Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Cultures
 

Elise Andaya

Elise Andaya
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Anthropology


Expert in the following: Cuba and political/economic changes; reproductive health; reproductive technologies; cross-cultural ideas of family; gender; sexuality
Campus phone: (518) 442-4224
Campus email: eandaya@albany.edu


Allen Ballard

Allen Ballard
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Africana Studies
Department: History


Expert in the following: African-American history, Civil War history, Soviet history
Campus phone: (518) 442-5407
Campus email: aballard@albany.edu


Roxanne Booth

Roxanne Booth
College of Arts and Sciences
Adjunct
Department: Africana Studies


Expert in the following: African American church history; African American religion; African American Christian missions history; Christian missions; cross-cultural studies; Christian education
Campus phone: (518) 442-4730
Campus email: rbooth@albany.edu


Eloise Briére

Eloise Briére
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Languages, Literatures, and Cultures


Expert in the following: Literatures, cultures, and language issues of the Francophone areas of the world, particularly West Africa, the Caribbean (Haiti, Martinique, Guadeloupe), and North America (Quebec, New England, Louisiana); cinema of Francophone West Africa, Caribbean and Quebec
Campus phone: (518) 442-4222
Campus email: ebriere@albany.edu


George Broadwell

George Broadwell
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Anthropology


Expert in the following: Language; bilingualism; English-only movement; Native American languages; gay and lesbian language; linguistic discrimination; English language usage; language endangerment
Campus phone: (518) 442-4711
Campus email: gbroadwell@albany.edu


Nicholas Conway

Nicholas Conway
College of Arts and Sciences
Lecturer
Department: Music


Expert in the following: Hip hop music and culture (emceeing, disc jockeying, break dancing, graffiti art)
Campus phone: (518) 442-4187
Campus email: nconway@albany.edu


José Cruz

José Cruz
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Associate Professor
Department: Political Science
Department: Director


Expert in the following: Comparative politics; census data; Latino culture, political values, attitudes and behavior; media studies
Campus phone: (518) 442-5377
Campus email: jcruz@albany.edu


Anthony DeBlasi

Anthony DeBlasi
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: East Asian Studies
Department: Chair
Department: East Asian Studies


Expert in the following: China, Chinese culture, Chinese history, Confucianism
Campus phone: (518) 442-5316
Campus email: adeblasi@albany.edu


Ronald Jacobs

Ronald Jacobs
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Sociology


Expert in the following: Theory, culture and mass media; politics and democracy
Campus phone: (518)
Campus email: rjacobs@albany.edu


Pierre Joris

Pierre Joris
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: English


Expert in the following: Contemporary literature, especially poetry and poetics, of the U.S., U.K., Europe, North Africa, and beyond; theory of the avant-garde and diaspora studies; comparative literature and translation studies; North African culture
Campus phone: (518) 442-4085
Campus email: pjoris@albany.edu


Istvan Kecskes

Istvan Kecskes
School of Education
Professor
Department: Educational Theory and Practice


Expert in the following: Second language acquisition; bilingualism; multilingualism; intercultural communication; foreign language learning; English as a Lingua Franca; cognitive linguistics
Campus phone: (518) 442-5030
Campus email: ikecskes@albany.edu


Maria Keyes

Maria Keyes
College of Arts and Sciences
Lecturer
Department: Languages, Literatures, and Cultures


Expert in the following: Italian and French language and literature; Italian culture; civilization; film and cinema; the Italian American experience;  contemporary Italian society
Campus phone: (518) 442-4222
Campus email: mgkeyes@albany.edu


Steven Leibo

Steven Leibo
College of Arts and Sciences
Lecturer
Department: History


Expert in the following: Modern China and globalization; U.S. China relations; Asian-Western relations; Vietnam; Southeast Asia; international politics; modern world history.
Campus phone: (518) 244-2330
Campus email: sleibo@albany.edu


Walter Little

Walter Little
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Anthropology


Expert in the following: Cultures; diversity; economics; indigenous peoples of the Americas; language; Latin America; popular culture; tourism; urban space.
Campus phone: (518) 442-4718
Campus email: wlittle@albany.edu


Paul Miesing

Paul Miesing
School of Business
Associate Professor
Department: Management


Expert in the following: Strategic management; executive leadership; corporate boards and governance; organizational learning and transformation; technology transfer; international business and globalization; cross-culture management and organization; corporate social responsibility and business ethics.
Campus phone: (518) 442-4942
Campus email: pmiesing@albany.edu


Olimpia Pelosi

Olimpia Pelosi
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Languages, Literatures, and Cultures


Expert in the following: Italian and comparative literature; women mystic writers of the Italian Renaissance and Baroque period; Italian theatre of the Renaissance and Baroque period.
Campus phone: (518) 442-4222
Campus email: opelosi@albany.edu


Sean Rafferty

Sean Rafferty
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Anthropology


Expert in the following: Ancient tobacco; shamanism; Native American smoking pipes; archaeology of eastern North America; archaeology of New York State; cultural resource management.
Campus phone: (518) 442-4713
Campus email: srafferty@albany.edu


Marcia Sutherland

Marcia Sutherland
Department: Africana Studies
Department: Psychology


Expert in the following: Social and psychological development of black children, inclusiveness of education, transracial adoption, HIV/AIDS and people of African descent, enslavement and colonial experiences of people of African descent, black studies, mock jury trials, nonverbal behavior of people of African descent
Campus phone: (518) 442-4727
Campus email: msutherland@albany.edu


Barry Trachtenberg

Barry Trachtenberg
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: History


Expert in the following: Holocaust; modern Jewish history; antisemitism; Yiddish
Campus phone: (518) 442-3078
Campus email: btrachtenberg@albany.edu


Theodore Wright Jr.

Theodore Wright Jr.
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Professor Emeritus
Department: Political Science


Expert in the following: Politics; policies; foreign policies of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh; minorities, especially Muslims in India; attitudes towards events in the Middle East; Islam as a religion; comparative ethnicity; Dutch in colonial Albany, N.Y.
Campus phone: (518) 442-5255
Campus email: twright@albany.edu