Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Education
 


        Heidi L. Andrade

Heidi L. Andrade
School of Education
Associate Professor
Department: Educational and Counseling Psychology


Expert in the following: Classroom assessment; including rubrics; formative assessment; performance assessment; self-assessment; self-regulated learning
Campus phone: 437-4422
Campus email: handrade@albany.edu



        Joseph Burke

Joseph Burke
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Senior Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: Education; higher education
Campus phone: (518) 443-5835
Campus email: jburke@albany.edu



        Kristin Christodulu

Kristin Christodulu
College of Arts and Sciences
Director
Department: Center for Autism and Related Disabilities


Expert in the following: Autism spectrum disorders, developmental disabilities, challenging behavior, positive behavior support, sleep disturbances
Campus phone: (518) 442-5132
Campus email: kvchristodulu@albany.edu



        Lucy Dadayan

Lucy Dadayan
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: Fiscal health/policies of states; k-12 education system in New York; workforce investment
Campus phone: (518) 443-5828
Campus email: ldadayan@albany.edu



        Thomas L. Gais

Thomas L. Gais
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Director
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: Education; Federalism; government reform; higher education; social service spending; welfare reform
Campus phone: (518) 443-5238
Campus email: tgais@albany.edu



        Virginia Goatley

Virginia Goatley
School of Education
Professor
Department: Literacy Teaching and Learning


Expert in the following: Literacy instruction; literacy/social studies; connections; Teacher Education Accreditation Council (TEAC)
Campus phone: (518) 442-5104
Campus email: vgoatley@albany.edu



        Abbe Herzig

Abbe Herzig
School of Education
Lecturer
Department: Educational Theory and Practice


Expert in the following: Women in science; women in mathematics; minorities in science; people of color in science; mathematics education; diversity equity in education; postgraduate education; statistics in the media; statistical literacy
Campus phone: (518) 442-5020
Campus email: aherzig@albany.edu



        Roberta Johnson

Roberta Johnson
College of Arts and Sciences
Department: Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences


Expert in the following: Upper atmospheric dynamics; space weather; education and outreach programs
Campus phone: 442-4561
Campus email: rjohnson5@albany.edu



        Mansoor Kazi

Mansoor Kazi
School of Social Welfare
Assistant Professor
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Evaluation of human services in U.S., United Kingdom and Finland; social services in New York school systems
Campus phone: 442-5303
Campus email: mkazi@albany.edu



        Kevin Kinser

Kevin Kinser
School of Education
Associate Professor
Department: Educational Administration and Policy Studies


Expert in the following: For-profit (proprietary) higher education; international higher education policy, higher education quality assurance
Campus phone: (518) 442-5080
Campus email: kkinser@albany.edu



        Judith Langer

Judith Langer
School of Education
Department: Educational Theory and Practice


Expert in the following: Student learning; literacy; reading; writing; instruction; literature; English; testing; school success
Campus phone: (518) 442-5020
Campus email: jlanger@albany.edu



        Hal Lawson

Hal Lawson
School of Social Welfare
Professor
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: School-family-community partnerships; child welfare; interprofessional collaboration
Campus phone: 442-5355
Campus email: hlawson@albany.edu



        Daniel C. Levy

Daniel C. Levy
School of Education
Distinguished Professor
Department: Educational Administration and Policy Studies


Expert in the following: International higher education; higher education policy and politics; private higher education; Latin American & Mexican politics
Campus phone: (518) 442-5177
Campus email: dlevy@albany.edu



        Carla J. Meskill

Carla J. Meskill
School of Education
Professor
Department: Educational Administration and Policy Studies


Expert in the following: Language of teaching and learning with technology; distance/online education; computer-assisted language learning (CALL); second language and bilingual education; media literacy; electronic literacy
Campus phone: (518) 442-5007
Campus email: cmeskill@albany.edu



        David N. Miller

David N. Miller
School of Education
Associate Professor
Department: Educational and Counseling Psychology


Expert in the following: School psychology; developmental psychopathology; behavioral interventions; consultation and prevention, and cognitive-behavior therapy for children and adolescents
Campus phone: (518) 442-5038
Campus email: dmiller@albany.edu



        Peter Shea

Peter Shea
School of Education
Associate Professor
Department: Educational Theory and Practice


Expert in the following: higher education; online learning; k-12 education
Campus phone: 442-4009
Campus email: pshea@albany.edu



        Joette Stefl-Mabry

Joette Stefl-Mabry
College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Informatics


Expert in the following: Instructional technologies, assessment and evaluation (K-12 through higher education); reflective practice; student voice and problem-based learning
Campus phone: (518) 442-5120
Campus email: jstefl-mabry@albany.edu



        Carol Stenger

Carol Stenger
University at Albany
Director
Department: Advocacy Center for Sexual Violence


Expert in the following: Sexuality; sexual health; sex education; European approaches to sex education; AIDS/HIV; sexually transmitted diseases and infections; adolescent sexuality; Internet pornography
Campus phone: (518) 442-2273
Campus email: cstenger@albany.edu



        Marcia E.  Sutherland

Marcia E. Sutherland
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Africana Studies


Expert in the following: Social and psychological development of black children, inclusiveness of education, transracial adoption, HIV/AIDS and people of African descent, enslavement and colonial experiences of people of African descent, black studies, mock jury trials, nonverbal behavior of people of African descent
Campus phone: (518) 442-4730
Campus email: msutherland@albany.edu



        Sandra Vergari

Sandra Vergari
School of Education
Associate Professor
Department: Educational Administration and Policy Studies


Expert in the following: Charter schools; K-12 education reform policy; politics of education policy
Campus phone: (518) 442-5063
Campus email: svergari@albany.edu



        Kristen Wilcox

Kristen Wilcox
School of Education
Assistant Professor
Department: Educational Theory and Practice


Expert in the following: Second language acquisition; foreign language acquisition; teaching English to speakers of other languages (TESOL); multicultural education; diversity in education
Campus phone: (518) 442-9085
Campus email: kwilcox1@albany.edu



        Jianwei Zhang

Jianwei Zhang
School of Education
Associate Professor
Department: Educational Theory and Practice


Expert in the following: Technology-supported innovations in learning; knowledge-creating communities
Campus phone: (518) 442-4007
Campus email: jzhang1@albany.edu