the University for her exemplary record of service across the campus, especially her service to undergraduates.

Bloniarz has been recognized by both the President’s and Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence in Teaching. He is currently the interim director of the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning, established as a vehicle to assist faculty and teaching assistants in the use of technology in the deliverance of course material, as well as in general pedagogy. While his academic appointment is in the Department of Computer Science, he is also the director and long-time faculty member of the interdisciplinary Ph.D. program in information science, and was instrumental in the creation of the University’s Center for Technology in Government. Bloniarz works indefatigably to improve the University as a whole, as well as to enhance the teaching environment and technological infrastructure. Currently, he is playing a critical role in assisting the University in its efforts to acquire a portion of the Harriman State Office Campus for future expansion.

Videka-Sherman, former dean of the School of Social Welfare, has distinguished herself as a teacher, scholar and administrator. She joined UAlbany in 1981 and was named dean in 1989. She has served the University in numerous committees, councils and task forces. Her research findings and consultative work have made a major impact on how social workers across the nation are trained, and how services are delivered to their clients.

Videka-Sherman is co-principal investigator of the Center for the Study of Issues in Public Mental Health, funded by the National Institute for Mental Health for $2.8 million. She has worked strategically to advance evidence-based practice and rigorous knowledge development for the social work profession. Videka-Sherman has also served as president of the board of directors of the Council of Community Services.

The Collins Fellow award bears the name of Evan R. Collins, president of the University from 1949 to 1969, who provided outstanding leadership in UAlbany’s transition from a college to a university.

Established in 1844 and designated a center of the State University of New York in 1962, the University at Albany's broad mission of excellence in undergraduate and graduate education, research and public service engages 17,000 diverse students in eight degree-granting schools and colleges. For more information about this nationally ranked University, visit


Return to University at Albany Home Page

Return to University News & Information Page