Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Health
 

Elise Andaya

Elise Andaya
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Anthropology


Expert in the following: Cuba and political/economic changes; reproductive health; reproductive technologies; cross-cultural ideas of family; gender; sexuality
Campus phone: (518) 442-4224
Campus email: eandaya@albany.edu


Drew Anderson

Drew Anderson
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Psychology


Expert in the following: Eating disorders; anorexia; bulimia; binge eating; body image; obesity; weight loss; dieting; psychology; mental health
Campus phone: (518) 442- 4835
Campus email: daanderson@albany.edu


Mary Applegate

Mary Applegate
School of Public Health
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Department: Director
Department: New York State Preventive Medicine Residency Program


Expert in the following: Reproductive health; family planning; adolescent pregnancy; sexuality; maternal and child health; breastfeeding promotion; preventive medicine; public health
Campus phone: (518) 402-0283
Campus email: mapplegate@albany.edu


Bryon Backenson

Bryon Backenson
School of Public Health
Assistant Professor
Department: Epidemiology and Biostatistics


Expert in the following: Communicable disease outbreak response and investigation; West Nile virus and other mosquito-borne diseases; Lyme disease and other tick-borne diseases; foodborne and waterborne diseases; surveillance of infectious diseases.
Campus phone: (518) 473-4439
Campus email: bpb01@health.state.ny.us


Thomas Begley

Thomas Begley
College of Nanoscale Science and Engineering
Associate Professor
Department: Nanobioscience


Expert in the following: Environmental health; cancer research; genetic susceptibility; biological engineering; molecular biology
Campus phone: (518) 437-8683
Campus email: tbegley@albany.edu


Michael Bloom

Michael Bloom
School of Public Health
Assistant Professor
Department: Environmental Health Sciences
Department: Assistant Professor
Department: Epidemiology and Biostatistics


Expert in the following: Effects of toxic environmental agents; epidemiology; human reproduction and fertility
Campus phone: (518) 473-1821
Campus email: mbloom@albany.edu


David Carpenter

David Carpenter
School of Public Health
Director
Department: Institute for Health and the Environment
Department: Environmental Health Sciences


Expert in the following: Human health effects of environmental contaminants, including metals and organic compounds.
Campus phone: (518) 525-2660
Campus email: dcarpenter@albany.edu


Pinka Chatterji

Pinka Chatterji
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Economics


Expert in the following: Health economics
Campus phone: (518) 442-4746
Campus email: pchatterji@albany.edu


Kristin Christodulu

Kristin Christodulu
College of Arts and Sciences
Department: Psychology


Expert in the following: Autism spectrum disorders, developmental disabilities, challenging behavior, positive behavior support, sleep disturbances
Campus phone: (518) 442-5132
Campus email: kvchristodulu@albany.edu


Mary Gallant

Mary Gallant
School of Public Health
Associate Professor
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior


Expert in the following: Aging; health promotion chronic illness management; social support; public health
Campus phone: (518) 402-0333
Campus email: mgallant@albany.edu


Edward Hannan

Edward Hannan
School of Public Health
Distinguished Professor
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Health services research; evidence-based medicine; outcomes research; cardiac surgery; angioplasty, trauma systems; carotid endarterectomy; volume-outcome relationships in health care; medical decision-making; risk-adjustment; medical errors; patient safety
Campus phone: (518) 402-0297
Campus email: ehannan@albany.edu


Akiko Hosler

Akiko Hosler
School of Public Health
Assistant Professor
Department: Epidemiology and Biostatistics


Expert in the following: Diabetes; obesity; smoking; nutrition; Japan
Campus phone: (518) 402-1561
Campus email: ahosler@albany.edu


Janine Jurkowski

Janine Jurkowski
School of Public Health
Associate Professor
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior


Expert in the following:
Campus phone: (518) 402-0420
Campus email: jjurkowski@albany.edu


Richard Kirsch

Richard Kirsch
University at Albany
Institute Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: health reform; managed care in New York State
Campus phone: (518) 443-5827
Campus email: rkirsch@rooseveltinstitute.org


Jennifer Manganello

Jennifer Manganello
School of Public Health
Associate Professor
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior


Expert in the following: Health communication; health disparities; mass media; social media; media campaigns; health information seeking; health literacy.
Campus phone: (518) 402-0333
Campus email: jmanganello@albany.edu


Erika Martin

Erika Martin
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Assistant Professor
Department: Public Administration and Policy
Department: Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: health, public health, public policy, HIV/AIDS, resource allocation
Campus phone: (518) 442-5243
Campus email: emartin@albany.edu


Kristi McClamroch

Kristi McClamroch
School of Public Health
Assistant Professor
Department: Epidemiology and Biostatistics


Expert in the following: Epidemiology; sexually transmitted infections (STI); HIV; sex work; Haiti; Madagascar; the Democratic Republic of Congo.
Campus phone: (518) 402-0397
Campus email: kmcclamroch@albany.edu



Expert in the following:
Campus phone: (518)
Campus email:


Philip Nasca

Philip Nasca
School of Public Health
Dean


Expert in the following: Etiological studies of breast cancer; cancer of the female reproductive organs; childhood cancers; nursing; cancer epidemiology.
Campus phone: (518) 402-0283
Campus email: pnasca@albany.edu


Claudia Ricci

Claudia Ricci
College of Arts and Sciences
Lecturer
Department: English


Expert in the following: Journalism; blogging; health and environmental reporting; creative writing; fiction writing; writing and healing
Campus phone: (518) 442-5189
Campus email: cricci@albany.edu


Lawrence Schell

Lawrence Schell
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Anthropology
Department: Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Director
Center for the Elimination of Minority Health Disparities


Expert in the following: Anthropology; minority health disparities; epidemiology; biostatistics; childhood development; environmental health; risk factors
Campus phone: (518) 442-4714
Campus email: lmschell@albany.edu


Hua Shi

Hua Shi
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Biological Sciences


Expert in the following: Molecular and cellular biology of transcription and signal transduction; aptamer-mediated multi-pathway control in living organisms; forward engineering approach to drug discovery and development
Campus phone: (518) 442-4767
Campus email: hshi@albany.edu


Carol Stenger

Carol Stenger
Sexuality Counselor
Department: University Counseling Center


Expert in the following: Sexuality; sexual health; sex education; European approaches to sex education; AIDS/HIV; sexually transmitted diseases and infections; adolescent sexuality; Internet pornography
Campus phone: (518) 442-5896
Campus email: cstenger@albany.edu


Kate Strully

Kate Strully
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Sociology


Expert in the following: Health and poverty; low birth weight; health and unemployment
Campus phone: (518) 442-4686
Campus email: kstrully@albany.edu


Martin Tenniswood

Martin Tenniswood
School of Public Health
Empire Innovation Professor
Department: Biomedical Sciences


Expert in the following: Chemoprevention of prostate cancer; therapies for prostate and breast cancer; diet and prostate cancer
Campus phone: (518) 591-7231
Campus email: mtenniswood@albany.edu


Peter Vellis

Peter Vellis
University at Albany
Director
Department: University Health Center


Expert in the following: Family medicine, sports medicine, prevention-based education, osteopathic medicine, on-campus risk assessment of threatening communicable diseases
Campus phone: (518) 442-5454
Campus email: pvellis@albany.edu


Wendy Weller

Wendy Weller
School of Public Health
Associate Professor
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior


Expert in the following: Financing and access to care; health reform; medical outcomes; provider payment
Campus phone: (518) 402-0302
Campus email: wweller@albany.edu


JoEllen Welsh

JoEllen Welsh
School of Public Health
Department: Biomedical Sciences


Expert in the following: Nutrition and cancer; hormones; vitamin D; breast cancer
Campus phone: (518) 591-7232
Campus email: jwelsh@albany.edu


Dwight Williams

Dwight Williams
School of Public Health
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior
Department: Director


Expert in the following: Public health leadership, health disparities, engaging community-based organizations in public health academia and practice.
Campus phone: (518) 402-0370
Campus email: dwilliams2@albany.edu