Recognition Ceremony

On Saturday, May 14, 2016 at 3:00 p.m., the Departments of Art & Art History and Music & Theatre hosted a Recognition Ceremony for their majors where each graduate was individually recognized for his/her achievement.

Graduates and faculty marched into the Main Theatre of the Performing Arts Center under the leadership of Faculty Marshal, Professor Andi Lyons (Theatre Program Director). Professor Nancy Newman, Music & Theatre Department Chair, welcomed the graduates, their families and friends. Dr. Newman was joined onstage by Professor Rachel Dressler (Art & Art History Department Chair) and a number of faculty members.

Music presentations followed as violinist and graduating senior Bension Inoyatov played Praeludium and Allegro by Fritz Kreisler, and was accompanied by alumnus Melinda Cestaro. Soprano and graduating senior Alyssa Pyle sang Goodbye, Goodbye World by Lee Hoiby, and was accompanied by Professor Victoria von Arx.
graduateAlma Mater Dr. Newman recognized this year's recipients of the Music Department's awards and scholarships. Professor Edward Mayer (Art) announced the graduates' names as they were presented with their certificates. The singing of the Alma Mater was led by members of the Chamber Singers directed by Professor William Jon Gray: Anthony Leva, Daniel Xie, Carlitos Serrano, Morgan Eldridge, Kaeli Groenert, Katherine Kulikowski, and Alyssa Pyle. All of the music performances were excellent--great job performers!

After the ceremony, a reception was held in the Fine Arts 2nd floor Gallery.


~by Bernadette Socha (May 16, 2016)