Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Diversity
 

Roxanne Booth

Roxanne Booth
College of Arts and Sciences
Adjunct
Department: Africana Studies


Expert in the following: African American church history; African American religion; African American Christian missions history; Christian missions; cross-cultural studies; Christian education
Campus phone: (518) 442-4730
Campus email: rbooth@albany.edu


Angie Chung

Angie Chung
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Sociology


Expert in the following: Immigration; second generation Asians in the U.S.; race and ethnicity; community and urban sociology; gender and family 
Campus phone: (518) 442-4677
Campus email: aychung@albany.edu


José Cruz

José Cruz
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Associate Professor
Department: Political Science
Department: Director


Expert in the following: Comparative politics; census data; Latino culture, political values, attitudes and behavior; media studies
Campus phone: (518) 442-5377
Campus email: jcruz@albany.edu



        Julia Hastings

Julia Hastings
School of Social Welfare
Assistant Professor
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Poverty issues among ethnic minority populations; mental health and welfare participation dynamics; African American health and mental health disparities
Campus phone: (518) 591-8751
Campus email: jhastings2@albany.edu


Abbe Herzig

Abbe Herzig
School of Education
Assistant Professor
Department: Educational Theory and Practice


Expert in the following: Women in science; women in mathematics; minorities in science; people of color in science; mathematics education; diversity equity in education; postgraduate education; statistics in the media; statistical literacy
Campus phone: (518) 442-5032
Campus email: aherzig@albany.edu


Janell Hobson

Janell Hobson
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Women's Studies


Expert in the following: Women's studies; race relations; gender relations; black history month; women's history month; film; media; popular culture
Campus phone: (518) 442-5575
Campus email: jhobson@albany.edu


Hayward Horton

Hayward Horton
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Sociology
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior


Expert in the following: Demography; race and ethnicity; rural sociology
Campus phone: (518) 442-4907
Campus email: hdhorton@albany.edu



        Lani Jones

Lani Jones
School of Social Welfare
Associate Professor
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Mental health; Black feminism and therapy; evidenced-based practice and group work
Campus phone: (518) 442-5167
Campus email: ljones@albany.edu


Janine Jurkowski

Janine Jurkowski
School of Public Health
Associate Professor
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior


Expert in the following:
Campus phone: (518) 402-0420
Campus email: jjurkowski@albany.edu


Walter Little

Walter Little
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Anthropology


Expert in the following: Cultures; diversity; economics; indigenous peoples of the Americas; language; Latin America; popular culture; tourism; urban space.
Campus phone: (518) 442-4718
Campus email: wlittle@albany.edu


Maritza Martinez

Maritza Martinez
University Offices


Expert in the following: At-risk students; diversity; conflict resolution; motivation; student success; community relations; effective study strategies; social work; women's issues; coalition building; the importance of mentoring.
Campus phone: (518) 442-5180
Campus email: mmartinez@albany.edu


Lee McElroy

Lee McElroy
Vice President for Athletic Administration/
Director of Intercollegiate Athletics


Expert in the following: NCAA Division I athletics; NCAA governance; race and equity in sports.
Campus phone: (518) 442-2562
Campus email: lmcelroy@albany.edu



        Blanca Ramos

Blanca Ramos
School of Social Welfare
Associate Professor
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Immigration; Latino aging community; Hispanic cultures in the U.S.; cross-cultural social work
Campus phone: (518) 442-5365
Campus email: bramos@albany.edu



        Barbara Rio

Barbara Rio
School of Social Welfare
Assistant Director
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Domestic violence; diversity
Campus phone: (518) 442-3488
Campus email: rio@albany.edu


Ibram Rogers

Ibram Rogers
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Africana Studies


Expert in the following: Diversity; higher education; racism; affirmative action; race & education; student activism; black history; Africana Studies; black politics; human rights
Campus phone: (518) 442-4729
Campus email: irogers@albany.edu


Lawrence Schell

Lawrence Schell
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Anthropology
Department: Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Director
Center for the Elimination of Minority Health Disparities


Expert in the following: Anthropology; minority health disparities; epidemiology; biostatistics; childhood development; environmental health; risk factors
Campus phone: (518) 442-4714
Campus email: lmschell@albany.edu


Leonard Slade Jr.

Leonard Slade Jr.
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Africana Studies
Department: Adjunct Professor
Department: English


Expert in the following: Black literature; black history; black poetry; and 19th century American literature, particularly author Herman Melville
Campus phone: (518) 442-4726
Campus email: lslade@albany.edu


Marcia Sutherland

Marcia Sutherland
Department: Africana Studies
Department: Psychology


Expert in the following: Social and psychological development of black children, inclusiveness of education, transracial adoption, HIV/AIDS and people of African descent, enslavement and colonial experiences of people of African descent, black studies, mock jury trials, nonverbal behavior of people of African descent
Campus phone: (518) 442-4727
Campus email: msutherland@albany.edu


Kristen Wilcox

Kristen Wilcox
School of Education
Department: Educational Theory and Practice


Expert in the following: Second language acquisition; foreign language acquisition; teaching English to speakers of other languages (TESOL); multicultural education; diversity in education.
Campus phone: (518) 442-9085
Campus email: kwilcox1@albany.edu