Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Welfare
 

Katharine Briar-Lawson

Katharine Briar-Lawson
School of Social Welfare
Dean


Expert in the following: Child and family welfare; poverty and unemployment; community collaboration and service integration
Campus phone: (518) 442-5324
Campus email: kbriarlawson@albany.edu


Thomas Gais

Thomas Gais
University at Albany
Director
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: Education; Federalism; government reform; higher education; social service spending; welfare reform
Campus phone: (518) 443-5238
Campus email: tgais@albany.edu


Hayward Horton

Hayward Horton
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Sociology
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior


Expert in the following: Demography; race and ethnicity; rural sociology
Campus phone: (518) 442-4907
Campus email: hdhorton@albany.edu


Irene Lurie

Irene Lurie
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Professor Emerita
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Welfare policy; welfare reform; state welfare programs.
Campus phone: (518) 442-5270
Campus email: ilurie@albany.edu


Linda Mertz

Linda Mertz
School of Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Aging; social work; caregiving; social work education and field learning; community partnerships.
Campus phone: (518) 442-5327
Campus email: lmertz@albany.edu


Richard Nathan

Richard Nathan
University at Albany
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government
Department: Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Disaster recovery; federalism; government reform; social service spending; welfare reform
Campus phone: (518) 443-5522
Campus email: rnathan@albany.edu


Blanca Ramos

Blanca Ramos
School of Social Welfare
Associate Professor
Department: Social Welfare
Department: Education Core Director
Department: Center for the Elimination of Minority Health Disparities


Expert in the following: Immigration; Latino aging community; Hispanic cultures in the U.S.; cross-cultural social work
Campus phone: (518) 442-5365
Campus email: bramos@albany.edu