Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Popular Culture
 

Frankie Bailey

Frankie Bailey
School of Criminal Justice
Associate Professor


Expert in the following: Crime and mass media/popular culture; crime history; race, gender, crime; crime and detective fiction
Campus phone: (518) 442-5237
Campus email: fybailey@albany.edu


Suraj Commuri

Suraj Commuri
School of Business
Associate Professor
Department: Marketing


Expert in the following: Household decision-making; brand counterfeiting; Internet word-of-mouth; consumer-generated content
Campus phone: (518) 442-4954
Campus email: SCommuri@albany.edu


Nicholas Conway

Nicholas Conway
College of Arts and Sciences
Lecturer
Department: Music


Expert in the following: Hip hop music and culture (emceeing, disc jockeying, break dancing, graffiti art)
Campus phone: (518) 442-4187
Campus email: nconway@albany.edu


Gordon Gallup, Jr.

Gordon Gallup, Jr.
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Psychology


Expert in the following: Evolution and behavior; human reproductive competition; biology of interpersonal attraction; semen chemistry and behavior; brain evolution; voice attractiveness; body morphology and behavior; yawning; grip strength; kissing; paternal assurance tactics
Campus phone: (518) 442-4852
Campus email: ggallup@albany.edu


Janell Hobson

Janell Hobson
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Women's Studies


Expert in the following: Women's studies; race relations; gender relations; black history month; women's history month; film; media; popular culture
Campus phone: (518) 442-5575
Campus email: jhobson@albany.edu


William Husson

William Husson
College of Arts and Sciences
Department: Communication


Expert in the following: Popular culture; children, youth, and media; news; mass media effects; film; work; internships
Campus phone: (518) 442-4872
Campus email: whusson@albany.edu


Ronald Jacobs

Ronald Jacobs
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Sociology


Expert in the following: Theory, culture and mass media; politics and democracy
Campus email: rjacobs@albany.edu


Richard Lachmann

Richard Lachmann
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Sociology
Department: Chair


Expert in the following: Sociology of culture; popular culture; political sociology; war and terrorism; fiscal crises; U.S. decline; military spending
Campus phone: (518) 442-4661
Campus email: rlachmann@albany.edu


Walter Little

Walter Little
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Anthropology


Expert in the following: Cultures; diversity; economics; indigenous peoples of the Americas; language; Latin America; popular culture; tourism; urban space.
Campus phone: (518) 442-4718
Campus email: wlittle@albany.edu


Mary Valentis

Mary Valentis
College of Arts and Sciences
Department: English


Expert in the following: Mythology and gender studies; cultural studies; interpersonal relationships
Campus phone: (518) 442-4082
Campus email: mvalentis@albany.edu