Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

New York State
 

Donald Boyd

Donald Boyd
University at Albany
Senior Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: Fiscal health; policies of states
Campus phone: (518) 677-5011
Campus email: dboyd@albany.edu



Expert in the following:
Campus phone: (518)
Campus email:


Ray Bromley

Ray Bromley
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Geography and Planning
Department: Vice Provost


Expert in the following: Urban planning; regional planning; urban development; urban renewal; community development; housing policy; neighborhood decline; neighborhood revitalization; abandoned buildings; fire tragedies; micro-enterprise; micro-credit; retail markets; street vendors; Peru; Colombia
Campus phone: (518) 591-8183
Campus email: rbromley@albany.edu


Joseph Burke

Joseph Burke
University at Albany
Senior Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: Education; higher education
Campus phone: (518) 443-5835
Campus email: jburke@albany.edu


John Cape

John Cape
University at Albany
Senior Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: State- and local-government finance and policy
Campus phone: (518) 443-5835
Campus email: capej@rockinst.org


Lucy Dadayan

Lucy Dadayan
University at Albany
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: fiscal health/policies of states; k-12 education system in New York; workforce investment
Campus phone: (518) 443-5828
Campus email: ldadayan@albany.edu


Helen Desfosses

Helen Desfosses
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Associate Professor
Department: Public Administration and Policy
Department: Africana Studies


Expert in the following: Politics--local, state, national and international; public policy; campaigns and elections; legislative politics; Africa; Middle East; women and families
Campus phone: (518) 442-5254
Campus email: hdesfosses@albany.edu


Richard Kirsch

Richard Kirsch
University at Albany
Institute Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: health reform; managed care in New York State
Campus phone: (518) 443-5827
Campus email: rkirsch@rooseveltinstitute.org


Kajal Lahiri

Kajal Lahiri
College of Arts and Sciences
Distinguished Professor
Department: Economics


Expert in the following: Economic forecasting; applied econometrics; economics of health and disability; New York State economy; New York regional economic trends; economics of energy; transportation economics; energy/gasoline prices
Campus phone: (518) 442-4758
Campus email: klahiri@albany.edu


Sean Rafferty

Sean Rafferty
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Anthropology


Expert in the following: Ancient tobacco; shamanism; Native American smoking pipes; archaeology of eastern North America; archaeology of New York State; cultural resource management.
Campus phone: (518) 442-4713
Campus email: srafferty@albany.edu


David Shaffer

David Shaffer
University at Albany
Senior Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: Economic development; higher education; workforce development
Campus phone: (518) 443-5284
Campus email: dshaffer@albany.edu


Barry Trachtenberg

Barry Trachtenberg
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: History


Expert in the following: Holocaust; modern Jewish history; antisemitism; Yiddish
Campus phone: (518) 442-3078
Campus email: btrachtenberg@albany.edu