Minerva College of Arts and Sciences
University at Albany, State University of New York UAlbany Home UAlbany Site Index UAlbany Search
Tres Razas
LACS Home
Program Descriptions
Undergraduate Programs
Graduate Programs
Special Opportunities
FAculty
Contact LACS
LACS Links
Latin American, Caribbean & U.S. Latino Studies
 


Edna Acosta-Belen and students.

Faculty Members

Distinguished Professor

Edna Acosta BelenEdna Acosta-Belén, Ph.D., Columbia University
Hispanic Caribbean literature and cultural history; U.S. Latino literature and cultural history; cultural studies; women's studies; Puerto Rico, and Cuba.
CONTACT: Eab@cas.albany.edu
518/ 442-4719

 

Distinguished Professor

Daniel LevyDaniel Levy , Ph.D., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Higher education politics and policy in Latin America; Mexican politics: Mexico, Chile, Argentina, and Costa Rica. For more information
CONTACT: Dlevy@uamail.albany.edu
518/ 442-5177

 

Professors

Jeanette AltarribaJeanette Altarriba, Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Second language acquisition, social cognition, language and culture: U.S. Latinos. Prof. Altarriba currently serves as Associate Dean for the College of Arts and Sciences. For more information.
CONTACT: Ja087@cnsunix.albany.edu
518/ 442-5004

 

Christine E. BoseChristine E. Bose, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University
Women and development; political economy; social stratification; Puerto Rico, and Costa Rica. For more information
CONTACT: C.bose@albany.edu
518/ 442-4670

 

Ray BromleyRay Bromley, Ph.D., Cambridge University
Planning, megacities: Colombia, Ecuador, Mexico, and Peru. For more information
CONTACT: R.Bromley@albany.edu
518/ 442-4766

 

Louise M. BurkhartLouise M. Burkhart, Ph.D., Yale University
Historical ethnography; Aztec civilization: Mexico, and Spain. For more information
CONTACT: Burk@cas.albany.edu
518/ 442-4706

 

Max LifchitzMax Lifchitz, Ph.D., Harvard University
Musicology; Music of the Americas; composer, piano performer. For more information.
CONTACT: lifchitz@cnsunix.albany.edu
518/ 442-4092

 

Colbert I.NepaulsinghColbert I.Nepaulsingh, Ph.D., University of Toronto
English-speaking Caribbean literature and culture; colonial literature; Iberian Medieval and Golden Age literature: Spain, and the Caribbean; transatlantic studies.
CONTACT: Nepaulsi@albany.edu
518/ 442-4658

 

Associate Professors

José E. CruzJosé E. Cruz, Ph.D., City University of New York, CUNY
Urban politics and U.S. Latino policy issues: Puerto Rico. For more information.
CONTACT: Conga@albany.edu
518/ 442-5377

 

Glyne GriffithGlyne Griffith, Ph.D. University of the West Indies, Mona
West Indies literature; literature, ideology and culture
CONTACT: ggriffith@albany.edu
518/442-4083

 

 

Blanca M. RamosBlanca M. Ramos, Ph.D., University at Albany, SUNY
Mental health, acculturation, gerontology, and domestic violence. For more information.
CONTACT: Ramos@csc.albany.edu
518/ 442-5365

 

Gilbert ValverdeGilbert Valverde, Ph.D., The University of Chicago
Educational politics, policy analysis in Latin America; comparative education policy studies: Chile, Peru, and Central America. For more information
CONTACT: Valverde@albany.edu
518/ 442-5089

 

James W. WessmanJames W. Wessman, Ph.D., University of Connecticut
Jaliscan ethnography; agrarian systems in Mexico and Puerto Rico; Mexico and Puerto Rico. For more information
CONTACT: Wessman@albany.edu
518/ 442-4892

 

Assistant Professors

Ana Margarita Cervantes-RodríguezAna Margarita Cervantes-Rodríguez, Ph.D., University of Miami
Latin American and international comparative development; international migration.
CONTACT: Caribe@albany.edu
518/ 442-4172

 

Susan GaussSusan Gauss, Ph.D., SUNY-Stony Brook
Industrialization and development in modern Latin America.
CONTACT: Sgauss@albany.edu
518/ 437-3977

 

Fernando LeivaFernando Leiva, Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Latin American economic development; political economy and political economy of gender.
CONTACT: Fleiva@albany.edu
518/ 442-4891

 

Patricia de Santana PinhoPatricia de Santana Pinho
Ph.D., Universidade Estadual de Campinas, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Afro-Brazilian culture; cultural studies; globalization and culture; toursim, culture and identities
CONTACT: ppinho@albany.edu
518/4890

 

LACS Associate and Bibliographer

Dr. Jésus Alonso-RegaladoDr. Jésus Alonso-Regalado

I currently serve as the bibliographer for Latin American, Caribbean , and U.S. Latino Studies.

My research interests focus on Latin American cinema (both films and documentaries). Within this field, I am particularly interested in the interaction and exchange between Latin America and other regions of the world, such as the United States, Spain, and Portugal .

From a library perspective, I am interested in the design of specialized information literacy courses where students are exposed to new resources, services, and searching techniques. I also feel that encouraging students to apply critical-thinking skills during the research process (defining topics for research, searching on the Internet, etc.) is vital to their learning experience. I encourage students to use high-quality information sources that provide various perspectives on particular topics. This kind of information is not always apparent to our students. To this end, I continually evaluate new research resources in all formats and explore new ways to expose students to materials from other countries, independent publishers, organizations, international institutions, and those in other languages.

Office Administrator

Librada Pimentel-BrownLibrada Pimentel-Brown, Empire State College, SUNY

More information.
CONTACT: Bebe@albany.edu

 

 


Please send questions or comments to: geninfo@uamail.albany.edu

Top of page