Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Higher Education
 

Elizabeth Berman

Elizabeth Berman
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Sociology


Expert in the following: U.S. universities; U.S. patent policy; biotech entrepreneurship; economic sociology
Campus phone: (518) 442-4675
Campus email: epberman@albany.edu


Joseph Burke

Joseph Burke
University at Albany
Senior Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: Education; higher education
Campus phone: (518) 443-5835
Campus email: jburke@albany.edu


Dolores Cimini

Dolores Cimini
Department: University Counseling Center


Expert in the following:

Psychology; mental health issues; suicide prevention; alcohol and other drug abuse prevention in college students; peer counseling and peer education; college student hotlines; peer theater programs; disability issues.

Dr. Cimini is an expert in combating harmful behavior patterns and practices that individuals use during times of stress.


Campus phone: (518) 442-5800
Campus email: dcimini@albany.edu


Thomas Gais

Thomas Gais
University at Albany
Director
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: Education; Federalism; government reform; higher education; social service spending; welfare reform
Campus phone: (518) 443-5238
Campus email: tgais@albany.edu


Thomas Gebhardt

Thomas Gebhardt
University Offices
Department: University Police Department


Expert in the following: Personal safety and off-campus affairs; environmental management approach to safety and behavior off campus; college drinking: responsible retailer involvement; building and sustaining successful campus-community collaboratives; social norms campaigns with long term neighbors; safety off campus; neighborhood watch programs; town-gown relations
Campus phone: (518) 442-3130
Campus email: tgebhardt@albany.edu


Kevin Kinser

Kevin Kinser
School of Education
Associate Professor
Department: Educational Administration and Policy Studies


Expert in the following: For-profit (proprietary) higher education; international higher education policy, higher education quality assurance
Campus phone: (518) 442-5080
Campus email: kkinser@albany.edu



        Jason Lane

Jason Lane
School of Education
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: Higher Education: Accountability, Public Policy, Globalization and Internationalization
Campus phone: (518) 443-5825
Campus email: jlane@albany.edu



        Hal Lawson

Hal Lawson
School of Social Welfare
Professor
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: School-family-community partnerships; child welfare; interprofessional collaboration
Campus phone: (518) 442-5355
Campus email: hlawson@albany.edu


Daniel Levy

Daniel Levy
School of Education
Distinguished Professor
Department: Educational Administration and Policy Studies


Expert in the following: International higher education; higher education policy and politics; private higher education; Latin American & Mexican politics
Campus phone: (518) 442-5177
Campus email: dlevy@albany.edu


Maritza Martinez

Maritza Martinez
University Offices


Expert in the following: At-risk students; diversity; conflict resolution; motivation; student success; community relations; effective study strategies; social work; women's issues; coalition building; the importance of mentoring.
Campus phone: (518) 442-5180
Campus email: mmartinez@albany.edu


Lee McElroy

Lee McElroy
Vice President for Athletic Administration/
Director of Intercollegiate Athletics


Expert in the following: NCAA Division I athletics; NCAA governance; race and equity in sports.
Campus phone: (518) 442-2562
Campus email: lmcelroy@albany.edu


Ibram Rogers

Ibram Rogers
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Africana Studies


Expert in the following: Diversity; higher education; racism; affirmative action; race & education; student activism; black history; Africana Studies; black politics; human rights
Campus phone: (518) 442-4729
Campus email: irogers@albany.edu


David Shaffer

David Shaffer
University at Albany
Senior Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: Economic development; higher education; workforce development
Campus phone: (518) 443-5284
Campus email: dshaffer@albany.edu



        Peter Shea

Peter Shea
School of Education
Associate Professor
Department: Educational Theory and Practice


Expert in the following: higher education; online learning; k-12 education
Campus phone: (518) 442-4009
Campus email: pshea@albany.edu


Noah Simon

Noah Simon
University Offices
Department: Office of Career Services


Expert in the following: Career analysis; assessment and options identification; design of individualized career development plans; creation of marketing materials, including resume and cover letters; interview training and salary negotiation
Campus phone: (518) 437-4927
Campus email: nsimon@albany.edu


Bruce Svare

Bruce Svare
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Psychology


Expert in the following: Steroid abuse among athletes (Olympic, professional, collegiate, high school, youth); early specialization and professionalization of young athletes; overemphasis on winning; material rewards (e.g., athletics scholarships and professional contracts); academic corruption in high schools and colleges; increasing of performance enhancing drugs; declining sportsmanship; violence exhibited by athletes, coaches, parents, and fans; media coverage of young athletes; sports gambling; Title IX; increasing abandonment of intramural, recreational, and fitness-based needs of kids; rising obesity; increasing incidents of sports injury, burnout, and overtraining of young athletes
Campus phone: (518) 442-4848
Campus email: bsvare@albany.edu


Kristen Wilcox

Kristen Wilcox
School of Education
Department: Educational Theory and Practice


Expert in the following: Second language acquisition; foreign language acquisition; teaching English to speakers of other languages (TESOL); multicultural education; diversity in education.
Campus phone: (518) 442-9085
Campus email: kwilcox1@albany.edu