Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Government
 


        Mark Baskin

Mark Baskin
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Senior Associate
Department: Center for International Development


Expert in the following: Balkans (Croatia, Serbia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Kosovo); Politics; Comparative Legislative Development; Foreign Assistance; Peace Operations and Post-Conflict Reconstruction
Campus phone: (518) 443-5261
Campus email: mbaskin@albany.edu



        Peter Bloniarz

Peter Bloniarz
College of Computing and Information
Dean
Department: Office of the Dean, College of Computing and Information


Expert in the following: Informatics; information technology; information science; e-governance
Campus phone: (518) 956-8240
Campus email: p.bloniarz@albany.edu


Donald Boyd

Donald Boyd
University at Albany
Senior Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: Fiscal health; policies of states
Campus phone: (518) 677-5011
Campus email: dboyd@albany.edu



        G. Brian Burke

G. Brian Burke
University at Albany
Department: Center for Technology in Government


Expert in the following: Managing and preserving government electronic information; assessing the value of government information technology investments; Cross-boundary and multi-organizational information sharing in government
Campus phone: (518) 442-3895
Campus email: gburke2@albany.edu



        Donna Canestraro

Donna Canestraro
University at Albany
Department: Center for Technology in Government


Expert in the following: Systems/data integration; business process analysis; information architecture
Campus phone: (518) 442-3892
Campus email: dcanestraro@albany.edu


John Cape

John Cape
University at Albany
Senior Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: State- and local-government finance and policy
Campus phone: (518) 443-5835
Campus email: capej@rockinst.org



        Meghan Cook

Meghan Cook
University at Albany
Department: Center for Technology in Government


Expert in the following: Intergovernmental relations and county and municipal government information management; Information sharing and integration; facilitation and cross-boundary collaborative work
Campus phone: (518) 442-4443
Campus email: mecook@albany.edu


School of Education
Senior Fellow
Department: Center for Technology in Government


Expert in the following: Organizational studies; research methods; the role of information in organizational action and innovation
Campus phone: (518) 442-3892
Campus email: acresswell@albany.edu


Lucy Dadayan

Lucy Dadayan
University at Albany
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: fiscal health/policies of states; k-12 education system in New York; workforce investment
Campus phone: (518) 443-5828
Campus email: ldadayan@albany.edu


Sharon Dawes

Sharon Dawes
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Associate Professor Emerita
Department: Public Administration and Policy
Department: Founding Director and Senior Fellow
Department: Center for Technology in Government


Expert in the following: Government information systems strategy and management; policy analysis; information management and policy
Campus phone: (518) 442-5932
Campus email: sdawes@albany.edu


James Fossett

James Fossett
University at Albany
Senior Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government
Department: Associate Professor
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Health care policy; bioethics; federalism; Medicaid 
Campus phone: (518) 443-5846
Campus email: jfossett@albany.edu


Thomas Gais

Thomas Gais
University at Albany
Director
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: Education; Federalism; government reform; higher education; social service spending; welfare reform
Campus phone: (518) 443-5238
Campus email: tgais@albany.edu


Yvonne Harrison

Yvonne Harrison
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Assistant Professor
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: governance and leadership of nonprofit organizations, nonprofit technology adoption and diffusion, organization theory, partnerships, academic service learning
Campus phone: (518) 442-4001
Campus email: yharrison@albany.edu



        Natalie Helbig

Natalie Helbig
University at Albany
Department: Center for Technology in Government


Expert in the following: Understanding information use and management in public organizations; mobile technologies; social media; the digital divide; open government and transparency; fostering research-practice partnerships
Campus phone: (518) 442-4813
Campus email: nhelbig@albany.edu



        Jana Hrdinova

Jana Hrdinova
University at Albany
Program Associate
Department: Center for Technology in Government


Expert in the following: Policy and policy analysis; international relations; current practice research; survey design; project development; mobile technology; enterprise IT governance and administration
Campus phone: (518) 442-3892
Campus email: jhrdinova@albany.edu


Richard Kirsch

Richard Kirsch
University at Albany
Institute Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: health reform; managed care in New York State
Campus phone: (518) 443-5827
Campus email: rkirsch@rooseveltinstitute.org


Michael Malbin

Michael Malbin
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Professor
Department: Political Science


Expert in the following: U.S. politics and elections, campaign finance, and the U.S. Congress.
Campus phone: (518) 969-8890, ext. 15
Campus email: mmalbin@albany.edu


Richard Nathan

Richard Nathan
University at Albany
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government
Department: Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Disaster recovery; federalism; government reform; social service spending; welfare reform
Campus phone: (518) 443-5522
Campus email: rnathan@albany.edu



        Theresa Pardo

Theresa Pardo
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Director
Department: Center for Technology in Government


Expert in the following: Information technology innovation in the public sector; electronic records management; interagency and intergovernmental information sharing and integration; information technology business case planning and development
Campus phone: (518) 442-3984
Campus email: tpardo@albany.edu


Robert Purtell

Robert Purtell
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Assistant Professor
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: public asset valuation, privatization; public-private partnerships; government finance; financial market regulation; capital markets
Campus phone: (518) 442-5276
Campus email: rpurtell@albany.edu


David Rousseau

David Rousseau
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Associate Professor
Department: Political Science


Expert in the following: International relations; foreign policy; shared identity and military conflict; political development
Campus phone: (518) 442-5279
Campus email: drousseau@albany.edu


Malcolm Russell-Einhorn

Malcolm Russell-Einhorn
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Research Professor
Department: Director
Department: Center for International Development


Expert in the following: U.S. and Comparative Administrative Law and Administrative Justice; Legal and Regulatory Reform in Developing Countries; Law and Economic Development; Legislative/Parliamentary Strengthening in Developing Countries; Civic Engagement/Public Participation in Policymaking; Anti-Corruption Strategies; Foreign Assistance and Aid Effectiveness
Campus phone: (518) 443-5124
Campus email: mrussell-einhorn@albany.edu


Christine Sgarlata Chung

Christine Sgarlata Chung
University at Albany
Co-Director
Department: Institute for Financial Market Regulation
Department: Assistant Clinical Professor


Expert in the following: Business litigation; securities and white collar crime; compliance and risk management
Campus phone: (518) 445-3249
Campus email: cchung@albanylaw.edu


Michael Stone

Michael Stone
University at Albany
Co-Director
Department: Institute for Financial Market Regulation
Department: Adjunct Professor


Expert in the following: Corporate governance; securities regulation, judicial ethics
Campus email: mikestone09@aol.com


Frank Thompson

Frank Thompson
Senior Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government
Department: Professor Emeritus
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Health care policy and implementation; Medicaid; federalism and health care policy
Campus phone: (518) 443-5522
Campus email: fthompson@albany.edu


Lawrence Wittner

Lawrence Wittner
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor Emeritus
Department: History


Expert in the following: U.S. foreign policy; nuclear weapons policy; nuclear arms control and disarmament; peace movements; peace activism
Campus phone: (518) 869-1083
Campus email: lwittner@albany.edu


Theodore Wright Jr.

Theodore Wright Jr.
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Professor Emeritus
Department: Political Science


Expert in the following: Politics; policies; foreign policies of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh; minorities, especially Muslims in India; attitudes towards events in the Middle East; Islam as a religion; comparative ethnicity; Dutch in colonial Albany, N.Y.
Campus phone: (518) 442-5255
Campus email: twright@albany.edu


Joseph Zimmerman

Joseph Zimmerman
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Professor
Department: Political Science


Expert in the following: Electoral systems; federalism; the impact of elections on minorities and women
Campus phone: (518) 442-5378
Campus email: jzimmerman@albany.edu