Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Public Policy
 

James Acker

James Acker
School of Criminal Justice
Distinguished Teaching Professor


Expert in the following: The death penalty; history of capital punishment in the United States and New York.
Campus phone: (518) 442-5317
Campus email: jacker@albany.edu


Victor Asal

Victor Asal
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Associate Professor
Department: Political Science


Expert in the following: Terrorism; Homeland Security; Contentious Politics
Campus phone: (518) 591-8729
Campus email: vasal@albany.edu


Elizabeth Berman

Elizabeth Berman
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Sociology


Expert in the following: U.S. universities; U.S. patent policy; biotech entrepreneurship; economic sociology
Campus phone: (518) 442-4675
Campus email: epberman@albany.edu


Carl Bon Tempo

Carl Bon Tempo
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: History


Expert in the following: 20th century U.S. history; 20th century politics and public policy in the U.S.; history of refugees and immigrants in the U.S.; history of the U.S. and human rights; history of American foreign policy
Campus phone: (518) 442-5368
Campus email: cbontempo@albany.edu


Donald Boyd

Donald Boyd
University at Albany
Senior Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: Fiscal health; policies of states
Campus phone: (518) 677-5011
Campus email: dboyd@albany.edu


Gene Bunnell

Gene Bunnell
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor Emeritus
Department: Geography and Planning


Expert in the following: Urban, city, district, and regional planning; anthropology; economics; public health
Campus phone: (518) 442-4469
Campus email: gbunnell@albany.edu


Joseph Burke

Joseph Burke
University at Albany
Senior Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: Education; higher education
Campus phone: (518) 443-5835
Campus email: jburke@albany.edu


John Cape

John Cape
University at Albany
Senior Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: State- and local-government finance and policy
Campus phone: (518) 443-5835
Campus email: capej@rockinst.org



        Meghan Cook

Meghan Cook
University at Albany
Department: Center for Technology in Government


Expert in the following: Intergovernmental relations and county and municipal government information management; Information sharing and integration; facilitation and cross-boundary collaborative work
Campus phone: (518) 442-4443
Campus email: mecook@albany.edu


José Cruz

José Cruz
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Associate Professor
Department: Political Science
Department: Director


Expert in the following: Comparative politics; census data; Latino culture, political values, attitudes and behavior; media studies
Campus phone: (518) 442-5377
Campus email: jcruz@albany.edu


Lucy Dadayan

Lucy Dadayan
University at Albany
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: fiscal health/policies of states; k-12 education system in New York; workforce investment
Campus phone: (518) 443-5828
Campus email: ldadayan@albany.edu


Sharon Dawes

Sharon Dawes
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Associate Professor Emerita
Department: Public Administration and Policy
Department: Founding Director and Senior Fellow
Department: Center for Technology in Government


Expert in the following: Government information systems strategy and management; policy analysis; information management and policy
Campus phone: (518) 442-5932
Campus email: sdawes@albany.edu


James Follain

James Follain
University at Albany
Senior Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: Housing and public policy; mortgage markets
Campus phone: (518) 443-5266
Campus email: jfollain@albany.edu


James Fossett

James Fossett
University at Albany
Senior Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government
Department: Associate Professor
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Health care policy; bioethics; federalism; Medicaid 
Campus phone: (518) 443-5846
Campus email: jfossett@albany.edu


Thomas Gais

Thomas Gais
University at Albany
Director
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: Education; Federalism; government reform; higher education; social service spending; welfare reform
Campus phone: (518) 443-5238
Campus email: tgais@albany.edu


Edward Hannan

Edward Hannan
School of Public Health
Distinguished Professor
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Health services research; evidence-based medicine; outcomes research; cardiac surgery; angioplasty, trauma systems; carotid endarterectomy; volume-outcome relationships in health care; medical decision-making; risk-adjustment; medical errors; patient safety
Campus phone: (518) 402-0297
Campus email: ehannan@albany.edu


Yvonne Harrison

Yvonne Harrison
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Assistant Professor
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: governance and leadership of nonprofit organizations, nonprofit technology adoption and diffusion, organization theory, partnerships, academic service learning
Campus phone: (518) 442-4001
Campus email: yharrison@albany.edu


Kenneth Howey

Kenneth Howey
University at Albany
Senior Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: Urban teacher education and school renewal; p-16 partnerships
Campus phone: (518) 443-5922
Campus email: khowey@albany.edu


Michael Jerison

Michael Jerison
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Economics


Expert in the following: Economics nobel prize winners; cost benefit analysis and economic impact statements for government funded projects; tax systems and tax reform, flat tax, consumption tax, corporate income tax; price index and measurement of economic welfare; immigration policy; economic theory
Campus phone: (518) 442-4287
Campus email: mjerison@albany.edu


Richard Kirsch

Richard Kirsch
University at Albany
Institute Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: health reform; managed care in New York State
Campus phone: (518) 443-5827
Campus email: rkirsch@rooseveltinstitute.org


Richard Lachmann

Richard Lachmann
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Sociology
Department: Chair


Expert in the following: Sociology of culture; popular culture; political sociology; war and terrorism; fiscal crises; U.S. decline; military spending
Campus phone: (518) 442-4661
Campus email: rlachmann@albany.edu


Jason Lane

Jason Lane
School of Education
Assistant Professor
Department: Educational Administration and Policy Studies
Department: Institute Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: Higher education and public policy; administration; globalization
Campus phone: (518) 442-5080
Campus email: jlane@albany.edu


Daniel Levy

Daniel Levy
School of Education
Distinguished Professor
Department: Educational Administration and Policy Studies


Expert in the following: International higher education; higher education policy and politics; private higher education; Latin American & Mexican politics
Campus phone: (518) 442-5177
Campus email: dlevy@albany.edu


Michael Malbin

Michael Malbin
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Professor
Department: Political Science


Expert in the following: U.S. politics and elections, campaign finance, and the U.S. Congress.
Campus phone: (518) 969-8890, ext. 15
Campus email: mmalbin@albany.edu


Erika Martin

Erika Martin
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Assistant Professor
Department: Public Administration and Policy
Department: Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: health, public health, public policy, HIV/AIDS, resource allocation
Campus phone: (518) 442-5243
Campus email: emartin@albany.edu


Rick Mathews

Rick Mathews
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Director
Department: National Center for Security and Preparedness


Expert in the following: Homeland security; infrastructure protection; intelligence; counter-terrorism and terrorism interdiction; information sharing; weapons of mass destruction; critical decision making; facility and systems security; emergency preparedness
Campus phone: (518) 426-1263
Campus email: rmathews@albany.edu


David McCaffrey

David McCaffrey
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Distinguished Teaching Professor
Department: Public Administration and Policy
Department: Co-Director
Department: Institute for Financial Market Regulation


Expert in the following: Securities regulation; financial market regulation; organizational management; corporate governance.
Campus phone: (518) 442-5282
Campus email: dmccaffrey@albany.edu


Philip McCallion

Philip McCallion
School of Social Welfare
Distinguished Professor
Department: Director


Expert in the following: Developmental disabilities; Alzheimer's disease; long term care; nursing home diversion; health promotion; civic engagement; aging-prepared communities.
Campus phone: (518) 442-5347
Campus email: pmccallion@albany.edu


Louise-Anne McNutt

Louise-Anne McNutt
University at Albany
Associate Professor
Department: Institute for Health and the Environment


Expert in the following: Infectious disease epidemiology; epidemics; HIV/AIDS in developing countries; transmission of bloodborne pathogens (HIV, hepatitis); sexually transmitted diseases; intimate partner violence.
Campus phone: (518) 402-0403
Campus email: lmcnutt@albany.edu



        Jean Moore

Jean Moore
School of Public Health
Director
Department: Center for Health Workforce Studies


Expert in the following: New York State healthcare workforce; U.S. healthcare workforce shortages; nursing shortages; minority health workforce disparities; healthcare workforce solutions
Campus phone: (518) 402-0250
Campus email: jmoore@albany.edu


Richard Nathan

Richard Nathan
University at Albany
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government
Department: Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Disaster recovery; federalism; government reform; social service spending; welfare reform
Campus phone: (518) 443-5522
Campus email: rnathan@albany.edu



        Theresa Pardo

Theresa Pardo
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Director
Department: Center for Technology in Government


Expert in the following: Information technology innovation in the public sector; electronic records management; interagency and intergovernmental information sharing and integration; information technology business case planning and development
Campus phone: (518) 442-3984
Campus email: tpardo@albany.edu


Robert Purtell

Robert Purtell
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Assistant Professor
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: public asset valuation, privatization; public-private partnerships; government finance; financial market regulation; capital markets
Campus phone: (518) 442-5276
Campus email: rpurtell@albany.edu



        R. Karl Rethemeyer

R. Karl Rethemeyer
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Department Chair
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Terrorism; public policy; social networks and their impact on social, political, and policy processes; terrorist networks and organizations; counter-insurgency efforts in Afghanistan and Iraq
Campus phone: (518) 442-5283
Campus email: kretheme@albany.edu


David Rousseau

David Rousseau
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Associate Professor
Department: Political Science


Expert in the following: International relations; foreign policy; shared identity and military conflict; political development
Campus phone: (518) 442-5279
Campus email: drousseau@albany.edu


Sandor Schuman

Sandor Schuman
Department: Center for Policy Research


Expert in the following: Collaboration; group facilitation; consensus building; conflict management; interpersonal communication; group dynamics; team building; running meetings; organizational storytelling
Campus phone: (518) 442-5889
Campus email: sschuman@albany.edu


David Shaffer

David Shaffer
University at Albany
Senior Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: Economic development; higher education; workforce development
Campus phone: (518) 443-5284
Campus email: dshaffer@albany.edu


Frank Thompson

Frank Thompson
Senior Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government
Department: Professor Emeritus
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Health care policy and implementation; Medicaid; federalism and health care policy
Campus phone: (518) 443-5522
Campus email: fthompson@albany.edu


Sandra Vergari

Sandra Vergari
School of Education
Associate Professor
Department: Educational Administration and Policy Studies


Expert in the following: Charter schools; K-12 education reform policy; politics of education policy
Campus phone: (518) 442-5063
Campus email: svergari@albany.edu



        Edward Waltz

Edward Waltz
School of Public Health
Director


Expert in the following: Emergency preparedness; public health needs assessment and program evaluation; disease surveillance systems; local public health services
Campus phone: (518) 402-0344
Campus email: ewaltz@albany.edu


Wei-Chyung Wang

Wei-Chyung Wang
University at Albany
Department: Atmospheric Sciences Research Center


Expert in the following: Climate modeling and data analysis; global warming; impact of climatic changes on social and economic activities and their policy implications.
Campus phone: (518) 437-8708
Campus email: wcwang@albany.edu


Wendy Weller

Wendy Weller
School of Public Health
Associate Professor
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior


Expert in the following: Financing and access to care; health reform; medical outcomes; provider payment
Campus phone: (518) 402-0302
Campus email: wweller@albany.edu


Theodore Wright Jr.

Theodore Wright Jr.
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Professor Emeritus
Department: Political Science


Expert in the following: Politics; policies; foreign policies of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh; minorities, especially Muslims in India; attitudes towards events in the Middle East; Islam as a religion; comparative ethnicity; Dutch in colonial Albany, N.Y.
Campus phone: (518) 442-5255
Campus email: twright@albany.edu


Joseph Zimmerman

Joseph Zimmerman
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Professor
Department: Political Science


Expert in the following: Electoral systems; federalism; the impact of elections on minorities and women
Campus phone: (518) 442-5378
Campus email: jzimmerman@albany.edu