Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Women's Studies
 

Drew Anderson

Drew Anderson
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Psychology


Expert in the following: Eating disorders; anorexia; bulimia; binge eating; body image; obesity; weight loss; dieting; psychology; mental health
Campus phone: (518) 442- 4835
Campus email: daanderson@albany.edu


Mary Applegate

Mary Applegate
School of Public Health
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Department: Director
Department: New York State Preventive Medicine Residency Program


Expert in the following: Reproductive health; family planning; adolescent pregnancy; sexuality; maternal and child health; breastfeeding promotion; preventive medicine; public health
Campus phone: (518) 402-0283
Campus email: mapplegate@albany.edu


Frankie Bailey

Frankie Bailey
School of Criminal Justice
Associate Professor


Expert in the following: Crime and mass media/popular culture; crime history; race, gender, crime; crime and detective fiction
Campus phone: (518) 442-5237
Campus email: fybailey@albany.edu


Abbe Herzig

Abbe Herzig
School of Education
Assistant Professor
Department: Educational Theory and Practice


Expert in the following: Women in science; women in mathematics; minorities in science; people of color in science; mathematics education; diversity equity in education; postgraduate education; statistics in the media; statistical literacy
Campus phone: (518) 442-5032
Campus email: aherzig@albany.edu


Janell Hobson

Janell Hobson
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Women's Studies


Expert in the following: Women's studies; race relations; gender relations; black history month; women's history month; film; media; popular culture
Campus phone: (518) 442-5575
Campus email: jhobson@albany.edu


Akiko Hosler

Akiko Hosler
School of Public Health
Assistant Professor
Department: Epidemiology and Biostatistics


Expert in the following: Diabetes; obesity; smoking; nutrition; Japan
Campus phone: (518) 402-1561
Campus email: ahosler@albany.edu



        Lani Jones

Lani Jones
School of Social Welfare
Associate Professor
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Mental health; Black feminism and therapy; evidenced-based practice and group work
Campus phone: (518) 442-5167
Campus email: ljones@albany.edu


Jennifer Manganello

Jennifer Manganello
School of Public Health
Associate Professor
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior


Expert in the following: Health communication; health disparities; mass media; social media; media campaigns; health information seeking; health literacy.
Campus phone: (518) 402-0333
Campus email: jmanganello@albany.edu


Maritza Martinez

Maritza Martinez
University Offices


Expert in the following: At-risk students; diversity; conflict resolution; motivation; student success; community relations; effective study strategies; social work; women's issues; coalition building; the importance of mentoring.
Campus phone: (518) 442-5180
Campus email: mmartinez@albany.edu


Louise-Anne McNutt

Louise-Anne McNutt
University at Albany
Associate Professor
Department: Institute for Health and the Environment


Expert in the following: Infectious disease epidemiology; epidemics; HIV/AIDS in developing countries; transmission of bloodborne pathogens (HIV, hepatitis); sexually transmitted diseases; intimate partner violence.
Campus phone: (518) 402-0403
Campus email: lmcnutt@albany.edu


Philip Nasca

Philip Nasca
School of Public Health
Dean


Expert in the following: Etiological studies of breast cancer; cancer of the female reproductive organs; childhood cancers; nursing; cancer epidemiology.
Campus phone: (518) 402-0283
Campus email: pnasca@albany.edu



        Loretta Pyles

Loretta Pyles
School of Social Welfare
Associate Professor
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Economic justice; gender-based violence; disaster and social inequality; community organizing
Campus phone: (518) 442-5152
Campus email: lpyles@albany.edu


Bruce Svare

Bruce Svare
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Psychology


Expert in the following: Steroid abuse among athletes (Olympic, professional, collegiate, high school, youth); early specialization and professionalization of young athletes; overemphasis on winning; material rewards (e.g., athletics scholarships and professional contracts); academic corruption in high schools and colleges; increasing of performance enhancing drugs; declining sportsmanship; violence exhibited by athletes, coaches, parents, and fans; media coverage of young athletes; sports gambling; Title IX; increasing abandonment of intramural, recreational, and fitness-based needs of kids; rising obesity; increasing incidents of sports injury, burnout, and overtraining of young athletes
Campus phone: (518) 442-4848
Campus email: bsvare@albany.edu


Mary Valentis

Mary Valentis
College of Arts and Sciences
Department: English


Expert in the following: Mythology and gender studies; cultural studies; interpersonal relationships
Campus phone: (518) 442-4082
Campus email: mvalentis@albany.edu



        Lynn Warner

Lynn Warner
School of Social Welfare
Associate Professor
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Substance abuse; mental health policy
Campus phone: (518) 591-8734
Campus email: lwarner@albany.edu