Department of Mathematics and Statistics

The Mathematics Department provides a broad range of programs from which a student can make a selection designed to satisfy any of a large variety of objectives. In addition to providing instruction in the traditional areas of pure and applied mathematics, our course catalogue is unusually strong in statistics and actuarial mathematics.

The Department offers two undergraduate majors: the major in mathematics and the major in actuarial and mathematical sciences. A third major, the major in computer science and applied mathematics, is offered jointly with the Computer Science Department. The Department offers graduate programs leading to Masters and Doctor of Philosophy degrees in Mathematics. The Masters programs include a Secondary School Teaching sequence and a Statistics sequence.

The Department consists of 24 faculty members, a number of visiting faculty, with about 40 masters students and 30 doctoral students. We form a warm, family-like mathematical community. There is a lively schedule of seminars each week: research seminars, a graduate student seminar, and undergraduate Math Club meetings. About 15 percent of the students are international students and about 30 percent of the students are women.

News & Announcements

  • Third Maheshwari Colloquium

    On Friday, April 11, 2014, the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at the University at Albany will host its third Maheshwari Colloquium, endowed in honor of Man Mohan and Asha Devi Maheshwari by Raj Maheshwari, ’83.
    The speaker will be Ronald G. Douglasfrom Texas A&M University. For more information, please visit the Maheshwari Colloquium web page.

  • 2013-2014 hiring plans: two new positions in Data Analytics

    The department is happy to announce approval and the beginning of the hiring process for two new tenure-track positions in Data Analytics starting in the Fall of 2014. For details please refer to the full announcement. The deadline for applications is January 15, 2014.

  • 2013 Steen Gravitt scholarships

    Alexa Kaplan and Jessica Zaret are the recipients of the 2013 Steen Gravitt scholarship. They are graduating form the Department in 2014. See the pictures from the presentation by Professors Zhu and Plotnick in Spring 2013!