Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Criminal Justice
 


        James Acker

James Acker
School of Criminal Justice
Distinguished Teaching Professor
Department: Criminal Justice


Expert in the following: The death penalty; history of capital punishment in the United States and New York
Campus phone: (518) 442-5317
Campus email: jacker@albany.edu



        Frankie Bailey

Frankie Bailey
School of Criminal Justice
Professor
Department: Criminal Justice


Expert in the following: Crime and mass media/popular culture; crime history; race, gender, crime; crime and detective fiction
Campus phone: (518) 442-5237
Campus email: fybailey@albany.edu



        Shawn Bushway

Shawn Bushway
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Professor
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Criminal justice policy; the desistance process; sentencing policy in New York; court systems
Campus phone: (518) 591-8738
Campus email: sbushway@albany.edu



        David Duffee

David Duffee
School of Criminal Justice
Professor Emeritus
Department: Criminal Justice


Expert in the following: Community policing; community justice; community organizing; congregate foster care; evidence based practice in child welfare; agency performance management
Campus phone: (518) 442-5214
Campus email: dduffee@albany.edu



        Jan Halámek

Jan Halámek
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Chemistry


Expert in the following: Analytical biochemistry; bioelectronics; enzymology; instrumental analysis; analytical chemistry; forensic analysis; bioelectrochemistry; biomolecular logic systems
Campus phone: (518) 442-4447
Campus email: jhalamek@albany.edu



        Alan Lizotte

Alan Lizotte
School of Criminal Justice
Professor
Department: Criminal Justice


Expert in the following: Guns; gun control; statistics and quantitative research methods; patterns of firearms ownership and use; juvenile delinquency; victimization
Campus phone: (518) 442-5214
Campus email: alizotte@albany.edu



        Steven F. Messner

Steven F. Messner
College of Arts and Sciences
Distinguished Teaching Professor
Department: Sociology


Expert in the following: Homicide; violent crime; crime in China
Campus phone: (518) 442-4674
Campus email: smessner@albany.edu



        Aran Mull

Aran Mull
University at Albany
Department: University Police Department


Expert in the following: Community relations; personal safety; self-defense training; policing; criminal justice
Campus phone: (518) 442-3130
Campus email: amull@albany.edu



        Justin Pickett

Justin Pickett
School of Criminal Justice
Assistant Professor
Department: Criminal Justice


Expert in the following: Public opinion on crime and criminal justice; social threat and social control; juvenile justice and delinquency; community influences on attitudes and behavior; sociology of punishment
Campus phone: (518) 442-5210
Campus email: jpickett@albany.edu



        William Alex Pridemore

William Alex Pridemore
School of Criminal Justice
Dean
Department: Criminal Justice


Expert in the following: Social structure and homicide and suicide rates; role of alcohol in violence and mortality; sociology of health and illness; violence and premature mortality in Russia; effects of policy on outcomes like violence and health; rural criminology and sociology
Campus phone: (518) 442-5214
Campus email: pridemore@albany.edu



        Robert Worden

Robert Worden
School of Criminal Justice
Associate Professor
Department: Criminal Justice


Expert in the following: Criminal justice policy and reform; crime control; policing, police performance, police accountability
Campus phone: (518) 442-5217
Campus email: rworden@albany.edu