Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Cultures
 


        Elise Andaya

Elise Andaya
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Anthropology


Expert in the following: Cuba and political/economic changes; reproductive health; reproductive technologies; cross-cultural ideas of family; gender; sexuality
Campus phone: (518) (518) 442-4224
Campus email: eandaya@albany.edu



        Allen Ballard

Allen Ballard
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: History


Expert in the following: African-American history; the Civil War; Soviet history
Campus phone: (518) (518) 442-5407
Campus email: aballard@albany.edu



        Roxanne Jones Booth

Roxanne Jones Booth
College of Arts and Sciences
Lecturer
Department: Africana Studies


Expert in the following: African American church history; African American religion; African American Christian missions history; Christian missions; cross-cultural studies; Christian education
Campus phone: (518) (518) 442-4730
Campus email: rbooth@albany.edu



        George Aaron Broadwell

George Aaron Broadwell
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Anthropology


Expert in the following: Language; bilingualism; English-only movement; Native American languages; gay and lesbian language; linguistic discrimination; English language usage; language endangerment
Campus phone: (518) (518) 442-4711
Campus email: gbroadwell@albany.edu



        Keith Chan

Keith Chan
School of Social Welfare
Assistant Professor
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Acculturation; immigrant health; elderly Asian Americans
Campus phone: (518) 442-2589
Campus email: kchan3@albany.edu


Nicholas Conway

Nicholas Conway
College of Arts and Sciences
Lecturer
Department: Music


Expert in the following: Hip hop music and culture (emceeing, disc jockeying, break dancing, graffiti art)
Campus phone: (518) 442-4187
Campus email: nconway@albany.edu



        José  Cruz

José Cruz
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Associate Professor
Department: Political Science


Expert in the following: Comparative politics; census data; Latino culture, political values, attitudes and behavior; media studies
Campus phone: (518) (518) 442-5377
Campus email: jcruz@albany.edu


Anthony DeBlasi

Anthony DeBlasi
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: East Asian Studies
Department: Chair
Department: East Asian Studies


Expert in the following: China, Chinese culture, Chinese history, Confucianism
Campus phone: (518) 442-5316
Campus email: adeblasi@albany.edu



        Julia M. Hormes

Julia M. Hormes
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Psychology


Expert in the following: Psychology of human food choice, eating behaviors, food preferences and aversions, cultural differences in eating behaviors, eating disorders, overweight and obesity, cravings, food cravings, chocolate craving, perimenstrual and pregnancy cravings, addictive behaviors, behavioral addictions (e.g., to online social networking and video game use)
Campus phone: (518) (518) 442-4911
Campus email: jhormes@albany.edu



        Ryan Irwin

Ryan Irwin
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: History


Expert in the following: American foreign relations; globalization; international organizations; decolonization
Campus phone: (518) 442-5379
Campus email: rirwin@albany.edu



        Ron Jacobs

Ron Jacobs
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Sociology


Expert in the following: Theory, culture and mass media; politics and democracy
Campus phone: (518) (518) 442-4666
Campus email: rjacobs@albany.edu


Istvan Kecskes

Istvan Kecskes
School of Education
Professor
Department: Educational Theory and Practice


Expert in the following: Second language acquisition; bilingualism; multilingualism; intercultural communication; foreign language learning; English as a Lingua Franca; cognitive linguistics
Campus phone: (518) 442-5030
Campus email: ikecskes@albany.edu



        Maria Keyes

Maria Keyes
College of Arts and Sciences
Lecturer
Department: Languages, Literatures, and Cultures


Expert in the following: Italian and French language and literature; Italian culture; civilization; film and cinema; the Italian American experience; contemporary Italian society
Campus phone: (518) 442-4222
Campus email: mgkeyes@albany.edu


Steven Leibo

Steven Leibo
College of Arts and Sciences
Lecturer
Department: History


Expert in the following: Modern China and globalization; U.S. China relations; Asian-Western relations; Vietnam; Southeast Asia; international politics; modern world history.
Campus phone: (518) 244-2330
Campus email: sleibo@albany.edu


Walter Little

Walter Little
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Anthropology


Expert in the following: Cultures; diversity; economics; indigenous peoples of the Americas; language; Latin America; popular culture; tourism; urban space.
Campus phone: (518) 442-4718
Campus email: wlittle@albany.edu


Paul Miesing

Paul Miesing
School of Business
Associate Professor
Department: Management


Expert in the following: Strategic management; executive leadership; corporate boards and governance; organizational learning and transformation; technology transfer; international business and globalization; cross-culture management and organization; corporate social responsibility and business ethics.
Campus phone: (518) 442-4942
Campus email: pmiesing@albany.edu


Olimpia Pelosi

Olimpia Pelosi
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Languages, Literatures, and Cultures


Expert in the following: Italian and comparative literature; women mystic writers of the Italian Renaissance and Baroque period; Italian theatre of the Renaissance and Baroque period.
Campus phone: (518) 442-4222
Campus email: opelosi@albany.edu


Sean Rafferty

Sean Rafferty
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Anthropology


Expert in the following: Ancient tobacco; shamanism; Native American smoking pipes; archaeology of eastern North America; archaeology of New York State; cultural resource management.
Campus phone: (518) 442-4713
Campus email: srafferty@albany.edu


Marcia Sutherland

Marcia Sutherland
Department: Africana Studies
Department: Psychology


Expert in the following: Social and psychological development of black children, inclusiveness of education, transracial adoption, HIV/AIDS and people of African descent, enslavement and colonial experiences of people of African descent, black studies, mock jury trials, nonverbal behavior of people of African descent
Campus phone: (518) 442-4727
Campus email: msutherland@albany.edu



        Barry C.  Trachtenberg

Barry C. Trachtenberg
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: History


Expert in the following: Holocaust; Jewish history; antisemitism; Israel/Palestine, Yiddish
Campus phone: (518) 442-3078
Campus email: btrachtenberg@albany.edu


Theodore Wright Jr.

Theodore Wright Jr.
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Professor Emeritus
Department: Political Science


Expert in the following: Politics; policies; foreign policies of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh; minorities, especially Muslims in India; attitudes towards events in the Middle East; Islam as a religion; comparative ethnicity; Dutch in colonial Albany, N.Y.
Campus phone: (518) 442-5255
Campus email: twright@albany.edu