Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Substance Abuse
 

Dolores Cimini

Dolores Cimini
Department: University Counseling Center


Expert in the following:

Psychology; mental health issues; suicide prevention; alcohol and other drug abuse prevention in college students; peer counseling and peer education; college student hotlines; peer theater programs; disability issues.

Dr. Cimini is an expert in combating harmful behavior patterns and practices that individuals use during times of stress.


Campus phone: (518) 442-5800
Campus email: dcimini@albany.edu


Rob Edelman

Rob Edelman
College of Arts and Sciences
Lecturer
Department: History
Department: Art


Expert in the following: Baseball and film
Campus phone: (518) 442-4020
Campus email: redelman@albany.edu


Heather Larkin

Heather Larkin
School of Social Welfare
Assistant Professor


Expert in the following: adverse childhood experiences (ACE) and ACE consequences, including substance abuse and co-occurring disorders; Restorative Integral Support (RIS), including Healthy Environments and Relationships That Support (HEARTS), meditation interventions, and emerging practices; Service Outcomes Action Research (SOAR); Post-Trauma Wellness; intergenerational and lifespan perspectives; aging
Campus phone: (518) 591-8779
Campus email: hlarkin@albany.edu



        Barry Loneck

Barry Loneck
School of Social Welfare
Associate Professor
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Alcohol and drug dependence treatment; mental health treatment
Campus phone: (518) 442-5340
Campus email: bloneck@albany.edu


Mark Muraven

Mark Muraven
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Psychology


Expert in the following: Self-control; addiction; motivation; emotion.
Campus phone: (518) 442-4123
Campus email: mmuraven@albany.edu



        David Pettie

David Pettie
School of Social Welfare
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Mental health; rehabilitation and recovery
Campus phone: (518) 437-3686
Campus email: pettie@albany.edu


Estela Rivero

Estela Rivero
University at Albany
Director of Counseling
Department: University Counseling Center


Expert in the following: Clinical psychology; addiction; recovery; prevention
Campus phone: (518) 442-5800
Campus email: erivero@albany.edu


Bruce Svare

Bruce Svare
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Psychology


Expert in the following: Steroid abuse among athletes (Olympic, professional, collegiate, high school, youth); early specialization and professionalization of young athletes; overemphasis on winning; material rewards (e.g., athletics scholarships and professional contracts); academic corruption in high schools and colleges; increasing of performance enhancing drugs; declining sportsmanship; violence exhibited by athletes, coaches, parents, and fans; media coverage of young athletes; sports gambling; Title IX; increasing abandonment of intramural, recreational, and fitness-based needs of kids; rising obesity; increasing incidents of sports injury, burnout, and overtraining of young athletes
Campus phone: (518) 442-4848
Campus email: bsvare@albany.edu



        Lynn Warner

Lynn Warner
School of Social Welfare
Associate Professor
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Substance abuse; mental health policy
Campus phone: (518) 591-8734
Campus email: lwarner@albany.edu


Edelgard Wulfert

Edelgard Wulfert
College of Arts and Sciences
Dean
Department: Professor
Department: Psychology


Expert in the following: Psychology; gambling; substance abuse; sexual risk behaviors; addiction
Campus phone: (518) 442-4654
Campus email: ewulfert@albany.edu