Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Environment
 


        Eric Block

Eric Block
College of Arts and Sciences
Distinguished Professor
Department: Chemistry


Expert in the following: Organic chemistry; food chemistry; garlic, onions and other alliums
Campus phone: (518) 442-4459
Campus email: eblock@albany.edu



        Michael Bloom

Michael Bloom
School of Public Health
Associate Professor
Department: Environmental Health Sciences


Expert in the following: Effects of toxic environmental agents; epidemiology; human reproduction and fertility
Campus phone: 473-1821
Campus email: mbloom@albany.edu



        Ray Bromley

Ray Bromley
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Geography and Planning


Expert in the following: Urban planning; regional planning; urban development; urban renewal; community development; housing policy; neighborhood decline; neighborhood revitalization; abandoned buildings; fire tragedies; micro-enterprise; micro-credit; retail markets; street vendors; Peru; Colombia
Campus phone: (518) 591-8183
Campus email: rbromley@albany.edu



        Jerald Brotzge

Jerald Brotzge
College of Arts and Sciences
Program Manager
Department: New York State Mesonet


Expert in the following: Rader and storm-scale meteorology; weather technology
Campus phone: (518) 442-4556
Campus email: jbrotzge@albany.edu



        David Carpenter

David Carpenter
School of Public Health
Director
Department: Institute for Health and the Environment


Expert in the following: Human health effects of environmental contaminants, including metals and organic compounds
Campus phone: (518) 525-2660
Campus email: dcarpenter@albany.edu



        Liang Chu

Liang Chu
School of Public Health
Associate Professor
Department: Environmental Health Sciences


Expert in the following: Environmental heterogeneous chemistry; surface chemistry
Campus phone: (518) 474-6340
Campus email: lchu@albany.edu



        Kristen Corbosiero

Kristen Corbosiero
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences


Expert in the following: Tropical cyclones; hurricanes; cloud formation; monsoons
Campus phone: 442-5852
Campus email: kcorbosiero@albany.edu



        Aiguo Dai

Aiguo Dai
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences


Expert in the following: Monsoons; climate variability and change; global water cycle; drought; future climate change
Campus phone: 442-4474
Campus email: adai@albany.edu



        Craig Ferguson

Craig Ferguson
College of Arts and Sciences
Research Associate
Department: Atmospheric Sciences Research Center


Expert in the following: Terrestrial hydrology and hydrometeorology; satellite remote sensing; climate reconstruction and predictability; global climate change
Campus phone: 437-8752
Campus email: crferguson@albany.edu



        Jeff Freedman

Jeff Freedman
College of Arts and Sciences
Research Associate
Department: Atmospheric Sciences Research Center


Expert in the following: Wind and solar power production forecasting; resource assessment; weather and climate influences; interaction of wind farms with the atmospheric boundary layer
Campus phone: 437-8737
Campus email: jfreedman@albany.edu



        Sanjay Goel

Sanjay Goel
School of Business
Associate Professor
Department: Information Technology Management


Expert in the following: Information security; hacking; computer forensics; risk analysis; cybersecurity; wireless security; botnets (zombie computers); nanosensor networks; optimization
Campus phone: (518) 956-8323
Campus email: goel@albany.edu



        Vincent Idone

Vincent Idone
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences


Expert in the following: Lightning; atmospheric electricity; thunderstorms
Campus phone: (518) 442-4577
Campus email: vidone@albany.edu



        Roberta Johnson

Roberta Johnson
College of Arts and Sciences
Department: Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences


Expert in the following: Upper atmospheric dynamics; space weather; education and outreach programs
Campus phone: 442-4561
Campus email: rjohnson5@albany.edu



        Everette Joseph

Everette Joseph
College of Arts and Sciences
Director
Department: Atmospheric Sciences Research Center


Expert in the following: Impact of aerosols on climate and weather; satellite use in atmospheric observation; weather, climate and air quality forecasts
Campus phone: 437-8705
Campus email: ejoseph@albany.edu



        Haider A. Khwaja

Haider A. Khwaja
School of Public Health
Assistant Professor
Department: Environmental Health Sciences


Expert in the following: acid rain; cloud water chemistry; water and human health issues; health impacts of air pollution

Campus phone: 474-0516
Campus email: hkhwaja@albany.edu



        Andrea Lang

Andrea Lang
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences


Expert in the following: Synoptic dynamic meteorology; weather-climate interactions; regional weather patterns; forecasting
Campus phone: 442-4558
Campus email: alang@albany.edu



        Andrei Lapenas

Andrei Lapenas
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Geography and Planning


Expert in the following: Global warming; climate change; climatology; Russia
Campus phone: (518) 442-4191
Campus email: alapenas@albany.edu



        Catherine Lawson

Catherine Lawson
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Geography and Planning


Expert in the following: Urban Transportation Data and Information Systems; freight planning; travel behavior and time use; water transport; hazardous materials transport; microsimulation and GIS applications; Big Data
Campus phone: 442-4775
Campus email: lawsonc@albany.edu


Ross Lazear

Ross Lazear
College of Arts and Sciences
Department: Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences


Expert in the following: Weather forecasting; synoptic meteorology (midlatitude weather systems); tropical cyclones
Campus phone: (518) 437-3601
Campus email: rlazear@albany.edu



        Indu Lnu

Indu Lnu
University Offices
Department: Office for Environmental Sustainability


Expert in the following: Energy efficiency and conservation; sustainability; building energy performance
Campus phone: (518) 442-3183
Campus email: ilnu@albany.edu



        Mary Ellen Mallia

Mary Ellen Mallia
University Offices
Director
Department: Office for Environmental Sustainability


Expert in the following: Sustainability; ecological economics; recycling; education; formulating and implementing sustainable practices
Campus phone: (518) 442-2601
Campus email: mmallia@albany.edu



        Scott Miller

Scott Miller
College of Arts and Sciences
Research Associate
Department: Atmospheric Sciences Research Center


Expert in the following: Micrometeorology; field measurements of momentum, heat, water, and trace gas (e.g., carbon dioxide) exchange between the atmosphere and terrestrial ecosystems, lakes, and the ocean
Campus phone: 437-8799
Campus email: smiller@albany.edu



        Justin R. Minder

Justin R. Minder
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences


Expert in the following: Mountain weather and climate; regional climate; mesoscale dynamics; hydrometeorology
Campus phone: 437-3732
Campus email: jminder@albany.edu



        Richard Perez

Richard Perez
University at Albany
Senior Research Associate
Department: Atmospheric Sciences Research Center


Expert in the following: Solar and renewable energy; environment; economics
Campus phone: (518) 437-8751
Campus email: rperez@albany.edu


Claudia Ricci

Claudia Ricci
College of Arts and Sciences
Lecturer
Department: English


Expert in the following: Journalism; blogging; health and environmental reporting; creative writing; fiction writing; writing and healing
Campus phone: (518) 442-5189
Campus email: cricci@albany.edu



        George Robinson

George Robinson
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Biological Sciences


Expert in the following: Botany; forest ecology; watershed ecology; disease ecology; biological conservation; ecological restoration; invasive plant species; science of fall color; origins of chocolate; Campus Environmental Task Force
Campus phone: (518) 442-4302
Campus email: grobinson@albany.edu



        Paul Roundy

Paul Roundy
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences


Expert in the following: Weather patterns; prediction models; tropical cyclone formation; hurricanes
Campus phone: 442-4476
Campus email: proundy@albany.edu



        Lawrence Schell

Lawrence Schell
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Anthropology


Expert in the following: Anthropology; minority health disparities; epidemiology; biostatistics; childhood development; environmental health; risk factors
Campus phone: (518) 442-4714
Campus email: lmschell@albany.edu



        James Schwab

James Schwab
University at Albany
Senior Research Associate
Department: Atmospheric Sciences Research Center


Expert in the following: Air pollution; airborne particulate matter; stratospheric ozone depletion; ground-level ozone pollution; global warming/climate change; environment
Campus phone: (518) 437-8754
Campus email: jschwab@albany.edu



        Kendra Smith-Howard

Kendra Smith-Howard
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: History


Expert in the following: History of dairy farming; history of food; history of public health; history of pesticides/antibiotics in agriculture
Campus phone: (518) 442-5375
Campus email: ksmith-howard@albany.edu



        Brian Tang

Brian Tang
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences


Expert in the following: Tropical cyclones; moisture and tropical disturbances; global variability of tropical disturbances
Campus phone: 442-4572
Campus email: btang@albany.edu



        Chris Thorncroft

Chris Thorncroft
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences


Expert in the following: Tropical weather and climate; monsoons, hurricanes
Campus phone: 442-4555
Campus email: cthorncroft@albany.edu



        Mathias Vuille

Mathias Vuille
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences


Expert in the following: Climate change; global warming
Campus phone: (518) 442-4472
Campus email: mvuille@albany.edu



        Christopher Walcek

Christopher Walcek
University at Albany
Senior Research Associate
Department: Atmospheric Sciences Research Center


Expert in the following: Air Pollution; ozone pollution; global warming; energy and pollution; clouds and climate; cloud physics; acid rain formation
Campus phone: (518) 437-8720
Campus email: cwalcek@albany.edu



        Wei-Chyung Wang

Wei-Chyung Wang
University at Albany
Professor
Department: Atmospheric Sciences Research Center


Expert in the following: Climate modeling and data analysis; global warming; impact of climatic changes on social and economic activities and their policy implications
Campus phone: (518) 437-8708
Campus email: wcwang@albany.edu



        Fangqun Yu

Fangqun Yu
College of Arts and Sciences
Department: Atmospheric Sciences Research Center


Expert in the following: Atmospheric aerosols and global climate impact; air quality; radiation; atmospheric chemistry
Campus phone: 437-8767
Campus email: fyu@albany.edu



        Liming Zhou

Liming Zhou
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences


Expert in the following: Land-surface remote sensing; land-climate interactions; land-surface modeling
Campus phone: 442-4446
Campus email: lzhou@albany.edu



        Lei Zhu

Lei Zhu
School of Public Health
Department: Environmental Health Sciences


Expert in the following: Statistics; pollution and health
Campus phone: (518) 474-6846
Campus email: lzhu@albany.edu