Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Mental Health
 


        Drew Anderson

Drew Anderson
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Psychology


Expert in the following: Eating disorders; anorexia; bulimia; binge eating; body image; obesity; weight loss; dieting; psychology; mental health
Campus phone: (518) (518) 442- 4835
Campus email: daanderson@albany.edu



        Kristin Christodulu

Kristin Christodulu
College of Arts and Sciences
Director
Department: Center for Autism and Related Disabilities


Expert in the following: Autism spectrum disorders, developmental disabilities, challenging behavior, positive behavior support, sleep disturbances
Campus phone: (518) (518) 442-5132
Campus email: kvchristodulu@albany.edu



        Dolores Cimini

Dolores Cimini
University at Albany
Assistant Director
Department: University Counseling Center


Expert in the following: Psychology; mental health issues; suicide prevention; alcohol and other drug abuse prevention in college students; peer counseling and peer education; college student hotlines; peer theater programs; disability issues.
Campus phone: (518) (518) 442-5800
Campus email: dcimini@albany.edu



        Nancy Claiborne

Nancy Claiborne
School of Social Welfare
Associate Professor
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Human service organizations; design and delivery of service; child welfare; health systems
Campus phone: (518) 442-5349
Campus email: nclaiborne@albany.edu



        John Forsyth

John Forsyth
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Psychology


Expert in the following: Mental health; acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT); fear; anxiety; stress; panic disorder; social anxiety; phobias; problem anger; forgiveness and compassion; emotion and emotion regulation; cognitive and behavior therapies for anxiety and stress
Campus phone: (518) (518) 442-4862
Campus email: forsyth@albany.edu



        Julia Hastings

Julia Hastings
School of Social Welfare
Assistant Professor
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Poverty issues among ethnic minority populations; mental health and welfare participation dynamics; African American health and mental health disparities
Campus phone: (518) 591-8751
Campus email: jhastings2@albany.edu



        Julia M. Hormes

Julia M. Hormes
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Psychology


Expert in the following: Psychology of human food choice, eating behaviors, food preferences and aversions, cultural differences in eating behaviors, eating disorders, overweight and obesity, cravings, food cravings, chocolate craving, perimenstrual and pregnancy cravings, addictive behaviors, behavioral addictions (e.g., to online social networking and video game use)
Campus phone: (518) (518) 442-4911
Campus email: jhormes@albany.edu



        Lani Jones

Lani Jones
School of Social Welfare
Associate Professor
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Mental health; Black feminism and therapy; evidenced-based practice and group work
Campus phone: (518) 442-5167
Campus email: ljones@albany.edu



        Lara Kaye

Lara Kaye
School of Social Welfare
Assistant Research Professor
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Mental health; mindy-body connection; program evaluation
Campus phone: (518) 591-8615
Campus email: lkaye@albany.edu



        Barry Loneck

Barry Loneck
School of Social Welfare
Associate Professor
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Alcohol and drug dependence treatment; mental health treatment
Campus phone: (518) 442-5340
Campus email: bloneck@albany.edu



        David Pettie

David Pettie
School of Social Welfare
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Mental health; rehabilitation and recovery
Campus phone: (518) 437-3686
Campus email: pettie@albany.edu



        Allison Redlich

Allison Redlich
School of Criminal Justice
Assistant Professor
Department: Criminal Justice


Expert in the following: Police interrogation methods; Mental Health Courts (MHCs); juvenile criminal justice and vulnerable populations
Campus phone: (518) (518) 442-5210
Campus email: aredlich@albany.edu


Estela Rivero

Estela Rivero
University at Albany
Director of Counseling
Department: University Counseling Center


Expert in the following: Clinical psychology; addiction; recovery; prevention
Campus phone: (518) 442-5800
Campus email: erivero@albany.edu



        Lynn Warner

Lynn Warner
School of Social Welfare
Associate Professor
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Substance abuse; mental health policy
Campus phone: (518) 591-8734
Campus email: lwarner@albany.edu


Edelgard Wulfert

Edelgard Wulfert
College of Arts and Sciences
Dean
Department: Professor
Department: Psychology


Expert in the following: Psychology; gambling; substance abuse; sexual risk behaviors; addiction
Campus phone: (518) 442-4654
Campus email: ewulfert@albany.edu