Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Latin America
 


        Ray Bromley

Ray Bromley
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Geography and Planning


Expert in the following: Urban planning; regional planning; urban development; urban renewal; community development; housing policy; neighborhood decline; neighborhood revitalization; abandoned buildings; fire tragedies; micro-enterprise; micro-credit; retail markets; street vendors; Peru; Colombia
Campus phone: (518) 591-8183
Campus email: rbromley@albany.edu



        José  Cruz

José Cruz
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Associate Professor
Department: Political Science


Expert in the following: Comparative politics; census data; Latino culture, political values, attitudes and behavior; media studies
Campus phone: (518) 442-5377
Campus email: jcruz@albany.edu



        Joanna Dreby

Joanna Dreby
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Sociology


Expert in the following: Immigration; families; children
Campus phone: (518) 956-8150
Campus email: jdreby@albany.edu



        Susan Gauss

Susan Gauss
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Anthropology


Expert in the following: 19th and 20th century Latin America; Industrialism in Mexico; state-society relations and public policy; global commodities and consumption; gender in a global context; revolutions and social movements in Latin America
Campus phone: (518) 442-5345
Campus email: sgauss@albany.edu



        Daniel C. Levy

Daniel C. Levy
School of Education
Distinguished Professor
Department: Educational Administration and Policy Studies


Expert in the following: International higher education; higher education policy and politics; private higher education; Latin American & Mexican politics
Campus phone: (518) 442-5177
Campus email: dlevy@albany.edu



        Max Lifchitz

Max Lifchitz
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Music and Theatre


Expert in the following: Latin American and American music; contemporary concert music
Campus phone: (518) 442-4172
Campus email: mlifchitz@albany.edu



        Walter Little

Walter Little
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Anthropology


Expert in the following: Cultures; diversity; economics; indigenous peoples of the Americas; language; Latin America; popular culture; tourism; urban space
Campus phone: (518) 442-4718
Campus email: wlittle@albany.edu



        Blanca Ramos

Blanca Ramos
School of Social Welfare
Associate Professor
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Immigration; Latino aging community; Hispanic cultures in the U.S.; cross-cultural social work
Campus phone: 442-5365
Campus email: bramos@albany.edu



        John Schwaller

John Schwaller
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: History


Expert in the following: Catholic Church; Colonial Latin America; Aztec culture; Aztec language (Nahauti)
Campus phone: (518) 442-5300
Campus email: jschwaller@albany.edu