Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Government
 

Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Senior Associate
Department: Center for International Development


Expert in the following: Balkans (Croatia, Serbia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Kosovo); Politics; Comparative Legislative Development; Foreign Assistance; Peace Operations and Post-Conflict Reconstruction
Campus phone: 443-5261
Campus email: mbaskin@albany.edu



        Peter Bloniarz

Peter Bloniarz
College of Computing and Information
Dean
Department: Office of the Dean, College of Computing and Information


Expert in the following: Informatics; information technology; information science; e-governance
Campus phone: 956-8240
Campus email: p.bloniarz@albany.edu



        Donald J. Boyd

Donald J. Boyd
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Senior Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: Fiscal health; policies of states
Campus phone: (518) 677-5011
Campus email: dboyd@albany.edu



        G. Brian Burke

G. Brian Burke
University at Albany
Department: Center for Technology in Government


Expert in the following: Managing and preserving government electronic information; assessing the value of government information technology investments; Cross-boundary and multi-organizational information sharing in government
Campus phone: 442-3895
Campus email: gburke2@albany.edu



        Donna Canestraro

Donna Canestraro
University at Albany
Department: Center for Technology in Government


Expert in the following: Systems/data integration; business process analysis; information architecture
Campus phone: 442-3892
Campus email: dcanestraro@albany.edu



        John Cape

John Cape
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Senior Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: State and local government finance and policy
Campus phone: (518) 443-5835
Campus email: capej@rockinst.org



        Meghan Cook

Meghan Cook
University at Albany
Department: Center for Technology in Government


Expert in the following: Intergovernmental relations and county and municipal government information management; Information sharing and integration; facilitation and cross-boundary collaborative work
Campus phone: 442-4443
Campus email: mecook@albany.edu



        Lucy Dadayan

Lucy Dadayan
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: Fiscal health/policies of states; k-12 education system in New York; workforce investment
Campus phone: (518) 443-5828
Campus email: ldadayan@albany.edu



        Sharon Dawes

Sharon Dawes
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Senior Fellow
Department: Center for Technology in Government


Expert in the following: Government information systems strategy and management; policy analysis; information management and policy
Campus phone: (518) 442-3892
Campus email: sdawes@albany.edu



        James Fossett

James Fossett
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Associate Professor
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Health care policy; bioethics; federalism; Medicaid
Campus phone: (518) 443-5846
Campus email: jfossett@albany.edu



        Thomas L. Gais

Thomas L. Gais
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Director
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: Education; Federalism; government reform; higher education; social service spending; welfare reform
Campus phone: (518) 443-5238
Campus email: tgais@albany.edu



        David Guinn

David Guinn
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Senior Associate
Department: Center for International Development


Expert in the following: International development in democracy and governance; international public law; human rights; intellectual property; human trafficking; religion and violence; post-conflict, and multicultural and religious pluralism
Campus phone: 443-2716
Campus email: dguinn@albany.edu



        Yvonne Harrison

Yvonne Harrison
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Assistant Professor
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Governance and leadership of nonprofit organizations, nonprofit technology adoption and diffusion, organization theory, partnerships, academic service learning
Campus phone: (518) 442-4001
Campus email: yharrison@albany.edu



        Natalie Helbig

Natalie Helbig
University at Albany
Department: Center for Technology in Government


Expert in the following: Understanding information use and management in public organizations; mobile technologies; social media; the digital divide; open government and transparency; fostering research-practice partnerships
Campus phone: 442-4813
Campus email: nhelbig@albany.edu



        Jana Hrdinova

Jana Hrdinova
University at Albany
Program Associate
Department: Center for Technology in Government


Expert in the following: Policy and policy analysis; international relations; current practice research; survey design; project development; mobile technology; enterprise IT governance and administration
Campus phone: 442-3892
Campus email: jhrdinova@albany.edu



        Ryan Irwin

Ryan Irwin
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: History


Expert in the following: American foreign relations; globalization; international organizations; decolonization
Campus phone: 442-5379
Campus email: rirwin@albany.edu



        Michael Malbin

Michael Malbin
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Professor
Department: Political Science


Expert in the following: U.S. politics and elections, campaign finance, and the U.S. Congress
Campus phone: (202) 969-8890
Campus email: mmalbin@albany.edu



        David Matkin

David Matkin
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Assistant Professor
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Public budgeting; state budgets; public pension systems
Campus phone: (518) 442-5279
Campus email: dmatkin@albany.edu



        Richard Nathan

Richard Nathan
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Disaster recovery; federalism; government reform; social service spending; welfare reform
Campus phone: (518) 443-5522
Campus email: rnathan@albany.edu



        Theresa Pardo

Theresa Pardo
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Director
Department: Center for Technology in Government


Expert in the following: Information technology innovation in the public sector; electronic records management; interagency and intergovernmental information sharing and integration; information technology business case planning and development
Campus phone: 442-3984
Campus email: tpardo@albany.edu



        David Rousseau

David Rousseau
College of Emergency Preparedness, Homeland Security and Cybersecurity
Department: Political Science


Expert in the following: International relations; foreign policy; shared identity and military conflict; political development
Campus phone: (518) 442-5245
Campus email: drousseau@albany.edu



        Christine Sgarlata Chung

Christine Sgarlata Chung
University at Albany
Co-Director
Department: Institute for Financial Market Regulation


Expert in the following: Business litigation; securities and white collar crime; compliance and risk management
Campus phone: (518) 445-3249
Campus email: cchung@albanylaw.edu



        F. David Sheppard

F. David Sheppard
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Public Service Professor
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Homeland security; terrorism; preventing terrorist attacks; disaster response

Campus phone: (518) 442-5258
Campus email: fsheppard@albany.edu



        Michael Stone

Michael Stone
University at Albany
Co-Director
Department: Institute for Financial Market Regulation


Expert in the following: Corporate governance; securities regulation, judicial ethics
Campus phone: (212) 790-0257
Campus email: mikestone09@aol.com



        Frank Thompson

Frank Thompson
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Professor Emeritus
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Health care policy and implementation; Medicaid; federalism and health care policy
Campus phone: (518) 443-5522
Campus email: fthompson@albany.edu



        Lawrence Wittner

Lawrence Wittner
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor Emeritus
Department: History


Expert in the following: U.S. foreign policy; nuclear weapons policy; nuclear arms control and disarmament; peace movements; peace activism
Campus phone: (518) 869-1083
Campus email: lwittner@albany.edu



        Theodore Wright Jr.

Theodore Wright Jr.
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Professor Emeritus
Department: Political Science


Expert in the following: Politics; policies; foreign policies of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh; minorities, especially Muslims in India; attitudes towards events in the Middle East; Islam as a religion; comparative ethnicity; Dutch in colonial Albany, N.Y.
Campus phone: (518) 442-5255
Campus email: twright@albany.edu



        Joseph Zimmerman

Joseph Zimmerman
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Professor Emeritus
Department: Political Science


Expert in the following: Electoral systems; federalism; the impact of elections on minorities and women
Campus phone: (518) 439-9440
Campus email: jzimmerman@albany.edu