Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Students
 

Kristin Christodulu

Kristin Christodulu
College of Arts and Sciences
Department: Psychology


Expert in the following: Autism spectrum disorders, developmental disabilities, challenging behavior, positive behavior support, sleep disturbances
Campus phone: (518) 442-5132
Campus email: kvchristodulu@albany.edu


Dolores Cimini

Dolores Cimini
Department: University Counseling Center


Expert in the following:

Psychology; mental health issues; suicide prevention; alcohol and other drug abuse prevention in college students; peer counseling and peer education; college student hotlines; peer theater programs; disability issues.

Dr. Cimini is an expert in combating harmful behavior patterns and practices that individuals use during times of stress.


Campus phone: (518) 442-5800
Campus email: dcimini@albany.edu


Lucy Dadayan

Lucy Dadayan
University at Albany
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: fiscal health/policies of states; k-12 education system in New York; workforce investment
Campus phone: (518) 443-5828
Campus email: ldadayan@albany.edu


Joel Davis

Joel Davis
University Offices
Director
Department: Student Financial Center


Expert in the following: financial aid; billing and account maintenance; veteran services
Campus phone: (518) 442-3231
Campus email: jdavis@albany.edu


Thomas Gebhardt

Thomas Gebhardt
University Offices
Department: University Police Department


Expert in the following: Personal safety and off-campus affairs; environmental management approach to safety and behavior off campus; college drinking: responsible retailer involvement; building and sustaining successful campus-community collaboratives; social norms campaigns with long term neighbors; safety off campus; neighborhood watch programs; town-gown relations
Campus phone: (518) 442-3130
Campus email: tgebhardt@albany.edu


Virginia Goatley

Virginia Goatley
School of Education
Associate Professor
Department: Reading


Expert in the following: Literacy instruction; literacy/social studies; connections; Teacher Education Accreditation Council (TEAC)
Campus phone: (518) 442-5104
Campus email: vgoatley@albany.edu


Kenneth Howey

Kenneth Howey
University at Albany
Senior Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: Urban teacher education and school renewal; p-16 partnerships
Campus phone: (518) 443-5922
Campus email: khowey@albany.edu


Maritza Martinez

Maritza Martinez
University Offices


Expert in the following: At-risk students; diversity; conflict resolution; motivation; student success; community relations; effective study strategies; social work; women's issues; coalition building; the importance of mentoring.
Campus phone: (518) 442-5180
Campus email: mmartinez@albany.edu


David Miller

David Miller
School of Education
Associate Professor
Department: Educational and Counseling Psychology


Expert in the following: School psychology; developmental psychopathology; behavioral interventions; consultation and prevention, and cognitive-behavior therapy for children and adolescents
Campus phone: (518) 442-5038
Campus email: dmiller@albany.edu


Estela Rivero

Estela Rivero
University at Albany
Director of Counseling
Department: University Counseling Center


Expert in the following: Clinical psychology; addiction; recovery; prevention
Campus phone: (518) 442-5800
Campus email: erivero@albany.edu


Peter Shea

Peter Shea
School of Education
Associate Professor
Department: Educational Theory and Practice
Department: Associate Professor
Department: Informatics


Expert in the following: higher education; online learning; k-12 education
Campus phone: (518) 442-4009
Campus email: pshea@albany.edu


Peter Vellis

Peter Vellis
University at Albany
Director
Department: University Health Center


Expert in the following: Family medicine, sports medicine, prevention-based education, osteopathic medicine, on-campus risk assessment of threatening communicable diseases
Campus phone: (518) 442-5454
Campus email: pvellis@albany.edu


Sandra Vergari

Sandra Vergari
School of Education
Associate Professor
Department: Educational Administration and Policy Studies


Expert in the following: Charter schools; K-12 education reform policy; politics of education policy
Campus phone: (518) 442-5063
Campus email: svergari@albany.edu


Livia da Silva

Livia da Silva
University Offices
Assistant Director
Department: Student Financial Center


Expert in the following: Financial aid; billing; student account maintenance; veteran services: GI Bill processing and veteran support
Campus phone: (518) 442-3217
Campus email: ldasilva@albany.edu