Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Literature
 

Susanna Fessler

Susanna Fessler
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: East Asian Studies


Expert in the following: Japanese literature and culture of the modern era
Campus phone: (518) 442-4119
Campus email: sfessler@albany.edu


Michael Hill

Michael Hill
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: English
Department: Women's Studies


Expert in the following: Race studies; "whiteness", U.S. minority relations; civil society; history of democracy; relation between "print culture" (the novel) and politics
Campus phone: (518) 442-4080
Campus email: mhill@albany.edu


Judith Langer

Judith Langer
School of Education
Distinguished Professor
Department: Educational Theory and Practice
Co-Director: Center on English Learning and Achievement
Director: Albany Institute for Research in Education


Expert in the following: Student learning; literacy; reading; writing; instruction; literature; English; testing; school success
Campus phone: (518) 442-5029
Campus email: jlanger@albany.edu


Olimpia Pelosi

Olimpia Pelosi
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Languages, Literatures, and Cultures


Expert in the following: Italian and comparative literature; women mystic writers of the Italian Renaissance and Baroque period; Italian theatre of the Renaissance and Baroque period.
Campus phone: (518) 442-4222
Campus email: opelosi@albany.edu



        William Rainbolt

William Rainbolt
College of Arts and Sciences
Department: English


Expert in the following: Journalism; media ethics; media history; film; documentary studies; historical fiction
Campus phone: (518) 442-4056
Campus email: wrainbolt@albany.edu


Edward Schwarzschild

Edward Schwarzschild
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: English
Department: Fellow


Expert in the following: Fiction writing; creative writing; novels; short stories; American literature; contemporary American literature; literature and the visual arts
Campus phone: (518) 442-4075
Campus email: eschwarzschild@albany.edu


Timothy Sergay

Timothy Sergay
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Languages, Literatures, and Cultures


Expert in the following: Russian language; Russian-English translation; 20th century Russian literature
Campus phone: (518) 442-4222
Campus email: tsergay@albany.edu


Leonard Slade Jr.

Leonard Slade Jr.
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Africana Studies
Department: Adjunct Professor
Department: English


Expert in the following: Black literature; black history; black poetry; and 19th century American literature, particularly author Herman Melville
Campus phone: (518) 442-4726
Campus email: lslade@albany.edu


Mary Valentis

Mary Valentis
College of Arts and Sciences
Department: English


Expert in the following: Mythology and gender studies; cultural studies; interpersonal relationships
Campus phone: (518) 442-4082
Campus email: mvalentis@albany.edu


Oscar Williams

Oscar Williams
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Africana Studies


Expert in the following: African American history and literature; American slavery; black nationalism; black conservatism; slavery in New York.
Campus phone: (518) 442-4593
Campus email: owilliams@albany.edu