Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Literature
 


        Susanna Fessler

Susanna Fessler
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: East Asian Studies


Expert in the following: Japanese literature and culture of the modern era
Campus phone: (518) 442-4119
Campus email: sfessler@albany.edu



        Michael K. Hill

Michael K. Hill
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: English


Expert in the following: Race studies; "whiteness"; U.S. minority relations; civil society; multiracialism; U.S. demographic change; racial passing; history of democracy; relation between "print culture" (the novel) and politics; 18th-century political economy and culture
Campus phone: (518) 442-4046
Campus email: mhill@albany.edu



        Judith Langer

Judith Langer
School of Education
Department: Educational Theory and Practice


Expert in the following: Student learning; literacy; reading; writing; instruction; literature; English; testing; school success
Campus phone: (518) 442-5020
Campus email: jlanger@albany.edu



        Olimpia Pelosi

Olimpia Pelosi
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Languages, Literatures, and Cultures


Expert in the following: Italian and comparative literature; women mystic writers of the Italian Renaissance and Baroque period; Italian theatre of the Renaissance and Baroque period
Campus phone: (518) 442-4222
Campus email: opelosi@albany.edu



        William Rainbolt

William Rainbolt
College of Arts and Sciences
Department: English


Expert in the following: Journalism; media ethics; media history; film; documentary studies; historical fiction
Campus phone: 442-4056
Campus email: wrainbolt@albany.edu



        Edward  Schwarzschild

Edward Schwarzschild
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: English


Expert in the following: Fiction writing; creative writing; novels; short stories; American literature; contemporary American literature; literature and the visual arts
Campus phone: (518) 442-4075
Campus email: eschwarzschild@albany.edu



        Timothy Sergay

Timothy Sergay
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Languages, Literatures, and Cultures


Expert in the following: Russian language; Russian-English translation; 20th century Russian literature
Campus phone: (518) 442-4227
Campus email: tsergay@albany.edu



        Leonard A. Slade Jr.

Leonard A. Slade Jr.
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Africana Studies


Expert in the following: Black literature; black history; black poetry; and 19th century American literature, particularly author Herman Melville; American literary bibliography
Campus phone: (518) 442-4726
Campus email: lslade@albany.edu



        Mary Valentis

Mary Valentis
College of Arts and Sciences
Lecturer
Department: English


Expert in the following: Mythology and gender studies; cultural studies; interpersonal relationships
Campus phone: (518) 442-4082
Campus email: mvalentis@albany.edu



        Oscar Williams

Oscar Williams
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Africana Studies


Expert in the following: African American history and literature; American slavery; black nationalism; black conservatism; slavery in New York
Campus phone: (518) 442-4730
Campus email: owilliams@albany.edu