Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Minorities
 

Frankie Bailey

Frankie Bailey
School of Criminal Justice
Associate Professor


Expert in the following: Crime and mass media/popular culture; crime history; race, gender, crime; crime and detective fiction
Campus phone: (518) 442-5237
Campus email: fybailey@albany.edu


Allen Ballard

Allen Ballard
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Africana Studies
Department: History


Expert in the following: African-American history, Civil War history, Soviet history
Campus phone: (518) 442-5407
Campus email: aballard@albany.edu


Samantha Friedman

Samantha Friedman
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Sociology


Expert in the following: Residential segregation; racial and ethnic disparities in housing and neighborhood quality; immigration
Campus phone: (518) 442-5458
Campus email: samfriedman@albany.edu



        Julia Hastings

Julia Hastings
School of Social Welfare
Assistant Professor
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Poverty issues among ethnic minority populations; mental health and welfare participation dynamics; African American health and mental health disparities
Campus phone: (518) 591-8751
Campus email: jhastings2@albany.edu


Abbe Herzig

Abbe Herzig
School of Education
Assistant Professor
Department: Educational Theory and Practice


Expert in the following: Women in science; women in mathematics; minorities in science; people of color in science; mathematics education; diversity equity in education; postgraduate education; statistics in the media; statistical literacy
Campus phone: (518) 442-5032
Campus email: aherzig@albany.edu


Michael Hill

Michael Hill
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: English
Department: Women's Studies


Expert in the following: Race studies; "whiteness", U.S. minority relations; civil society; history of democracy; relation between "print culture" (the novel) and politics
Campus phone: (518) 442-4080
Campus email: mhill@albany.edu


Hayward Horton

Hayward Horton
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Sociology
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior


Expert in the following: Demography; race and ethnicity; rural sociology
Campus phone: (518) 442-4907
Campus email: hdhorton@albany.edu



        Lani Jones

Lani Jones
School of Social Welfare
Associate Professor
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Mental health; Black feminism and therapy; evidenced-based practice and group work
Campus phone: (518) 442-5167
Campus email: ljones@albany.edu


Janine Jurkowski

Janine Jurkowski
School of Public Health
Associate Professor
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior


Expert in the following:
Campus phone: (518) 402-0420
Campus email: jjurkowski@albany.edu


Lee McElroy

Lee McElroy
Vice President for Athletic Administration/
Director of Intercollegiate Athletics


Expert in the following: NCAA Division I athletics; NCAA governance; race and equity in sports.
Campus phone: (518) 442-2562
Campus email: lmcelroy@albany.edu