Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Economics
 


        Elizabeth Berman

Elizabeth Berman
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Sociology


Expert in the following: U.S. universities; U.S. patent policy; biotech entrepreneurship; economic sociology
Campus phone: (518) (518) 442-4675
Campus email: epberman@albany.edu



        Donald J. Boyd

Donald J. Boyd
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Senior Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: Fiscal health; policies of states
Campus phone: (518) (518) 677-5011
Campus email: dboyd@albany.edu


Pinka Chatterji

Pinka Chatterji
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Economics


Expert in the following: Health economics
Campus phone: (518) 442-4746
Campus email: pchatterji@albany.edu



        Lucy Dadayan

Lucy Dadayan
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: Fiscal health/policies of states; k-12 education system in New York; workforce investment
Campus phone: (518) (518) 443-5828
Campus email: ldadayan@albany.edu


Diane Dewar

Diane Dewar
School of Public Health
Associate Professor
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior


Expert in the following: Health economics; medical technology; aging; end-of-life care; palliative care; health policy
Campus phone: (518) 402-0290
Campus email: ddewar@albany.edu


James Follain

James Follain
University at Albany
Senior Fellow
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: Housing and public policy; mortgage markets
Campus phone: (518) 443-5266
Campus email: jfollain@albany.edu


David Hochfelder

David Hochfelder
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: History


Expert in the following: History of U.S. business and technology; public history; history of information technology; history of the telegraph; Thomas Edison; electric power; savings and investment
Campus phone: (518) 442-5348
Campus email: dhochfelder@albany.edu


Michael Jerison

Michael Jerison
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Economics


Expert in the following: Economics nobel prize winners; cost benefit analysis and economic impact statements for government funded projects; tax systems and tax reform, flat tax, consumption tax, corporate income tax; price index and measurement of economic welfare; immigration policy; economic theory
Campus phone: (518) 442-4287
Campus email: mjerison@albany.edu


Kajal Lahiri

Kajal Lahiri
College of Arts and Sciences
Distinguished Professor
Department: Economics


Expert in the following: Economic forecasting; applied econometrics; economics of health and disability; New York State economy; New York regional economic trends; economics of energy; transportation economics; energy/gasoline prices
Campus phone: (518) 442-4758
Campus email: klahiri@albany.edu


Walter Little

Walter Little
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Anthropology


Expert in the following: Cultures; diversity; economics; indigenous peoples of the Americas; language; Latin America; popular culture; tourism; urban space.
Campus phone: (518) 442-4718
Campus email: wlittle@albany.edu


Michael Malbin

Michael Malbin
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Professor
Department: Political Science


Expert in the following: U.S. politics and elections, campaign finance, and the U.S. Congress.
Campus phone: (518) 969-8890, ext. 15
Campus email: mmalbin@albany.edu


Adrian Masters

Adrian Masters
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Economics


Expert in the following: Labor economics; macroeconomics; labor market policies; minimum wages; unemployment.
Campus phone: (518) 437-4418
Campus email: amasters@albany.edu



        David Matkin

David Matkin
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Assistant Professor
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Public budgeting; state budgets; public pension systems
Campus phone: (518) (518) 442-5279
Campus email: dmatkin@albany.edu



        Loretta Pyles

Loretta Pyles
School of Social Welfare
Associate Professor
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Economic justice; gender-based violence; disaster and social inequality; community organizing
Campus phone: (518) 442-5152
Campus email: lpyles@albany.edu



        Kate Strully

Kate Strully
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Sociology


Expert in the following: Health and poverty; low birth weight; health and unemployment
Campus phone: (518) 442-4686
Campus email: kstrully@albany.edu



        Baris Yörük

Baris Yörük
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Economics


Expert in the following: Public economics; health economics; applied microeconomics; charitable giving; volunteering; non-profit sector; public health; alcohol, tobacco, and substance use control policies
Campus phone: (518) (518) 442-3175
Campus email: byoruk@albany.edu