Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Media
 

Frankie Bailey

Frankie Bailey
School of Criminal Justice
Associate Professor


Expert in the following: Crime and mass media/popular culture; crime history; race, gender, crime; crime and detective fiction
Campus phone: (518) 442-5237
Campus email: fybailey@albany.edu


Sheila Bernard

Sheila Bernard
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: History


Expert in the following: Documentary film; media; nonfiction media storytelling; archival filmmaking; historical filmmaking; independent filmmaking; screenwriting
Campus phone: (518) 442-5364
Campus email: sbernard@albany.edu


Brett Bowles

Brett Bowles
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Languages, Literatures, & Cultures


Expert in the following: Politics, society, and mass media; contemporary France; European Union; French and European film; documentary film
Campus phone: (518) 442-4143
Campus email: bbowles@albany.edu


Rob Edelman

Rob Edelman
College of Arts and Sciences
Lecturer
Department: Judaic Studies
Department: Art


Expert in the following: Baseball and film
Campus phone: (518) 442-4020
Campus email: robre25@yahoo.com


Abbe Herzig

Abbe Herzig
School of Education
Assistant Professor
Department: Educational Theory & Practice


Expert in the following: Women in science; women in mathematics; minorities in science; people of color in science; mathematics education; diversity equity in education; postgraduate education; statistics in the media; statistical literacy
Campus phone: (518) 442-5032
Campus email: aherzig@albany.edu


Janell Hobson

Janell Hobson
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Women's Studies


Expert in the following: Women's studies; race relations; gender relations; black history month; women's history month; film; media; popular culture
Campus phone: (518) 442-5575
Campus email: jhobson@albany.edu


William Husson

William Husson
College of Arts and Sciences
Department: Communication


Expert in the following: Popular culture; children, youth, and media; news; mass media effects; film; work; internships
Campus phone: (518) 442-4872
Campus email: whusson@albany.edu


Brian Keough

Brian Keough
University Libraries
Department: M.E. Grenander Special Collections and Archives


Expert in the following: Acquisition and access to archival collections; needs assessments and business process analysis for record management programs; digital preservation; regional political history
Campus phone: (518) 437-3931
Campus email: bkeough@albany.edu


Maria Keyes

Maria Keyes
College of Arts and Sciences
Lecturer
Department: Languages, Literatures, & Cultures


Expert in the following: Italian and French language and literature; Italian culture; civilization; film and cinema; the Italian American experience;  contemporary Italian society
Campus phone: (518) 442-4108
Campus email: mgkeyes@csc.albany.edu


Roger Lipera

Roger Lipera
University Libraries
Department: Interactive Media Center


Expert in the following: Internet; the Web; Web design; World Wide Web; podcast; image editing; blog; Photoshop; photograph restoration; photo faking; Web business; search engines; online business; e-mail; security.
Campus phone: (518) 442-3607
Campus email: rlipera@uamail.albany.edu


Jennifer Manganello

Jennifer Manganello
School of Public Health
Assistant Professor
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior


Expert in the following: Mass media; health literacy; health communication; children's health; media campaigns.
Campus phone: (518) 402-0333
Campus email: jmanganello@albany.edu


Carla Meskill

Carla Meskill
School of Education
Associate Professor
Department: Educational Theory & Practice


Expert in the following: Language of teaching and learning with technology; distance/online education; computer-assisted language learning (CALL); second language and bilingual education; media literacy; electronic literacy.
Campus phone: (518) 442-5007
Campus email: cmeskill@uamail.albany.edu


William Rainbolt

William Rainbolt
College of Arts and Sciences
Department: English
Department: Journalism Program


Expert in the following: Journalism; media ethics; media history; film; documentary studies; historical fiction
Campus phone: (518) 442-4087
Campus email: rainbolt@csc.albany.edu


Jennifer Stromer-Galley

Jennifer Stromer-Galley
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Communication


Expert in the following: Internet and politics, presidential campaigns, political blogging, political deliberation and dialogue, public opinion
Campus phone: (518) 442-4873
Campus email: jstromer@albany.edu