Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Minorities
 


        Frankie Bailey

Frankie Bailey
School of Criminal Justice
Professor
Department: Criminal Justice


Expert in the following: Crime and mass media/popular culture; crime history; race, gender, crime; crime and detective fiction
Campus phone: (518) 442-5237
Campus email: fybailey@albany.edu



        Allen Ballard

Allen Ballard
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: History


Expert in the following: African-American history; the Civil War; Soviet history
Campus phone: (518) 442-5407
Campus email: aballard@albany.edu



        Tamika Carey

Tamika Carey
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: English


Expert in the following: Race, gender and identity; rhetoric; black feminism; cultural and feminist rhetoric traditions
Campus phone: (518) 442-4071
Campus email: tcarey@albany.edu



        Frank Dillon

Frank Dillon
School of Education
Associate Professor
Department: Educational and Counseling Psychology


Expert in the following: Mental health issues affecting racial, ethnic, and sexual minority groups in the United States; HIV/AIDS; substance abuse
Campus phone: (518) 442-5047
Campus email: fdillon@albany.edu



        Samantha Friedman

Samantha Friedman
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Sociology


Expert in the following: Residential segregation; racial and ethnic disparities in housing and neighborhood quality; immigration
Campus phone: (518) 442-5458
Campus email: samfriedman@albany.edu



        Blanca Gonzalez

Blanca Gonzalez
College of Emergency Preparedness, Homeland Security and Cybersecurity
Adjunct
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior


Expert in the following: Minority health disparities; barriers to health services; emergency response and minority communities
Campus phone: (518) 488-8027
Campus email: bgonzalez@albany.edu



        Julia Hastings

Julia Hastings
School of Social Welfare
Assistant Professor
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Poverty issues among ethnic minority populations; mental health and welfare participation dynamics; African American health and mental health disparities
Campus phone: 591-8751
Campus email: jhastings2@albany.edu



        Abbe Herzig

Abbe Herzig
School of Education
Assistant Professor
Department: Educational Theory and Practice


Expert in the following: Women in science; women in mathematics; minorities in science; people of color in science; mathematics education; diversity equity in education; postgraduate education; statistics in the media; statistical literacy
Campus phone: (518) 442-5020
Campus email: aherzig@albany.edu



        Michael K. Hill

Michael K. Hill
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: English


Expert in the following: Race studies; "whiteness"; U.S. minority relations; civil society; multiracialism; U.S. demographic change; racial passing; history of democracy; relation between "print culture" (the novel) and politics; 18th-century political economy and culture
Campus phone: (518) 442-4046
Campus email: mhill@albany.edu



        Hayward Horton

Hayward Horton
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Sociology


Expert in the following: Demography; race and ethnicity; rural sociology
Campus phone: (518) 442-4907
Campus email: hdhorton@albany.edu



        Lani Jones

Lani Jones
School of Social Welfare
Associate Professor
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Mental health; Black feminism and therapy; evidenced-based practice and group work
Campus phone: 442-5167
Campus email: ljones@albany.edu



        Janine Jurkowski

Janine Jurkowski
School of Public Health
Associate Professor
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior


Expert in the following: Minority health disparities; women's health
Campus phone: (518) 402-0420
Campus email: jjurkowski@albany.edu



        Justin Pickett

Justin Pickett
School of Criminal Justice
Assistant Professor
Department: Criminal Justice


Expert in the following: Public opinion on crime and criminal justice; social threat and social control; juvenile justice and delinquency; community influences on attitudes and behavior; sociology of punishment
Campus phone: (518) 442-5210
Campus email: jpickett@albany.edu



        Feng (Johnson) Qian

Feng (Johnson) Qian
School of Public Health
Assistant Professor
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior


Expert in the following: Comparative effectiveness research; quality of care and patient safety; evaluation of medical technology and digital health; health disparities and practice variation; global health
Campus phone: (518) 402-0325
Campus email: fqian@albany.edu