Minerva Name of Your School or College
University at Albany, State University of New York UAlbany Home UAlbany Site Index UAlbany Search
Insert photo description here
LACS Home
Undergraduate Programs
Graduate Programs
Special Opportunities
FAculty
Contact LACS
LACS Links
Latin American, Caribbean & U.S. Latino Studies
 

FACULTY MEMBERS

Distinguished Professor and Distinguished Service Professor

Edna Acosta-Belén, Ph.D., Columbia University
Hispanic Caribbean literature and cultural history, Latino literature and cultural history, cultural studies, women's studies, Puerto Rico, and Cuba.
CONTACT: Eab@cas.albany.edu
518/ 442-4719

Distinguished Professor

Daniel Levy , Ph.D., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Higher education politics and policy in Latin America, Mexican politics: Mexico, Chile, Argentina, and Costa Rica.More information
CONTACT: Dlevy@uamail.albany.edu
518/ 442-5177

Professors

Jeanette Altarriba, Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Second language acquisition, social cognition, language and culture: U.S. Latinos. Prof. Altarriba currently serves as Associate Dean for the College of Arts and Sciences. More information.
CONTACT: Ja087@cnsunix.albany.edu
518/ 442-5004

Christine E. Bose, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University
Women and development, political economy, social stratification, Puerto Rico, and Costa Rica. More information
CONTACT: C.bose@albany.edu
518/ 442-4670

Ray Bromley , Ph.D., Cambridge University
Planning, megacities: Colombia, Ecuador, Mexico, and Peru. More information
CONTACT: R.Bromley@albany.edu
518/ 442-4766

Max Lifchitz, Ph.D., Harvard University
Musicology, Music of the Americas, composer, piano performer. More information.
CONTACT: lifchitz@cnsunix.albany.edu
518/ 442-4092

Colbert I.Nepaulsingh, Ph.D., University of Toronto
English-speaking Caribbean literature and culture, colonial literature, Iberian Medieval and Golden Age literature: Spain, and the Caribbean, transatlantic studies.
CONTACT: Nepaulsi@albany.edu
518/ 442-4658

Associate Professors

Louise M. Burkhart, Ph.D., Yale University
Historical ethnography, Aztec civilization: Mexico, and Spain. More information
CONTACT: Burk@cas.albany.edu
518/ 442-4706

José E. Cruz, Ph.D., City University of New York, CUNY
Urban politics, and U.S. Latino policy issues: Puerto Rico. More information.
CONTACT: Conga@albany.edu
518/ 442-5377

James W. Wessman, Ph.D., University of Connecticut
Jaliscan ethnography, agrarian systems in Mexico and Puerto Rico: Mexico and Puerto Rico. Prof. Wessman currently serves as Interim Chair of this department. More information
CONTACT: Wessman@albany.edu
518/ 442-4892

Assistant Professors

Ana Margarita Cervantes-Rodríguez, Ph.D., University of Miami
Latin American and international comparative development, international migration.
CONTACT: Caribe@albany.edu
518/ 442-4172

Susan Gauss, Ph.D., SUNY-Stony Brook
Industrialization and development in modern Latin America
CONTACT: Sgauss@albany.edu
518/ 437-3977

Fernando Leiva, Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Latin American economic development, political economy and political economy of gender.
CONTACT: Fleiva@albany.edu
518/ 442-4891

Blanca M. Ramos, Ph.D., University at Albany, SUNY
Mental health, acculturation, gerontology, and domestic violence. More information.
CONTACT: Ramos@csc.albany.edu
518/ 442-5365

Gilbert Valverde, Ph.D., The University of Chicago
Educational politics, policy analysis in Latin America, comparative education policy studies: Chile, Peru, and Central America. More information
CONTACT: Valverde@albany.edu
518/ 442-5089

LACS Associate and Bibliographer
TBA

Office Administrator

Librada Pimentel-Brown, Empire State College, SUNY

More information.
CONTACT: Bebe@albany.edu


 


Please send questions or comments to: geninfo@uamail.albany.edu

Top of page