Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

History
 

Allen Ballard

Allen Ballard
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Africana Studies
Department: History


Expert in the following: African-American history, Civil War history, Soviet history
Campus phone: (518) 442-5407
Campus email: aballard@albany.edu


Sheila Bernard

Sheila Bernard
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: History


Expert in the following: Documentary film; media; nonfiction media storytelling; archival filmmaking; historical filmmaking; independent filmmaking; screenwriting
Campus phone: (518) 442-5364
Campus email: sbernard@albany.edu


Carl Bon Tempo

Carl Bon Tempo
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: History


Expert in the following: 20th century U.S. history; 20th century politics and public policy in the U.S.; history of refugees and immigrants in the U.S.; history of the U.S. and human rights; history of American foreign policy
Campus phone: (518) 442-5368
Campus email: cbontempo@albany.edu


Anthony DeBlasi

Anthony DeBlasi
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: East Asian Studies
Department: Chair
Department: East Asian Studies


Expert in the following: China, Chinese culture, Chinese history, Confucianism
Campus phone: (518) 442-5316
Campus email: adeblasi@albany.edu


Rob Edelman

Rob Edelman
College of Arts and Sciences
Lecturer
Department: History
Department: Art


Expert in the following: Baseball and film
Campus phone: (518) 442-4020
Campus email: redelman@albany.edu


Richard Fogarty

Richard Fogarty
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: History


Expert in the following: Europe; France; imperialism; war; race and racism; national identity; World War I
Campus phone: (518) 442-5344
Campus email: rfogarty@albany.edu


Richard Hamm

Richard Hamm
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: History
Department: Chair


Expert in the following: Temperance movement; crime and trials; civil liberties
Campus phone: (518) 442-5305
Campus email: rhamm@albany.edu


David Hochfelder

David Hochfelder
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: History


Expert in the following: History of U.S. business and technology; public history; history of information technology; history of the telegraph; Thomas Edison; electric power; savings and investment
Campus phone: (518) 442-5348
Campus email: dhochfelder@albany.edu



        Ryan Irwin

Ryan Irwin
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: History


Expert in the following: American foreign relations; globalization; international organizations; decolonization
Campus phone: (518) 442-5379
Campus email: rirwin@albany.edu


Brian Keough

Brian Keough
University Libraries
Department Head
Department: M.E. Grenander Special Collections and Archives


Expert in the following: Acquisition and access to archival collections; needs assessments and business process analysis for record management programs; digital preservation; regional political history
Campus phone: (518) 437-3931
Campus email: bkeough@albany.edu


Nadieszda Kizenko

Nadieszda Kizenko
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: History


Expert in the following: Russia; Ukraine; Orthodox Christianity; Russian Orthodoxy; Eastern Orthodox Christianity; confession; religion in Russian culture
Campus phone: (518) 442-5357
Campus email: nkizenko@albany.edu


Steven Leibo

Steven Leibo
College of Arts and Sciences
Lecturer
Department: History


Expert in the following: Modern China and globalization; U.S. China relations; Asian-Western relations; Vietnam; Southeast Asia; international politics; modern world history.
Campus phone: (518) 244-2330
Campus email: sleibo@albany.edu


Hans Pohlsander

Hans Pohlsander
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor Emeritus
Department: Office of the Dean, College of Arts and Sciences


Expert in the following: History; 19th Century Germany; German monuments.
Campus phone: (518) 956-8150
Campus email: hpohlsander@albany.edu


Sean Rafferty

Sean Rafferty
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Anthropology


Expert in the following: Ancient tobacco; shamanism; Native American smoking pipes; archaeology of eastern North America; archaeology of New York State; cultural resource management.
Campus phone: (518) 442-4713
Campus email: srafferty@albany.edu


Ibram Rogers

Ibram Rogers
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Africana Studies


Expert in the following: Diversity; higher education; racism; affirmative action; race & education; student activism; black history; Africana Studies; black politics; human rights
Campus phone: (518) 442-4729
Campus email: irogers@albany.edu


Kendra Smith-Howard

Kendra Smith-Howard
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: History


Expert in the following: History of dairy farming; history of food; history of public health; history of pesticides/antibiotics in agriculture
Campus phone: (518) 442-5375
Campus email: ksmith-howard@albany.edu


Marcia Sutherland

Marcia Sutherland
Department: Africana Studies
Department: Psychology


Expert in the following: Social and psychological development of black children, inclusiveness of education, transracial adoption, HIV/AIDS and people of African descent, enslavement and colonial experiences of people of African descent, black studies, mock jury trials, nonverbal behavior of people of African descent
Campus phone: (518) 442-4727
Campus email: msutherland@albany.edu


Stuart Swiny

Stuart Swiny
Associate Professor
Department: Anthropology
Department: Director


Expert in the following: History of ancient Greece; Islamic art and architecture; art and architecture of the ancient world up to the Etruscans; eastern Mediterranean and Cyprus
Campus phone: (518) 442-3982
Campus email: sswiny@albany.edu


Barry Trachtenberg

Barry Trachtenberg
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: History


Expert in the following: Holocaust; modern Jewish history; antisemitism; Yiddish
Campus phone: (518) 442-3078
Campus email: btrachtenberg@albany.edu


Oscar Williams

Oscar Williams
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Africana Studies


Expert in the following: African American history and literature; American slavery; black nationalism; black conservatism; slavery in New York.
Campus phone: (518) 442-4593
Campus email: owilliams@albany.edu