Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Religion
 

Mark Blum

Mark Blum
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: East Asian Studies


Expert in the following: Buddhism; religion
Campus phone: (518) 442-4183
Campus email: mblum@albany.edu


Roxanne Booth

Roxanne Booth
College of Arts and Sciences
Adjunct
Department: Africana Studies


Expert in the following: African American church history; African American religion; African American Christian missions history; Christian missions; cross-cultural studies; Christian education
Campus phone: (518) 442-4730
Campus email: rbooth@albany.edu


Nadieszda Kizenko

Nadieszda Kizenko
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: History


Expert in the following: Russia; Ukraine; Orthodox Christianity; Russian Orthodoxy; Eastern Orthodox Christianity; confession; religion in Russian culture
Campus phone: (518) 442-5357
Campus email: nkizenko@albany.edu


Udi Sommer

Udi Sommer
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Assistant Professor
Department: Political Science


Expert in the following: Energy; solar power; religion; Buddhism; politics; Supreme Court constitutions; constitutionalism; U.S. Supreme Court; Israeli politics; Israeli High Court of Justice
Campus phone: (518) 442-4001
Campus email: esommer@albany.edu


Barry Trachtenberg

Barry Trachtenberg
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: History


Expert in the following: Holocaust; modern Jewish history; antisemitism; Yiddish
Campus phone: (518) 442-3078
Campus email: btrachtenberg@albany.edu


Theodore Wright Jr.

Theodore Wright Jr.
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Professor Emeritus
Department: Political Science


Expert in the following: Politics; policies; foreign policies of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh; minorities, especially Muslims in India; attitudes towards events in the Middle East; Islam as a religion; comparative ethnicity; Dutch in colonial Albany, N.Y.
Campus phone: (518) 442-5255
Campus email: twright@albany.edu