Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Asia
 


        Keith Chan

Keith Chan
School of Social Welfare
Assistant Professor
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Acculturation; immigrant health; elderly Asian Americans
Campus phone: (518) 442-2589
Campus email: kchan3@albany.edu



        Angie Chung

Angie Chung
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Sociology


Expert in the following: Immigration; second generation Asians in the U.S.; race and ethnicity; community and urban sociology; gender and family
Campus phone: (518) (518) 442-4666
Campus email: aychung@albany.edu



        Aiguo Dai

Aiguo Dai
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences


Expert in the following: Monsoons; climate variability and change; global water cycle; drought; future climate change
Campus phone: (518) 442-4474
Campus email: adai@albany.edu



        Anthony DeBlasi

Anthony DeBlasi
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: East Asian Studies


Expert in the following: China, Chinese culture, Chinese history, Confucianism
Campus phone: (518) (518) 442-5316
Campus email: adeblasi@albany.edu



        Susanna Fessler

Susanna Fessler
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: East Asian Studies


Expert in the following: Japanese literature and culture of the modern era
Campus phone: (518) (518) 442-4119
Campus email: sfessler@albany.edu



        Akiko Hosler

Akiko Hosler
School of Public Health
Associate Professor
Department: Epidemiology and Biostatistics


Expert in the following: Diabetes; obesity; smoking; nutrition; Japan
Campus phone: (518) (518) 402-1561
Campus email: ahosler@albany.edu



        Youqin Huang

Youqin Huang
College of Arts and Sciences
Research Associate
Department: Geography and Planning


Expert in the following: Low-income housing; migration; residential segregation; housing inequality; urban development
Campus phone: (518) (518) 442-4792
Campus email: yhuang@albany.edu



        Steven Leibo

Steven Leibo
College of Arts and Sciences
Lecturer
Department: History


Expert in the following: Modern China and globalization; U.S. China relations; Asian-Western relations; Vietnam; Southeast Asia; international politics; modern world history
Campus phone: (518) (518) 244-2330
Campus email: sleibo@albany.edu



        Steven F. Messner

Steven F. Messner
College of Arts and Sciences
Distinguished Teaching Professor
Department: Sociology


Expert in the following: Homicide; violent crime; crime in China
Campus phone: (518) (518) 442-4674
Campus email: smessner@albany.edu


Theodore Wright Jr.

Theodore Wright Jr.
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Professor Emeritus
Department: Political Science


Expert in the following: Politics; policies; foreign policies of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh; minorities, especially Muslims in India; attitudes towards events in the Middle East; Islam as a religion; comparative ethnicity; Dutch in colonial Albany, N.Y.
Campus phone: (518) 442-5255
Campus email: twright@albany.edu