Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Health
 


        Elise Andaya

Elise Andaya
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Anthropology


Expert in the following: Cuba and political/economic changes; reproductive health; reproductive technologies; cross-cultural ideas of family; gender; sexuality
Campus phone: (518) (518) 442-4224
Campus email: eandaya@albany.edu



        Drew Anderson

Drew Anderson
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Psychology


Expert in the following: Eating disorders; anorexia; bulimia; binge eating; body image; obesity; weight loss; dieting; psychology; mental health
Campus phone: (518) (518) 442- 4835
Campus email: daanderson@albany.edu



        Mary Applegate

Mary Applegate
School of Public Health
Professor
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior


Expert in the following: Reproductive health; family planning; adolescent pregnancy; sexuality; maternal and child health; breastfeeding promotion; preventive medicine; public health
Campus phone: (518) (518) 402-0283
Campus email: mapplegate@albany.edu



        Bryon Backenson

Bryon Backenson
School of Public Health
Assistant Professor
Department: Epidemiology and Biostatistics


Expert in the following: Communicable disease outbreak response and investigation; West Nile virus and other mosquito-borne diseases; Lyme disease and other tick-borne diseases; foodborne and waterborne diseases; surveillance of infectious diseases
Campus phone: (518) (518) 473-4439
Campus email: bpb01@health.state.ny.us



        Michael Bloom

Michael Bloom
School of Public Health
Associate Professor
Department: Environmental Health Sciences


Expert in the following: Effects of toxic environmental agents; epidemiology; human reproduction and fertility
Campus phone: (518) 473-1821
Campus email: mbloom@albany.edu



        David Carpenter

David Carpenter
School of Public Health
Director
Department: Institute for Health and the Environment


Expert in the following: Human health effects of environmental contaminants, including metals and organic compounds
Campus phone: (518) (518) 525-2660
Campus email: dcarpenter@albany.edu



        Keith Chan

Keith Chan
School of Social Welfare
Assistant Professor
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Acculturation; immigrant health; elderly Asian Americans
Campus phone: (518) 442-2589
Campus email: kchan3@albany.edu


Pinka Chatterji

Pinka Chatterji
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Economics


Expert in the following: Health economics
Campus phone: (518) 442-4746
Campus email: pchatterji@albany.edu


Kristin Christodulu

Kristin Christodulu
College of Arts and Sciences
Department: Psychology


Expert in the following: Autism spectrum disorders, developmental disabilities, challenging behavior, positive behavior support, sleep disturbances
Campus phone: (518) 442-5132
Campus email: kvchristodulu@albany.edu


Mary Gallant

Mary Gallant
School of Public Health
Associate Professor
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior


Expert in the following: Aging; health promotion chronic illness management; social support; public health
Campus phone: (518) 402-0333
Campus email: mgallant@albany.edu


Edward Hannan

Edward Hannan
School of Public Health
Distinguished Professor
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Health services research; evidence-based medicine; outcomes research; cardiac surgery; angioplasty, trauma systems; carotid endarterectomy; volume-outcome relationships in health care; medical decision-making; risk-adjustment; medical errors; patient safety
Campus phone: (518) 402-0297
Campus email: ehannan@albany.edu



        Jason Herschkowitz

Jason Herschkowitz
School of Public Health
Assistant Professor
Department: Cancer Research Center


Expert in the following: Cancer; RNA; stem cells; therapy-resistant cancer cells
Campus phone: (518) 591-7204
Campus email: jherschkowitz@albany.edu



        Julia M. Hormes

Julia M. Hormes
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Psychology


Expert in the following: Psychology of human food choice, eating behaviors, food preferences and aversions, cultural differences in eating behaviors, eating disorders, overweight and obesity, cravings, food cravings, chocolate craving, perimenstrual and pregnancy cravings, addictive behaviors, behavioral addictions (e.g., to online social networking and video game use)
Campus phone: (518) (518) 442-4911
Campus email: jhormes@albany.edu


Akiko Hosler

Akiko Hosler
School of Public Health
Assistant Professor
Department: Epidemiology and Biostatistics


Expert in the following: Diabetes; obesity; smoking; nutrition; Japan
Campus phone: (518) 402-1561
Campus email: ahosler@albany.edu


Janine Jurkowski

Janine Jurkowski
School of Public Health
Associate Professor
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior


Expert in the following:
Campus phone: (518) 402-0420
Campus email: jjurkowski@albany.edu



        Haider A. Khwaja

Haider A. Khwaja
School of Public Health
Assistant Professor
Department: Environmental Health Sciences


Expert in the following: acid rain; cloud water chemistry; water and human health issues; health impacts of air pollution

Campus phone: (518) 474-0516
Campus email: hkhwaja@albany.edu


Jennifer Manganello

Jennifer Manganello
School of Public Health
Associate Professor
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior


Expert in the following: Health communication; health disparities; mass media; social media; media campaigns; health information seeking; health literacy.
Campus phone: (518) 402-0333
Campus email: jmanganello@albany.edu



        Erika Martin

Erika Martin
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Assistant Professor
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Public health policy, HIV/AIDS, resource allocation
Campus phone: (518) (518) 442-5243
Campus email: emartin@albany.edu



        Roxana Moslehi

Roxana Moslehi
School of Public Health
Associate Professor
Department: Cancer Research Center


Expert in the following: Genetic Epidemiology; Cancer Epidemiology and Genetics; Cancer Genetic Susceptibility; Breast and Ovarian Cancer (BRCA) Genes; DNA Repair Genes; Role of Cancer Genes in Fetal and Placental Development; Gene-Environment Interactions; Family-Based and Genome-Wide Linkage and Association Studies
Campus phone: (518) 591-7225
Campus email: rmoslehi@albany.edu


Philip Nasca

Philip Nasca
School of Public Health
Dean


Expert in the following: Etiological studies of breast cancer; cancer of the female reproductive organs; childhood cancers; nursing; cancer epidemiology.
Campus phone: (518) 402-0283
Campus email: pnasca@albany.edu



        Cara Pager

Cara Pager
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Biological Sciences


Expert in the following: Liver disease; Hepatitis C; RNA therapies; virus-host interactions; translational control, replication and assembly of RNA viruses
Campus phone: (518) 591-8841
Campus email: ctpager@albany.edu


Claudia Ricci

Claudia Ricci
College of Arts and Sciences
Lecturer
Department: English


Expert in the following: Journalism; blogging; health and environmental reporting; creative writing; fiction writing; writing and healing
Campus phone: (518) 442-5189
Campus email: cricci@albany.edu



        Lawrence Schell

Lawrence Schell
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Anthropology


Expert in the following: Anthropology; minority health disparities; epidemiology; biostatistics; childhood development; environmental health; risk factors
Campus phone: (518) (518) 442-4714
Campus email: lmschell@albany.edu


Hua Shi

Hua Shi
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Biological Sciences


Expert in the following: Molecular and cellular biology of transcription and signal transduction; aptamer-mediated multi-pathway control in living organisms; forward engineering approach to drug discovery and development
Campus phone: (518) 442-4767
Campus email: hshi@albany.edu


Carol Stenger

Carol Stenger
Sexuality Counselor
Department: University Counseling Center


Expert in the following: Sexuality; sexual health; sex education; European approaches to sex education; AIDS/HIV; sexually transmitted diseases and infections; adolescent sexuality; Internet pornography
Campus phone: (518) 442-5896
Campus email: cstenger@albany.edu



        Kate Strully

Kate Strully
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Sociology


Expert in the following: Health and poverty; low birth weight; health and unemployment
Campus phone: (518) 442-4686
Campus email: kstrully@albany.edu


Martin Tenniswood

Martin Tenniswood
School of Public Health
Empire Innovation Professor
Department: Biomedical Sciences


Expert in the following: Chemoprevention of prostate cancer; therapies for prostate and breast cancer; diet and prostate cancer
Campus phone: (518) 591-7231
Campus email: mtenniswood@albany.edu



        Wendy Weller

Wendy Weller
School of Public Health
Associate Professor
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior


Expert in the following: Financing and access to care; health reform; medical outcomes; provider payment
Campus phone: (518) (518) 402-0302
Campus email: wweller@albany.edu


JoEllen Welsh

JoEllen Welsh
School of Public Health
Department: Biomedical Sciences


Expert in the following: Nutrition and cancer; hormones; vitamin D; breast cancer
Campus phone: (518) 591-7232
Campus email: jwelsh@albany.edu


Dwight Williams

Dwight Williams
School of Public Health
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior
Department: Director


Expert in the following: Public health leadership, health disparities, engaging community-based organizations in public health academia and practice.
Campus phone: (518) 402-0370
Campus email: dwilliams2@albany.edu



        Lei Zhu

Lei Zhu
School of Public Health
Department: Environmental Health Sciences


Expert in the following: Statistics; pollution and health
Campus phone: (518) (518) 474-6846
Campus email: lzhu@albany.edu